Official Aras Mumhan Website

Loading Events
  • This event has passed.

2023 AIB Munster Club Junior Football Championship Final – Listowel Emmets (Kerry) 0-9 Kilmurry (Cork) 1-2

December 9, 2023 @ 1:30 pm - 3:30 pm

Listowel Emmets (Kerry) defeated Kilmurry (Cork) by 0-9 to 1-2 in the AIB Munster Club Junior Football Championship Final on Saturday December 9th at Mallow.

Match Highlights

Listowel Emmets prove too strong for Kilmurry en route to Munster success

Listowel Emmets (Kerry) 0-9 Kilmurry (Cork) 1-2

Report by Therese O’Callaghan for the Irish Examiner newspaper

The silverware is heading back to Kerry for the 19th time, after a four-point victory for Listowel Emmets over a battling 14-man Kilmurry in the AIB Munster club JFC final in Mallow on Saturday.

The Kerry champions had too much firepower for the Cork team, who have now suffered back-to-back provincial final defeats. They were looking to become the fourth Cork club to claim the title.

A second yellow card issued to Kilmurry midfielder Kyle Kelleher in the 48th minute summed up their miserable day.

Their two points came from defenders, and the goal came too late, in the fourth minute of second-half stoppage and it was finished by substitute Greg Barrett.

It was a well-deserved win for Listowel Emmets, who proved to be that bit too slick in winning their first Munster title.

With a cross wind, they were first to score, but it wasn’t until the ninth minute, and it came from the boot of free-taker David Keane, as both sides took time to settle.

Sam Tarrant, who replaced injured joint captain Darragh Leahy, kicked over a free, again scores were at a premium, it put his side two points up after quarter of an hour.

The Kerry side laid siege, winning their fair share around the middle third – former Clonakilty and Cork player Joe Joe Grimes putting in a big performance at midfield – however, the scoreboard didn’t move as they were wasteful.

Twice they turned over possession in front of the posts, but there was no return and it remained two points to nil in regulation.

Kilmurry kept at it, but Listowel Emmet’s took full advantage of the three minutes of additional time with Bryan Sweeney landing the first point from play and this was followed by a second Sam Tarrant free.

At half-time, the score was more akin to a soccer match, four nil – Kilmurry unable to break down a rock-solid Listowel Emmet’s rearguard – the fingerprints of coach Marc Ó Sé all over it.

Again, their defensive skills shone through at the start of the second-half when Micheál Kennedy regained control close to his own goal, and when the ball was worked up field it resulted in a David Keane point from a close-in free.

With an overall wide count of 8/3 in favour of Listowel Emmets, they moved six points to the good when Seán Keane found the target.

It was all of 39 minutes before Kilmurry wing-back Tomas Collins opened their account from play, but they were left with a mountain to climb as Kelleher was forced to depart the action following his second yellow.

The game petered out to its inevitable conclusion with a trio of points from Tarrant (free), James McVeigh and Sean Keane.

Kilmurry had the final say with 1-1 – the goal from Greg Barrett was a consolation score in the 65th minute.

Lahardane MacHales of Mayo will be Listowel Emmets’ opponents in the All-Ireland semi-final in January.

Scorers for Listowel Emmets: S Tarrant (0-3 frees), D Keane (0-2 frees), S Keane (0-2, 0-1 free), B Sweeney and J McVeigh (0-1 each).

Scorers for Kilmurry: G Barrett (1-0), B Hinchion and T Collins (0-1 each).

LISTOWEL EMMETS: C Keane; C Pierse, N Collins (J-Capt), M Kennedy; J McElligott, E Healy, C Mulvihill; J J Grimes, J McVeigh; S Keane, G McCarthy, E Browne; B Sweeney, S Tarrant, D Keane.
Subs: A O’Rourke for G McCarthy (39), D Lynch for D Keane (44), D Leahy (J-Capt) for C Mulvihill (57), C Holly for S Tarrant, J Moriarty for S Keane (both 59), S Gilbert for E Browne (bs 64).

KILMURRY: J McDonnell; B Hinchion, K Barrett, G O’Mahony; D Cahalane, W Ronan (J-Capt), T Collins; K Kelleher (J-Capt), James O’Mullane; L Aisling, A Aisling, R Duggan; P Brehanu, L Wall, S Warren.
Subs: Joe O’Mullane for S Warren (35), R Leahy for R Duggan (45), G Barrett for A Aisling (54), J McGinn for P Brehanu (58).

Referee: Timmy McGrath (Limerick)

Live Streaming Information

This game will be streamed live by Munster GAA TV at a cost of 10 euro.

Click here to purchase Live Streaming for this game

Ticket Information

Match Programme

Pick up a copy of the Souvenir Match Programme for 3 euro


December 9, 2023
1:30 pm - 3:30 pm


Mallow GAA Complex

GAA Units