Official Aras Mumhan Website

Loading Events
  • This event has passed.

2023 Electric Ireland Munster GAA Minor Football Championship – Limerick 4-6 Clare 0-15

April 20, 2023 @ 7:00 pm - 9:00 pm

Limerick defeated Clare by 4-6 to 0-15 in Phase 1, Round 2 of the Electric Ireland Munster GAA Minor Football Championship on April 20th at in Milltown Malbay.

Match Highlights

Four goals helps Limerick past Clare to blow open phase one of the MFC

Munster Minor Football Championship Round 2

Limerick 4-6 Clare 0-15

Report by Eoin Brennan for the Irish Examiner newspaper

Opportunists Limerick dramatically blew Phase 1 of the Munster Minor Football Championship wide open on Thursday when four timely goals finally suck hosts Clare in Hennessy Memorial Park Miltown Malbay.

Having seen their minor hopes severely hampered by their Shannonside neighbours in the past two campaigns, nothing but a Banner victory appeared to be on the cards this time around as they held the upper hand for the majority.

Leading by five in the opening period and even a four cushion entering the final ten minutes, Clare would be sucker-punched by a brace of goals in a minute through Adam Murphy and chief marksman Andrew Lyons to irrevocably alter the narrative of this derby tie.

In truth, it was a pattern that a careless home side failed to heed though as while Limerick’s first goal midway through the opening period was quite fortuitous for Tommy Glynn, the remaining three stemmed from flowing counter-attack moves through the centre of Clare’s defence.

A five point unanswered blitz that included a trio of Gearoid Barry points had settled a wind-assisted Clare into their stride at 0-6 to 0-2 by the end of the opening quarter. Limerick effectively wiped out that good work however a minute later when Liam Óg Glynn’s shot for a point cannoned off the upright for Tommy Glynn to finish to the net.

Undeterred, the hosts quickly rebuilt their advantage as playmakers Diarmuid McMahon and Aidan Weaver were influential in Clare grabbing the next four points to soar five clear by the 26th minute. A metronomic Limerick struck again on the half hour mark when Darragh Hogan fed Lyons to finish from close range and lessen the half-time damage to two at 0-10 to 2-2.

Within a minute of the resumption, a buoyant Limerick, now backed by the conditions had levelled up the tie for the third time thanks to points through Cian Costello and sweeper Padraic Murphy.

Clare appeared to have weathered the storm when Barry (2), Shane O’Connell and captain Daire Culligan restored a four point lead at 0-14 to 2-4 entering the final quarter.

Nobody informed a relentless Limerick of the script though as full-forward Andrew Lyons set up a goal for Adam Murphy before finishing the clinching blow from the kick-out himself. It means that Limerick’s hopes of a second successive Phase 1 decider are still alive but both Shannonside neighbours will need to win their final round ties next Thursday to maintain their interest.

Scorers for Limerick: A Lyons (2-3, 0-3 frees); A Murphy (1-1); T Glynn (1-0); C Costello, P Murphy (0-1 each)

Scorers for Clare: G Barry (0-7, 0-4 frees); D Culligan (0-3, 0-1 free); S O’Connell (0-2); K Deegan-Herlihy, A Weaver, D McMahon (0-1 each)

Limerick: S Guerin (Kildimo/Pallaskenry); C O’Sullivan (Kildimo/Pallaskenry), C Buckley (Athea), J Hunt (Athea); L Og Glynn (Ahane), C Woulfe (Fr. Casey’s), S Colgan (Askeaton/Ballysteen/Kilcornan); C Costello (Cappagh/Rathkeale), E Curry (Athea); P Phelan (Pallasgreen), D Hogan (Mungret/St. Paul’s), A Murphy (Fr. Casey’s); T Glynn (Na Piarsaigh), A Lyons (Newcastle West), P Murphy (Askeaton/Ballysteen/Kilcornan)
Subs: C Meade (St Senan’s) for Colgan (HT), R O’Connell (Fr. Casey’s) for Phelan (39 mins), R Allen (Kildimo/Pallaskenry) for Hogan (60 mins)

Clare: E Byrne (St Breckan’s); A Killeen (Lissycasey), C Hill (Lissycasey), R Fitzpatrick (St Breckan’s); D Boyle (St Joseph’s Doora Barefield), M Kelly (Lissycasey), A Weaver (Lissycasey); E Cahill (Kilmurry Ibrickane), B Skerritt (Lissycasey); D Townsend (Cooraclare), D Culligan (Lissycasey), K Deegan-Herlihy (Banner); G Barry (Inagh-Kilnamona), D McMahon (Lissycasey), S O’Connell (Cooraclare)
Subs: S Garry (Clondegad) for Skerritt (57 mins)

Referee: E Morrissey (Waterford)

Ticket Information

Adults – €10
Students / OAPs – €5
Under 16s – Free

Click here to buy tickets

Alternatively, purchase tickets from participating Centra and Supervalu outlets

Live Streaming

This game will be live streamed by Munster GAA.

Click here to purchase the Live Streaming of Clare v Limerick MFC for 10 euro

Streaming Support – if you have any issues access the Live Streaming, click here to access the Support Center to resolve your problem.

Team News

LIMERICK: Sam Guerin (Kildimo-Pallaskenry); Cian O’Sullivan (Kildimo-Pallaskenry), Callum Buckley (Athea), James Hunt (Athea); Liam Og Glynn (Ahane), Cathal Woulfe (Fr Caseys), Sam Colgan (Askeaton-Ballysteen-Kilcornan); Cian Costello (Cappagh-Rathkeale), Evan Curry (Athea); Adam Murphy (Fr Caseys), Darragh Hogan (Mungret St Pauls) Padraic Phelan (Pallasgreen); Tommy Glynn (Na Piarsaigh), Adam Lyons (Newcastle West), Padraic Murphy (Askeaton-Ballysteen-Kilcornan).
Subs: Charlie Lane (South Liberties), Con Kirby (Crecora-Manister), Cillian Meade (St Senans), Barry Griffin (Monaleen), Ross Allen (Kildimo-Pallaskenry), Ronan O’Connell (Fr Caseys), Rory Mullins (Mungret St Pauls), Cian Hogan (Galtee Gaels), Owen Dee (Cappagh-Rathkeale).


April 20, 2023
7:00 pm - 9:00 pm



GAA Units