Official Aras Mumhan Website

Loading Events
  • This event has passed.

2024 All-Ireland Senior Hurling Championship Quarter-Final – Cork 0-26 Dublin 0-21

June 22 @ 1:15 pm - 3:00 pm

Cork defeated Dublin by 0-26 to 0-21 in the All-Ireland Senior Hurling Championship Quarter-Final on Saturday June 22nd at FBD Semple Stadium Thurles.

Match Highlights

All-Ireland SHC QF: Cork overcome spirited Dublin

Cork 0-26 Dublin 0-21

Report By Stephen Barry at FBD Semple Stadium for

It was anxious at the end but Cork held out against a late Dublin barrage to advance to next month’s All-Ireland semi-finals.

Patrick Horgan struck 0-10 to equal TJ Reid as the championship’s all-time top scorer on 699 points, but his team didn’t register again after the 66th minute.

It rained goal chances late on. Ronan Hayes blasted a snapshot wide before Declan Dalton was denied by a flying Seán Brennan save at the other end.

As the clock ticked into four added minutes, Patrick Collins blocked a Diarmaid Ó Dúlaing drive before a Donal Burke free was stopped on the line by Niall O’Leary. A late Ó Dúlaing attempt was snuffed out to the relief of the Rebel fans.

With Robert Downey ruled out due to illness, Ciarán Joyce provided a readymade centre-back replacement while Luke Meade came into midfield. Séamus Harnedy, back from a hamstring tweak, demonstrated his fitness with their opening score.

Dublin, meanwhile, made four late changes with Daire Gray, Darragh Power, Mark Grogan, and Paul Crummey introduced. Out went Paddy Doyle and their entire full-forward line of Fergal Whiteley, Dara Purcell, and Ronan Hayes.

They did cause Cork some problems with their direct running game. Midfielder Conor Burke attempted eight shots, converting four. He also won three scoreable frees, but Donal Burke blazed each wide. Brian Hayes landed two points while assisting three more in the opening half.

The sides were level six times before Cork began to inch ahead. Horgan had a third-minute goal chance brilliantly blocked by Eoghan O’Donnell, but the forward raised a pair of white flags in the 15th minute for a lead they never relinquished.

They stretched it out to six points with Dalton arrowing over four between there and the break. Eoin Downey was denied a first championship point by Hawk-Eye, but they still led 0-15 to 0-10 by the half-time.

They gobbled up the Dublin puck-out for the opening four points of the second half, including another Dalton double.

Donal Burke’s fourth missed free saw Seán Currie take over dead-ball duties and his Na Fianna clubmate ended with 0-7.

With the record in his sights, Horgan was gifted five frees to tap over while Robbie O’Flynn was called off the bench and scored with his first two touches.

Chris Crummey notched three from the half-back line, but Dublin’s late push came up short.

Scorers for Cork: Patrick Horgan 0-10 (7fs) Declan Dalton 0-6 (3fs) Darragh Fitzgibbon, Shane Barrett, Séamus Harnedy, Robbie O’Flynn 0-2 each; Brian Hayes, Luke Meade 0-1 each.

Scorers for Dublin: Seán Currie 0-7 (4fs), Conor Burke 0-4; Chris Crummey, Donal Burke (1f) 0-3 each, Brian Hayes 0-2, Darragh Power and Paddy Doyle 0-1 each.

Cork: Patrick Collins; Niall O’Leary, Seán O’Donoghue, Eoin Downey; Tim O’Mahony, Ciarán Joyce, Mark Coleman; Luke Meade, Darragh Fitzgibbon; Declan Dalton, Shane Barrett, Séamus Harnedy; Patrick Horgan, Alan Connolly, Brian Hayes.
Subs: Shane Kingston for Harnedy (49), Tommy O’Connell for Meade (49), Ger Millerick for Fitzgibbon (59), Robbie O’Flynn for Hayes (61), Conor Lehane for Connolly (68).

Dublin: Seán Brennan; Paddy Smyth, Eoghan O’Donnell, John Bellew; Chris Crummey, Conor Donohoe, Daire Gray; Conor Burke, Mark Grogan; Brian Hayes, Donal Burke, Darragh Power; Danny Sutcliffe, Seán Currie, Paul Crummey.
Subs: Ronan Hayes for P Crummey (44-70+4, temporary), Paddy Doyle for Gray (48), Diarmaid Ó Dúlaing for Grogan (54), James Madden for Donohoe (59), Fergal Whiteley for B Hayes (64).

Referee: Michael Kennedy (Tipperary).

Team News

Cork: Patrick Collins; Niall O’Leary, Eoin Downey, Seán O’Donoghue; Tim O’Mahony, Robert Downey, Mark Coleman; Ciarán Joyce, Darragh Fitzgibbon; Declan Dalton, Shane Barrett, Séamus Harnedy; Patrick Horgan, Alan Connolly, Brian Hayes.
Subs: Brion Saunderson, Damien Cahalane, Ger Mellerick, Tommy O’Connell, Luke Meade, Shane Kingston, Robbie O’Flynn, Jack O’Connor, Seán Twomey, Padraig Power, Conor Lehane.

Dublin: Seán Brennan; John Bellew, Eoghan O’Donnell, Paddy Smyth; Chris Crummey, Conor Donohoe, Paddy Doyle; Brian Hayes, Conor Burke; Danny Sutcliffe, Donal Burke, Seán Currie; Fergal Whiteley, Dara Purcell, Ronan Hayes.
Subs: Eddie Gibbons, James Madden, Daire Gray, Seán Gallagher, Darragh Power, Mark Grogan, Diarmaid Ó Dúlaing, Colin Currie, Paul Crummey, Jake Malone, Joe Flanagan.

Match Preview


June 22
1:15 pm - 3:00 pm


FBD Semple Stadium Thurles

GAA Units