Official Aras Mumhan Website

Loading Events
  • This event has passed.

2023 AIB Munster GAA Club Junior Football Championship Q-Final – Kilmurry (Cork) 2-16 Sean Treacys (Tipperary) 1-6

November 11, 2023 @ 1:30 pm - 3:30 pm

Kilmurry (Cork) defeated Sean Treacys (Tipperary) by 2-16 to 1-6 in the AIB Munster GAA Club Junior Football Championship Quarter-Final on Saturday November 11th at Templetuohy.

Match Highlights

Kilmurry advance to Junior football semi after comprehensive victory over Sean Treacy’s

Munster JFC Quarter-Final: Kilmurry 2-16 Sean Treacys 1-6

Report by Michael Dundon for the Irish Examiner newspaper

Cork’s Kilmurry had their place in the Munster club junior football championship semi-final secured by half-time in this one-sided quarter final against Tipp champions, Sean Treacys at Templetuohy on Saturday.

The Cork team were hotly fancied and fully justified their standing with a quality display. They were never seriously threatened once Liam Wall netted for them after 10 minutes to put them 1-3 to 0-2 ahead. Sharper, fitter and oozing confidence in possession, they hit 1-5 without reply in a 13 minutes spell from the 7th to the 20th minutes and by half-time their advantage was 1-11 to 1-2.

Twin strikers Sean Warren and Liam Wall were a real thorn in the side of the Sean Treacys team, Warren bagging 0-5 in the first half, three from frees with Wall contributing 1-2 to the Kilmurry tally. Patrick Deegan got Treacys goal after 21 minutes to briefly raise their hopes but Kilmurry stayed comfortably in charge to the break, hitting four points without reply.

There was really no way back for Sean Treacys in the second half and while they battled games, the game was finally put well beyond their reach when Sean Warren hit Kilmurry’s second goal in the 42nd minute for a 2-13 to 1-3 lead.

That score afforded the Kilmurry management the opportunity to empty their bench in the closing stages with their semi-final spot safely secured.

This was a most impressive showing by Kilmurry who were on top in all sectors. While Liam Wall and Sean Warren took the scoring honours the contributions of such as James O Mullane, Kyle Kelleher, William Ronan and Kevin Barrett were also immense as Kilmurry chase the Munster title that eluded them last year.

Sean Treacys were no match for their rivals but never gave up trying even when the game was well out of their reach. Padraig O Leary was their main source of scores with five points, four from frees, but Sean Ryan, Sean Hickey and Michael Feehan and Brian Carey all played their hearts out in a bid to stem the Cork tide that was engulfing them.

They play Feenagh Kilmeedy from Limerick in the semi-final on Saturday, November 25 at 1.30pm.

Scorers for Kilmurry: S Warren (1-7, 5f), L Wall (1-2), J McGinn, J O’Mullane (0-2 each), W Ronan, K Kelleher, B Hinchion (0-1 each).

Scorers for Seán Treacys: P O’Leary 0-5 (0-4 f), P Deegan (1-0), P Dawson (0-1).

KILMURRY: J McDonnell; B Hinchion, K Barrett G O’Mahony; O Keane, W Ronan, T Collins; K Kelleher, J O’Mullane; D Cahalane, L Aisling, R Duggan; R Leahy, L Wall, S Warren.
Subs: P Brehanu for D Cahalane, A Aisling for R Duggan (both 39), G Barrett for J O’Mullane, J McGinn for S Warren (both 52), S Curzon for B Hinchion (56).

SEÁN TREACYS: C Kennedy; B Nolan, S Hickey, D Dunne; P Nolan, S Ryan, B Carey; M Feehan, D Hickey; D Kennedy, M Feehan, P Deegan; P Dawson, P O’Leary, J Deegan.
Subs: A O’Brien for D Hickey (22), T Hickey for J Deegan (HT), E Sheldon for D Dunne (35), T O’Dwyer for M Feehan, D Carr for P Deegan (both 44).

Referee: Timmy McGrath (Limerick).

Live Streaming Information

This game will be streamed live by Munster GAA TV at a cost of 10 euro.

Click here to purchase Live Streaming for this game

Ticket Information


November 11, 2023
1:30 pm - 3:30 pm



GAA Units