Official Aras Mumhan Website

Loading Events
  • This event has passed.

2023 Munster Senior Hurling Championship – Waterford 1-24 Tipperary 0-21

May 28 @ 4:00 pm - 6:00 pm

Waterford defeated Tipperary by 1-24 to 0-21 in Round 5 of the Munster Senior Hurling Championship on Sunday May 28th at FBD Semple Stadium Thurles.

Match Highlights

Munster SHC: Waterford defeat Tipperary

Waterford 1-24 Tipperary 0-21

Report By Noel Dundon at FBD Semple Stadium for

Unfancied Waterford put back-to-back championship victories over Tipperary at FBD Semple Stadium in the Munster senior hurling campaign with a performance which saw them blitz the hosts, who were uncharacteristically flat on the day.

Despite the loss Tipperary still progress to the All-Ireland series. Tipperary knew that victory from this game would send them into the provincial final against Clare, but Davy Fitzgerald’s Waterford still produced a defiant display.

Both sides had changes from the teams announced during the week with Billy Nolan, Paddy Nealon and Patrick Fitzgerald coming in for Waterford instead of Conor Prunty, Jamie Barron and Austin Gleeson, while Brian McGrath and Seamus Callanan started for Tipp in place of Cathal Barrett and Jake Morris.

It was Waterford who showed the greater energy and desire in the first half as they raced to the dressing room at the break with a 0-17 to 0-8 interval lead. Indeed that lead could have been far greater had they taken their chances with eight wides also included in the main points of that half.

Tipperary were just so flat. The exertions of the previous weeks battle royale with Limerick had perhaps taken its toll, while Waterford were resting up ahead of their final clash of the championship.

Waterford had seven points on the board inside 12 minutes from Jack Fagan (3), Peter Hogan, Patrick Fitzgerald (2) and Darragh Lyons while Gearoid O’Connor had Tipperary’s solitary score in this period.

O’Connor was forced off through injury before the end of the half and while Tipperary did manage points from Seamus Callanan (2), Brian McGrath and his brother Noel, and O’Connor (3), Waterford were finding acres of space in the Tipperary defence and they punished their hosts for their lax approach.

Stephen Bennett had four more points while Dessie Hutchinson had three from play to go along with Billy Nolan and Neil Montgomery scores. Waterford were good for their nine point lead – Tipperary were in big trouble and showed few signs in that first half of being able to shake off the sense of lethargy.

Apart from a brief flurry of scores in the second half which yielded three in succession on two occasions, Tipperary never looked as though they were going to overcome the deficit.

Waterford were off the mark again upon resumption through Neil Montgomery and though Tipp had three from Noel McGrath (2) and Mark Kehoe, followed by McGrath and sub Conor Bowe to reduce the deficit to five, it was to be the closest they got to their visitors.

Waterford hit back with two from Bennett and the impressive Hutchinson who bagged a 17th minute goal to put Tipperary to the sword for defensive lapses. Waterford were now heading for the winning post and though Tipp came again with scores from the likes of Noel McGrath (3), Alan Tynan, Ronan Maher (2), Seamus Kennedy and Seamus Callanan, their race was run.

It was a fine showing from Waterford who really threw off the shackles and though playing only for pride, they certainly displayed it in abundance.

Tipp must regroup now and ready themselves for the All-Ireland series where they will face Offaly.

Scorers for Waterford: S Bennett (0-9, 0-7 frees); D Hutchinson (1-3); J Fagan, P Fitzgerald (0-3 each); N Montgomery (0-2); C Lyons, B Nolan, P Hogan, P Curran (0-1 each).

Scorers for Tipperary: N McGrath (0-7, 0-4 frees, 0-3 65s); G O’Connor (0-4, 0-3 frees); S Callanan (0-3); R Maher (0-2, 0-1 free); E Connolly, A Tynan, M Kehoe, B McGrath, C Bowe (0-1 each).

