Official Aras Mumhan Website

Loading Events
  • This event has passed.

2024 All-Ireland Senior Football Championship Preliminary Quarter-Final – Louth 1-9 Cork 1-8

June 23 @ 3:00 pm - 5:00 pm

Louth defeated Cork by 1-9 to 1-8 in the All-Ireland Senior Football Championship Preliminary Quarter-Final on Sunday June 23rd at Grattan Park, Inniskeen.

Louth pip Cork at the death to clinch All-Ireland quarter-final spot for first time

LOUTH 1-9 CORK 1-8

Report by John Fogarty for the Irish Examiner newspaper

A questionable additional time free converted by Sam Mulroy sent Louth into their first ever All-Ireland quarter-final.

On the break, Craig Lennon drew the free from Mattie Taylor and Mulroy duly obliged to the delight of the Louth-dominated crowd in Grattan Park.

Ger Brennan’s side had been the better team in the second half and owned the third quarter. They scored thrice in contrast to Cork who went the entire period without troubling the posts. Brian Hurley’s 52nd minute to put them a point ahead was their first since the goal before the break.

Christopher Kelly had gathered a Bevan Duffy boomer earlier in the second half but he couldn’t negotiate Conor Grimes’ attempt in the 56th minute. Donal McKenny caught his juggle and drove the ball to the net to send Louth a couple of points clear.

Cork clocked up three wides as Louth retreated after their major but Chris Óg Jones at least made an attack count after Niall McDonnell stopped a point-blank range shot from substitute Eoghan McSweeney.

Jones capitalised on a poor Louth kick-out to bring Cork level in the 62nd minute and the scoreline remained 1-8 apiece until Mulroy’s winning free.

As did for a lot of the game, Cork had lorded possession in the opening half, their shooters lining up on the left wing in the hope of coming inside to slot over a score. Louth, at least in the early stages, were disciplined in keeping their shape and after dozens of passes Tommy Walsh struck a tame shot into goalkeeper Niall McDonnell’s hands.

Brian O’Driscoll opened the scoring for Cork in the eighth minute and Colm O’Callaghan sent over his first three minutes later. In between them, though, was a Craig Gilroy point and a reminder of how lethal he can be running from deep.

Louth produced the next three scores, two of them from Ryan Burns, to go two points ahead while it was a case of frustration at the other end as Steven Sherlock struck a dismal shot several metres wide.

In the 26th minute, Rory Maguire showed the way with Cork’s first point in 15 minutes and O’Callaghan added his second three minutes later. After scoring two with his right, the in-form midfielder bisected the posts with his left in the 33rd minute.

Cork had well and truly grabbed the initiative and their goal came a couple of minutes later. Thomas Clancy sent the ball forward to Ian Maguire whose incisive kick-pass over the top for the on-running Daniel O’Mahony was swing-fisted across McDonnell and into the net.

Sam Mulroy converted his second free of the half to bring Louth to within a score before the break, 0-5 to 1-5.

Scorers for Louth: S. Mulroy (0-4, 3 frees); D. McKenny (1-0); R. Burns, C. Lennon (0-2); P. Mathews (0-1).

Scorers for Cork: C. O’Callaghan (0-3); D. O’Mahony (1-0); C. Jones (0-2); B. O’Driscoll, R. Maguire, B. Hurley (0-1 each).

LOUTH: N. McDonnell; D. Campbell, D. Corcoran, D. McKenny; B. Duffy, A. Williams, C. McKeever; T. Durnin, C. Byrne; C. Early, C. Keenan, C. Lennon; R, Byrns, S. Mulroy (c), C. Grimes.
Subs for Louth: P. Mathews for C. Byrne (inj 27); L. Grey for C. Early (63); L. Jackson for R. Burns (69).

CORK: C. Kelly; K. Flahive, D. O’Mahony, T. Walsh; M. Shanley, R. Maguire, M. Taylor; I. Maguire, C. O’Callaghan; R. Deane, M. Cronin, B. O’Driscoll; B. Hurley (c), C. Jones, S. Sherlock.
Subs for Cork: T. Clancy for T. Walsh (inj 24); E. McSweeney for R. Deane (51); S. Powter for S. Sherlock (56); C. Corbett for M. Cronin (60).

Referee: N. Mooney (Cavan).

Team News

Cork: Christopher Kelly; Kevin Flahive, Daniel O’Mahony, Maurice Shanley; Rory Maguire, Tommy Walsh, Matty Taylor; Ian Maguire, Colm O’Callaghan; Paul Walsh, Seán Powter, Brian O’Driscoll; Mark Cronin, Chris Óg Jones, Steven Sherlock.
Subs: Mícheál Aodh Martin, Seán Meehan, Darragh Cashman, Thomas Clancy, John O’Rourke, Killian O’Hanlon, Eoghan McSweeney, Jack Cahalane, Ruairi Deane, Conor Corbett, Brian Hurley.

Louth: Niall McDonnell; Donal McKenny, Dermot Campbell, Dan Corcoran; Conall McKeever, Anthony Williams, Craig Lennon; Tommy Durnin, Bevan Duffy; Paul Mathews, Ciarán Keenan, Conor Grimes; Ryan Burns, Sam Mulroy, Ciarán Byrne.
Subs: Craig Lynch, Chris O’Neill, Peter McStravick, Liam Jackson, Dylan McKeown, Ciarán Murphy, Seán Marry, Leonard Grey, Tadhg McDonell, Conor Early, Tom Jackson.

Ticket Information

This game in SOLD OUT.


June 23
3:00 pm - 5:00 pm



GAA Units