Official Aras Mumhan Website

Loading Events
  • This event has passed.

2022 Tipperary Senior Hurling Championship Final – Kiladangan 1-21 Kilruane MacDonaghs 2-18

October 23, 2022 @ 4:30 pm - 6:30 pm

Kiladangan and Kilruane MacDonaghs finished level on a scoreline of 1-21 to 2-18 in the Tipperary Senior Hurling Championship Final on Sunday October 23rd at FBD Semple Stadium.

Tipperary SHC Final to go to a replay

FBD Insurance Tipperary SHC Final

Kiladanagan 1-21 Kilruane MacDonagh 2-18

Report By Noel Dundon at FBD Insurance Semple Stadium for

A point from a free five minutes into additional time from Kilruane MacDonagh sharpshooter Willie Cleary forced a draw with rivals Kiladangan in the Tipperary senior hurling final at Semple Stadium this afternoon.

A pulsating finale to the game saw the initiative sway this way and that, and it seemed as though a point from Bryan McLoughney had sealed the game for Kiladangan. But, Cleary held his cool and pointed his tenth score to tie up the game and force a replay.

Very heavy rain in the morning ensured that the pitch would be very heavy, but the day was sunny and bright thereafter, although the elements had taken their toll on the surface.

Kilruane MacDonaghs were back in the first county senior hurling final since 1986 and were looking to bridge a very sizeable gap, whereas their opponents Kiladanagan were looking for a second senior title in three years. It was very evenly poised and a bumper attendance ensured a tremendous atmosphere in FBD Semple Stadium.

Despite being the slight underdog, Kilruane MacDonagh were really up for this game. They shot from the traps with points from Conor Cleary and Willie Cleary early on, and were 0-4 to 0-2 in front after ten minutes – Willie Connors and Declan McGrath pointing for Kiladangan while Willie Cleary and Cian Darcy added the two for Kilruane MacDonagh.

But, Kiladangan were back on terms soon after with Paul Flynn and Brian McLoughney scores, before a really important moment in the game arrived.

A break forward from Niall O’Meara saw him find Jerome Cahill who buried the ball in the net for an 18th minute Kilruane MacDonagh goal.

That goal was to be the difference between the sides at the break – Kilruane MacDonagh leading by 1-9 to 0-9. The Kilruane MacDonagh scores came from Willie Cleary (2), Sean McAdams and Thomas Cleary while Paul Flynn, Joe Gallagher, Willie Connors and Tadhg Gallagher had the Kiladanagan scores to keep them in the hunt.

Kiladanagan had not really fired in the first half but they were still well in the game with plenty of scope for improvement. On the other hand Kilruane MacDonagh had made much of the running but were still only three in front, having struck nine wides in the half.

Kiladangan came out strong in the second half and hit five of the first seven scores – all from McLoughney – to tie up the game.

However, a brilliant goal from Jerome Cahill in the 17th minute gave the initiative back to Kilruane MacDonagh and as the teams raced towards the finish line, Kiladangan got a real shot in the arm when Paul Flynn goalled in the 22nd minute after a defensive error.

From then until the end it was tense and tough with every ball fought for with great endeavour – Kilruane MacDonagh coming from behind to go in front, and then Kiladanagan doing likewise before Cleary’s last gasp equaliser.

A brilliant final – the replay will be next weekend in Semple Stadium.

Kiladangan: Barry Hogan, John O’Meara, James Quigley, Darren Moran, David Sweeney, Alan Flynn 0-1, Declan McGrath 0-2, Tadhg Gallagher 0-1, Tom O’Meara, Sean Hayes, Joe Gallagher 0-1, Billy Seymour, Bryan McLoughney 0-10 (8f), Paul Flynn 1-4, Willie Connors 0-2
Subs: Dan O’Mara for Seymour; Darragh Flannery for D Moran; Jack Loughnane for Tom O’Meara; Darragh Butler for John O’Meara;

Kilruane MacDonagh: Paidi Williams, James Cleary, Jack Peters, Kieran Cahill, Thomas Cleary 0-2, Niall O’Meara 0-2, Eoin Hogan, Sean McAdams 0-1, Mark O’Neill 0-1, Willie Cleary 0-10 (9f), Jerome Cahill 2-0, Aaron Morgan, Seamus Hennessy, Kian O’Kelly, Cian Darcy 0-2
Subs: Conor Cleary for Hennessy; Conor Austin for O’Kelly; Kian O’Kelly for Conor Cleary; Seamus Hennessy for Mark O’Neill;

Referee: Kevin Jordan (Thurles Gaels)


October 23, 2022
4:30 pm - 6:30 pm


FBD Semple Stadium Thurles

GAA Units