Official Aras Mumhan Website

Loading Events
  • This event has passed.

2024 Tailteann Cup Football – Tipperary 3-5 Wexford 0-12

June 1 @ 3:30 pm - 5:30 pm

Tipperary defeated Wexford by 3-5 to 0-12 in Round 3 of the Tailteann Cup Football on Saturday June 1st at Netwatch Dr. Cullen Park Carlow.

Late Grogan goal keeps Tipperary hopes alive

Tailteann Cup Group 2 round 3: Tipperary 3-5 Wexford 0-12

Report by Stephen Barry for the Irish Examiner newspaper

A 75th-minute Stephen Grogan goal saved Tipperary’s Tailteann Cup hopes to eliminate Wexford in a dramatic twist at Netwatch Cullen Park.

The Model County had taken control with a six-point surge, led by the outstanding Seán Nolan (0-7), but Paudie Feehan launched a Hail Mary sideline into the square and Grogan rose highest to flick it home.

The Cahir rookie’s second goal in two games secured a first win for Tipp since February and third place in Group 2, enough to advance to a preliminary quarter-final next weekend.

The Premier overcame the absences of injury-victims Conor Sweeney and Steven O’Brien, although Stephen Quirke and Colm O’Shaughnessy were fit to start among four late changes to the published team. The latter would limp off before half-time.

Wexford blasted four goals in their League meeting but the trend was reversed as Tipp nabbed two in the first half to go in 2-1 to 0-6 ahead, despite a shot count weighted 16-6 for the Model County.

Wexford were up and running early with points from Eoghan and Seán Nolan (free) but their next four shots were skewed wide.

Out of the blue, Tipp stole ahead with an 11th-minute goal. It was a Clonmel Commercials combo as Peter McGarry’s ball over the top met Seán O’Connor’s backdoor cut to find the net.

Páraic Hughes levelled but in the 20th minute, Tipp raised their second green flag. This time it was brother to brother as Jimmy Feehan sent younger sibling Paudie through a gap. He raced untouched to the 21 before rifling a brilliant finish to the bottom corner.

A handpassed Grogan point made it 2-1 to 0-3, with both scores originating from Emmet Moloney turnovers.

Wexford ended with three superb points from distance by Seán Nolan, two off his right and one off the left.

Tipp’s lead was the minimum but they padded it out with the first three points of the second half. McGarry blazed over when in on goal, Eoghan Power chipped a point, and Evan Comerford landed a long-range free.

Wexford reasserted their stranglehold on possession to regain the lead by the 56th minute.

Páraic Hughes was growing in influence to assist four points in a row and win the free for a fifth. Seán Nolan did most of the finishing with 0-3 plus scores from Darragh Lyons, substitute Jack Higgins, and captain Liam Coleman. 0-12 to 2-4.

Tipp found a way, beginning with an O’Connor point in the 66th minute.

Wexford played keep ball for the first half of the five added minutes but a visibly cramping Jimmy Feehan twice came up with turnovers. His second forced the sideline and a long-awaited moment of glory for this Tipp team.

Scorers for Tipperary: S O’Connor, S Grogan (1-1 each); P Feehan (1-0); E Comerford (free), E Power, P McGarry (0-1 each).

Scorers for Wexford: S Nolan (0-7, 2 frees); D Lyons, L Coleman, P Hughes, E Nolan, J Higgins (0-1 each).

TIPPERARY: E Comerford; E Moloney, J Feehan, P Feehan; S Grogan, M Stokes, L Boland; J Kennedy (Clonmel Commercials), C Kennedy; K Costello, J Morris, P McGarry; C O’Shaughnessy, S O’Connor, S Quirke.
Subs: E Power for O’Shaughnessy (30, inj), S O’Connell for Moloney (50, inj), C Cadell for Boland (52), M Russell for Quirke (62), D Brennan for McGarry (70+4).

WEXFORD: W Foley; E Porter, G Sheehan, L O’Connor; D Furlong, P Hughes, G Malone; L Coleman, D Lyons; N Hughes, K O’Grady, M Rossiter; E Nolan, S Nolan, C Kinsella.
Subs: C Hughes for Kinsella (h-t), T Byrne for Rossiter (44), J Higgins for O’Grady (49), J Bealin for E Nolan (52), R Waters for S Nolan (68, inj).

Referee: B Cawley (Kildare).

Team News

Tipperary: Evan Comerford; Emmet Moloney, Jimmy Feehan, James Morris; Mark Stokes, Paudie Feehan, Conor Cadell; Stephen Grogan, Conall Kennedy; Eoghan Power, Jack Kennedy, Peter McGarry; Jack Kennedy, Seán O’Connor, Darragh Brennan.
Subs: Jack Rodgers, Luke Boland, Tadhg Condon, Kieran Costello, Teddy Doyle, Manus McFadden, Shane O’Connell, Colm O’Shaughnessy, Riain Quigley, Stephen Quirke, Mark Russell.

Wexford: William Foley; Eoin Porter, Gavin Sheehan, Liam O’Connor; Darragh Lyons, Dylan Furlong, Glen Malone; Liam Coleman, Niall Hughes; Páraic Hughes, Eoghan Nolan, Mark Rossiter; Kevin O’Grady, Seán Nolan, Conor Kinsella.
Subs: Colum Feeney, Graham Staples, Conor Carty, Cathal Walsh, Tom Byrne, Jonathan Bealin, Richie Waters, Jack Higgins, Ben Brosnan, John Dunne, Cian Hughes.


June 1
3:30 pm - 5:30 pm


Netwatch Cullen Park Carlow

GAA Units