Official Aras Mumhan Website

Loading Events
  • This event has passed.

2023 AIB Munster GAA Club Intermediate Hurling Championship Quarter-Final – Corofin (Clare) 3-18 Lorrha Dorrha (Tipperary) 1-14

November 5, 2023 @ 1:30 pm - 3:30 pm

Corofin (Clare) defeated Lorrha Dorrha (Tipperary) by 3-18 to 1-14 in the AIB Munster GAA Club Intermediate Hurling Championship Quarter-Final on Sunday November 5th at MacDonagh Park Nenagh.

Match Highlights

Hat-trick hero Cahill fires Corofin past Lorrha

Munster IHC quarter-final: Corofin 3-18 Lorrha-Dorrha 1-14

Report by James Hayden for the Irish Examiner newspaper

A well-drilled Corofin outfit proved too strong for Tipperary champions Lorrha-Dorrha in a hard-fought Munster Intermediate hurling club championship quarter-final at MacDonagh Park, Nenagh yesterday.

A hat-trick of goals from centre-forward and man of the match Diarmuid Cahill proved hugely influential as the Clare champions repelled the best Lorrha could muster.

Fresh from their back-to-back county title-winning exploits the Ken Hogan managed Lorrha side found themselves under pressure early on after Oisín Guinan coughed up possession and allowed the hugely impressive Diarmuid Cahill in for his first of three cracking goals after just two minutes.

Despite the sticky underfoot conditions Lorrha hit back with a cracking Eoin McIntyre goal but it was the Clare side who were getting the better of the exchanges and forged a 1-7 to 1-2 advantage by the 18th minute thanks to an impressive trio of points from full-forward, James Organ, a brace from Gearoid Kelly (free) and Conor Leen.

Minus the services of former Tipp goalkeeper, Brian Hogan who has returned to Australia, Lorrha were struggling in the opening half but a late surge saw them narrow the gap to four points at the interval, 1-6 to 1-10, thanks mainly to the accuracy of Colm Fogarty from placed balls.

Lorrha upped the tempo from the re-start and three points on the bounce from Cian Hogan and Colm Fogarty (two frees) cut the deficit to a solitary point before Corofin responded with a fourth James Organ point coupled with a Gearoid Cahill free. Then Diarmuid Cahill cut a swathe through the heart of the Lorrha defence and finished low to Michael Kennedy’s left for the Clare side’s second goal on the 40-minute mark.

Lorrha’s challenge was beginning to wane and Corofin showed no mercy with three points on the bounce from Gearoid Cahill firing the Clare champions into a fully deserved eight-point lead.

Two further efforts from Colm Fogarty from placed balls and an impressive Eoin McIntyre point from range edged Lorrha closer. But the Tipperary champions were dealt a late blow when Patrick ‘Bonner’ Maher somewhat harshly saw red following an off the ball altercation on 58 minutes.

Corofin capped a fine display with a third Diarmuid Cahill goal on full-time to make it a fully deserved ten-point win for the Joe Cahill coached side.

“Coming down here we knew it was going to be a massive challenge. We knew our stats at half-time were not where we wanted them to be and we spoke to the players. They really energized themselves for the second half. We have a massive group here and every one of them are leaders, ” Cahill said.

“We got a great start and we have seven guys out there that are playing their 28th weekend in a row. There is an awful difference between fitness and match fitness and we had match fitness in abundance. That’s what really won it for us. Fair play to Lorrha they put in a real challenge and we had to work very hard to overcome them.”

Scorers for Corofin: D. Cahill 3-2; J. Organ 0-4; G. Kelly 0-4f; G. Cahill, 0-3; C. Leen 0-2; K. O’Connor, D. Ryan and J. Malone 0-1 each.

Scorers for Lorrha-Dorrha: Colm Fogarty 0-10 (0-9f); E. McIntyre 1-1; N. McIntyre, C. Hogan and Christopher Fogarty 0-1 each.

LORRHA-DORRHA: M. Kennedy, O. Guinan, D.O’Meara, T. Duggan ; Conor Hogan, M. Dolan (C), C. Hough; A. O’Meara, N. McIntyre; Colm Fogarty; P. Maher, D. Guinan; Christopher Fogarty, Cian Hogan, E. McIntyre.
Subs: D. O’Donoughue for Guinan (15 mins); D. O’Meara for A. O’Meara (48 mins); D. Fogarty for N. McIntyre (55 mins).

COROFIN: L. Corbett, D O’Loughlin (C), F. Clancy, M. O’Loughlin; C. Leen, K. O’Connor, D. Ryan; C. McGoary, G. Cahill; J. Malone, D. Cahill, G. Kelly; S. O’Brien, J. Organ, M. Kelly.
Subs: K. Keane for O’Brien (54 mins); F. Killeen for Leen (60 mins); E. Davoren for Malone (61 mins); S. Malone for M. O’Loughlin (62 mins); M. Duffy for M. Kelly (62 mins)

Referee: Nicky Barry (Waterford)

Live Streaming Information

This game will be streamed live by Munster GAA TV at a cost of 10 euro.

Click here to purchase Live Streaming for this game

Ticket Information


November 5, 2023
1:30 pm - 3:30 pm


MacDonagh Park Nenagh

GAA Units