Waterford: Shaun O’Brien, Mark Fitzgerald, Billy Nolan, Conor Gleeson, Iarlaith Daly, Callum Lyons, Jack Fagan, Conor Lyons, Paddy Nealon, Neil Montgomery, Patrick Fitzgerald, Jack Prendergast, Dessie Hutchinson, Stephen Bennett, Peter Hogan.
Subs: Patrick Curran for Neil Montgomery; Kevin O’Mahony for Peter Hogan; Colin Dunford for Jack Prendergast; DJ Foran for Patrick Fitzgerald; Conor Ryan for Conor Gleeson.

Tipperary: Rhys Shelly, Brian McGrath, Michael Breen, Ronan Maher, Eoghan Connolly, Bryan O’Mara, Seamus Kennedy, Dan McCormack, Alan Tynan, Conor Stakelum, Patrick Maher, Noel McGrath, Seamus Callanan, Gearoid O’Connor, Mark Kehoe.
Subs: Conor Bowe for Gearoid O’Connor; Johnny Ryan for Brian McGrath; Sean Ryan for Conor Stakelum; John McGrath for Patrick Maher; Joe Fogarty for Mark Kehoe.

Referee: John Keenan (Wicklow)

Ticket Information

Ticket Prices – Munster Senior Hurling Championship Round-Robin games
Stands – €25 for adults, €20 for students / OAPs, €5 for juveniles
Terrace – €20 for adults, €15 for students / OAPs, €5 for juveniles

Click here to purchase Tickets for Tipperary v Waterford

Match Programme

Pick up a copy of the 48 page Souvenir Match Programme for 5 euro

Team News

TIPPERARY (SHC v Waterford): Rhys Shelly; Ronan Maher, Michael Breen, Cathal Barrett; Eoghan Connolly, Bryan O’Mara, Seamus Kennedy; Alan Tynan, Dan McCormack; Conor Stakelum, Patrick Maher, Noel McGrath; Jake Morris, Gearóid O’Connor, Mark Kehoe.
Subs: B. Hogan, C. Bowe, S. Callanan, J. Campion, P. Campion, J. Fogarty, E. Heffernan, B. McGrath, J. McGrath, J. Ryan, S. Ryan.

Waterford: Shaun O’Brien; Mark Fitzgerald, Conor Prunty, Conor Gleeson; Iarlaith Daly, Calum Lyons, Jack Fagan; Darragh Lyons, Jamie Barron; Neil Montgomery, Dessie Hutchinson, Jack Prendergast; Dessie Hutchinson, Stephen Bennett, Peter Hogan.

Munster GAA – Press Release
Fans warned not to bring flares or smoke bombs to Munster Championship Games

In advance of Munster Championship Games, and particularly Sunday’s Munster Senior Hurling fixture between Limerick and Cork at the TUS Gaelic Grounds, Munster GAA and An Garda Síochána wishes to remind supporters of the dangers of igniting flares and smoke bombs within grounds.

These items are illegal and present a serious safety risk to supporters. Any person caught in possession will be refused admission to the ground by stewards and security staff. It is a criminal offence to ignite a flare in a crowded area and anyone who does so will be subject to ejection from the venue and will face criminal prosecution by An Garda Síochána.

With an expected attendance of 40,000+ supporters in the Gaelic Grounds on Sunday Munster GAA want to ensure the safest possible atmosphere so that all can enjoy the games.

Munster GAA Operations Manager John Brennan advised: “These devices are extremely dangerous, particularly when used in a confined space, such as a terrace with thousands of fellow supporters present. Flares can burn at a very high temperature and present a serious safety risk to those holding them and to those in the general vicinity, especially young children. Smoke bombs also burn at high temperatures and can be dangerous for those with asthma or breathing difficulties. Munster GAA ask that the small number of supporters who do bring these items to our games refrain from doing so.”


May 28
4:00 pm - 6:00 pm


FBD Semple Stadium Thurles

GAA Units