Official Aras Mumhan Website

Loading Events
  • This event has passed.

2023 Co-Op Superstores Munster Hurling League – Tipperary 2-22 Clare 0-20

January 8, 2023 @ 1:30 pm - 3:30 pm

Tipperary defeated Clare by 2-22 to 0-20 in the second round of the Co-Op Superstores Munster Hurling League on Sunday January 8th at MacDonagh Park Nenagh.

Match Highlights

Tipp and Cahill up and running as Ryan and Forde goals down Clare

Co-Op Superstores Munster Hurling League Group A

Tipperary 2-22 Clare 0-20

Report by Stephen Barry for the Irish Examiner newspaper

Liam Cahill got his first win as Tipperary manager on his return to home soil as Seán Ryan and Jason Forde’s goals saw them past Clare in front of 3,000 spectators at McDonagh Park, Nenagh.

It means a first win for Tipperary since their League victory over Antrim last March with the feelgood factor helped by fine performances by Michael Breen at full-back as well as Gearóid O’Connor and Ryan in attack, making compelling cases for further involvement this spring.

Clare, with the wind at their backs, had the better start on their first outing of 2023, breaking into an 0-8 to 0-5 lead, with Mark Rodgers, Robin Mounsey, and Peter Duggan (from frees) leading their scoring. O’Connor, meanwhile, was a model of ball-winning industry and accurate free-taking at centre-forward for Tipp.

Tipperary had five early wides and a Ryan shot on goal well saved by Éamonn Foudy but they tidied up their shooting, with no wide in the 20 minutes to half-time, while Ryan made no mistake when in on goal again, with Alan Tynan supplying the decisive pass. Tipp ahead now, 1-6 to 0-8.

Clare didn’t show the same eye for goal but they did get their chance three minutes later when Davy Conroy was hauled down by Bryan O’Mara for a penalty. The Tipp centre-back was sent to the sin bin for the rest of the half but Barry Hogan saved him further admonishment with a stunning flying save to push Duggan’s penalty over the bar; a second Tipp penalty save in two games after Rhys Shelly’s midweek heroics.

That brought it level and they traded scores from there to half-time, with Séamus Kennedy, effective at wing-forward, dropping back to hold the fort in the absence of O’Mara. 1-10 to 0-13 at the break and all six forwards on the board at either end.

Ryan, Tipp’s biggest goal threat, teed up Mark Kehoe on the restart but the full-forward whipped it high and wide before O’Connor forced Foudy into another fine save.

Ryan was a revelation, winning the ball for an off-the-hurl point, fouled for another pointed free, and pulling off an exquisite overhand handpass so unexpected it seemed to catch O’Connor by surprise.

Jake Morris was then twice fouled for penalties in the space of five minutes. Jason Forde, just on, saw the first pushed over by Foudy but his lower second effort evaded the keeper. Forde and a long-range Hogan free extended the lead to six, 2-16 to 0-16; Clare’s three points from substitute Diarmuid Ryan.

There was further good news for Cahill as Breen blocked down a Paddy Donnellan goal chance, the Ballina man settling into his defensive role, while Hogan saved from Aron Shanagher.

Scorers for Tipperary: G O’Connor (0-8, 6 frees, 1 65); J Forde 1-3 (1-1 pens); S Ryan (1-1); C Stakelum (0-2); B Hogan (free), E Heffernan, S Kennedy, A Tynan, J Morris, M Kehoe, C O’Dwyer, Johnny Ryan (0-1 each).

Scorers for Clare: P Duggan (0-5, 3 frees, 1 pen); R Mounsey (0-4); D Conroy, M Rodgers, D Ryan (0-3 each); P Crotty, A McCarthy (0-1 each).

TIPPERARY: B Hogan; J Quigley, M Breen, G Ryan; E Heffernan, B O’Mara, B McGrath; P Cadell, C Stakelum; S Kennedy, G O’Connor, A Tynan; J Morris, M Kehoe, S Ryan.
Subs: C McCarthy for G Ryan (h-t), J Forde for Kehoe (48), C O’Dwyer for Tynan (55), Johnny Ryan for Cadell (55), C Bowe for Morris (62), J Campion for Stakelum (66), Jack Ryan for S Ryan (68).

Black card: B O’Mara (28-35+3).

CLARE: É Foudy; A Hogan, C Cleary, C Nolan; B O’Connell, D Lohan, C Galvin; P Donnellan, S Morey; P Crotty, D Conroy, P Duggan; M Rodgers, A McCarthy, R Mounsey.
Subs: D Ryan for Morey (31 inj), A Shanagher for Crotty (h-t), D McInerney for Galvin (50), D Fitzgerald for Nolan (50), J Conneally for O’Connell (55), R Taylor for Hogan (70+4 inj), O O’Donnell for Lohan (70+7 inj).

Referee: É Stapleton (Limerick)

Ticket Information

Adults General Admission – €10
Students / OAPs General Admission (Valid ID Required Upon Entry to Venue) – €5
Under 16s – Free admission when accompanied by an adult
There will be no cash sales at the venue.

Click here to pre-purchase tickets

Live Streaming Information

This game will be streamed live by Munster GAA TV at a cost of 10 euro.

Click here to purchase Live Streaming for this game

Team News

Interview with Clare Selector James Moran

Interview with Clare Hurler Mark Rodgers


January 8, 2023
1:30 pm - 3:30 pm


MacDonagh Park Nenagh

GAA Units