Official Aras Mumhan Website

Loading Events
  • This event has passed.

2023 EirGrid GAA Under 20 Football Munster Championship Quarter-Final – Clare 1-11 Tipperary 0-11

April 10, 2023 @ 7:00 pm - 9:00 pm

Clare defeated Tipperary by 1-11 to 0-11 in the Quarter Final of the EirGrid GAA Under 20 Football Munster Championship on Monday April 10th at Semple Stadium Thurles.

Match Highlights

Mikey Kelleher goal crucial as Clare edge Tipperary

Clare 1-11 Tipp 0-11

Report by Michael Dundon for the Irish Examiner newspaper

A Mikey Kelleher goal after just two minutes proved to be the decisive score as a hotly fancied Clare overcame Tipperary in the Munster Under 20 football quarter-final at Semple Stadium on Monday night.

In what was a gripping contest all the way, Kelleher’s strike, after an excellent Clare build-up from the kick-out following Tipp’s opening point from Joseph Lawrence, was the main difference between the sides as Tipp were left to regret spurning two great goal chances.

Eoin O Connell, had the first goal chance for Tipp after 13 minutes but his effort skidded just wide of the post and on the three quarter mark, Micheal Lowry saw his blast for goal saved by Clare goalie Thomas Collins, who also contributed three pointed frees to the Clare tally.

Kelleher’s goal gave Clare the early initiative but three pointed frees for Tipp by Cian Smith had the home side ahead 0-5 to 1-1 after 24 minutes. Clare finished the first half strongly with points from Brendy Rouine, Collins and Sean McMahon for an interval lead of 1-4 to 0-5.

Clare had the better of the third quarter and led 1-9 to 0-7 with 12 minutes to go. Tipp rallied, however, and points by Smith (2), Tommy O Connor and Darragh McVicker to which Thomas Collins replied with a pointed Clare free, had the Tipp lads chasing a winning goal as the game went into injury time.

However, Tom Curran’s third point for Clare after 63 minutes kept their noses in front to the finish.

A semi-final joust with Kerry is Clare’s reward for this hard-earned victory in which goalie Thomas Collins, Mikey Kelleher, Liam Cotter, Liam Culligan, Brendy Rouine and Joshua Guyler were key men.
Tipp’s top performers were Sean O’Meara, Joseph Lawrence, Eoin Craddock, Daithi Hogan and Cian Smith.

Scorers for Clare: M Kelleher 1-2; T Collins 0-3,3fs; T Curran 0-3,1f; B Rouine 0-2; S McMahon 0-1.

Scorers for Tipp: C Smith 0-5,4fs; J Lawrence, D Hogan(f), R Collins, N O Connor, T O Connor, D McVicker 0-1 each.

Clare: T Collins; E Casey, F Guinnane, J Moloney; L Cotter, L Culligan, J Guyler; B McNamara, J Curran; M Kelleher, C McGroary, B Rouine; O Cunningham, J Rafferty, S McMahon.
Subs: T Curran for McGroary (42mins), P Frawley for Cunningham (49mins), J Cullinan for Culligan (59mins), C Meaney for Kelleher (62mins), N Hardiman for Rafferty (65mins).

Tipperary: S Ryan; J O Neill, J Nevin, E O Connell; R O Dowd, C King, S O Meara; J Lawrence, E Craddock; M Lowry, D Nee, R Collins; C Smith, E Hawkins, D Hogan.
Subs: N O Connor for Mee (42mins), L McCormack for Hawkins (51mins), E Ducey for O Connell (53mins), D McVicker for Lowry (55mins).

Referee: J Ryan (Cork).

Ticket Information

Adults – €10
Students / OAPs – €5
Under 16s – Free admission when accompanied by an adult
There will be no cash sales at the venue.

Click here to buy tickets

Alternatively, purchase tickets from participating Centra and Supervalu outlets

Live Streaming

This game will be live streamed by Munster GAA.

Click here to purchase the Live Streaming of Tipperary v Clare Under 20 Football for 10 euro

Streaming Support – if you have any issues access the Live Streaming, click here to access the Support Center to resolve your problem.

Team News


April 10, 2023
7:00 pm - 9:00 pm


FBD Semple Stadium Thurles

GAA Units