Official Aras Mumhan Website

Loading Events
  • This event has passed.

2024 Electric Ireland Munster Minor Football Championship – Tipperary 2-13 Limerick 0-10

April 2 @ 7:00 pm - 9:00 pm

Tipperary defeated Limerick by 2-13 to 0-10 in Round 1 of the Electric Ireland Munster Minor Football Championship on Tuesday April 2nd at Fethard Town Park.

Dylan Cotter powers Tipperary minors to opening round victory over Limerick

Munster MFC phase 1 round 1

Tipperary 2-13 Limerick 0-10

Report by Stephen Barry for the Irish Examiner newspaper

A superb 2-2 haul from midfielder Dylan Cotter powered the Tipperary minors to an opening group-stage victory over Limerick at Fethard Town Park.

A trailblazer from the Thurles Gaels club, Cotter provided an impressive central pairing alongside Órán Gahan for a well-balanced Premier side.

Limerick would’ve gone in happy at half-time a point down and turning to benefit from the wind but Tipp crushed those hopes with a 1-5 to no-score third-quarter burst.

Gahan and Cotter began with a trio of soaring marks to retain their first three kick-outs as Gahan excelled in the role of supplier, adding four assists across the hour.

In a game which featured a fine display of left-footed kicking from both teams, Limerick opened the scoring through Cian Costelloe. Tipp struck for 1-1 within the next minute.

Centre-back Tom Corcoran was another key playmaker and finisher for Tipp with his late runs netting two points. The first brought them level before Tipp manufactured their goal.

Cotter had his initial attempt saved by Stephen Kearney but Charlie Walsh kept the ball alive for the Thurles man to sweep in.

Monaleen’s Shane Dolan landed four out of four shots in the first half, with his opening effort from play followed by a tap-over free.

Tipp forged 1-4 to 0-3 ahead with three points on the trot. Corcoran nonchalantly slotted his second off the left, Walsh slotted his first of four from a mark, and Cillian Healy added another lovely left-footed curler.

Jamal Yousif also struck the butt of the post but Limerick began to crowd the centre to make life tricky for Tipp. They had lightning speed to counter, too, through wing-backs Michael Mulcahy and Conor Ó Longaigh.

Two Dolan frees and two huge punts from Rory Mullins and Donal Dawson levelled the game but a free from hometown hero Walsh made it 1-5 to 0-7 at the change of ends.

Tipp were re-energised into the wind. They pressed the restart with renewed vigour, kicked well into the space, and didn’t shoot a wide for the next 23 minutes.

Cotter conjured up 1-2 in the space of two minutes, bookending his goal with two white flags. The major came from Ronan Myles’ mark off the opposition kick-out. The ball went through the hands of Healy and Ciarán Kelly down the right before Cotter’s well-timed arrival to poke home.

Centre-forward Yousif was also beginning to make his pace tell against a tiring defence, beating his marker for two classy points and having another shot saved by Kearney.

When Cotter’s defence-splitting pass ended in a Walsh point, it was 2-10 to 0-7.

Limerick had two goal chances to get back into the contest but Rian McNamara sliced over and Cillian McNamara cracked the crossbar.

Tipp kept motoring with points from Kelly, Walsh, and a Jack Garrett free to stretch the lead to 11 before Limerick clipped the final pair deep in stoppage time.

Substitute Jake Slattery had the first and then won a free for Dolan. He placed it on the ground and aimed under the crossbar but his venomous shot flew just too high.

Interview with joint Tipperary manager Michael Donnellan

Scorers for Tipperary: D Cotter (2-2); C Walsh (0-4, 1 mark, 1 free); T Corcoran, J Yousif (0-2 each); J Garrett (free), C Healy, C Kelly (0-1 each).

Scorers for Limerick: S Dolan (0-5, 4 frees); D Dawson, C Costelloe, R Mullins, R McNamara, J Slattery (0-1 each).

TIPPERARY: M Conroy (Drom-Inch); J McGonigle (Rockwell Rovers), R Myles (Ardfinnan, j-capt), G Neville (Fethard); N O’Flynn (Fethard), T Corcoran (JK Brackens, j-capt), J Garrett (Arravale Rovers); D Cotter (Thurles Gaels), Ó Gahan (St Patrick’s); C Healy (Kilruane MacDonaghs), J Yousif (Clonmel Óg), S Griffin (Upperchurch-Drombane); C Kelly (Arravale Rovers), C Walsh (Fethard), C Collins (Galtee Rovers).
Subs: D Morris (Clonmel Commercials) for O’Flynn (45), H Tobin Ryan (Clonmel Commercials) for Collins (45), R O’Sullivan (Clerihan) for Healy (53), L Foley (Moyle Rovers) for Griffin (56), M McGuire (Kilsheelan-Kilcash) for Gahan (59, inj).

LIMERICK: S Kearney (St Senan’s); D McCarthy (Fr Caseys), S O’Donnell (Galtee Gaels), S Hanley (Oola); M Mulcahy (St Senan’s), D Dawson (Ahane), C Ó Longaigh (Mungret St Paul’s); C Costelloe (Cappagh-Rathkeale), D O’Connell (Mungret St Paul’s); S Dolan (Monaleen), R Mullins (Mungret St Paul’s), M Naughton (Croom); C Casey (Monaleen), R McNamara (Hospital-Herbertstown), L Curtin (Fr Caseys).
Subs: B Ryan (Croom) for Naughton (45), D Murphy (Ballylanders) for Casey (45), C McNamara (Monaleen) for R McNamara (49), J Slattery (Cappamore) for Curtin (49), S Gallahue (Galtee Gaels) for O’Donnell (54).

Referee: E Ó Muircheartaigh (Kerry).

Team Sheets

Fixture Details

Tuesday April 2nd
2024 Electric Ireland Munster GAA Minor Football Championship Round 1
Tipperary v Limerick
Venue: Fethard Town Park @ 7pm
Referee: Eoghan Ó Muircheartaigh (Kerry)
Streamed Live on

Team News

LIMERICK: Stephen Kearney (St Senans); Danny McCarthy (Fr Caseys), Sean O’Donnell (Galtee Gaels), Sean Hanley (Oola); Michael Mulcahy (St Senans), Donal Dawson (Ahane), Conor O’Longaigh (Mungret St Pauls); Cian Costelloe (Cappagh-Rathkeale), Daniel O’Connell (Mungret St Pauls); Shane Dolan (Monaleen), Rory Mulins (Mungret St Pauls), Michael Naughton (Croom); Charlie Casey (Monaleen), Rian McNamara (Hospital-Herbertstown), Leon Curtin (Fr Caseys)
Subs: Aaron Dean (Bruree), Ben Ryan (Croom), Daniel Murphy (Ballylanders), Sean Gallahue (Galtee Gaels), Jake Slattery (Cappamore), Evan O’Connor (Fr Caseys), Harry McDermott (Monaleen), Shane O’Dea (Hospital-Herbertstown), Cillian McNamara (Monaleen).

Ticket Information

General Admission: €10
Students/OAPs: €5
Under 16’s: Free

Tickets are available from participating Centra and Supervalu outlets or online via the link below.

Click here to buy tickets


April 2
7:00 pm - 9:00 pm


Fethard Town Park Sports Complex
View Venue Website

GAA Units