Official Aras Mumhan Website

Loading Events
  • This event has passed.

2022 Tipperary Senior Hurling Championship Final Replay – Kilruane MacDonaghs 2-20 Kiladangan 1-16

October 30, 2022 @ 3:00 pm - 5:00 pm

Kilruane MacDonaghs defeated Kiladangan by 2-20 to 1-16 in the replay of the Tipperary Senior Hurling Championship Final on Sunday October 30th at FBD Semple Stadium Thurles.

Kilruane MacDonaghs win first Tipperary SHC for 37 years

FBD Insurance Tipperary SHC Final Replay

Kilruane MacDonaghs 2-20 Kiladangan 1-16

Report By Noel Dundon at FBD Insurance Semple Stadium for

Kilruane MacDonaghs stormed to victory in the FBD Insurance county Tipperary senior hurling final replay to bridge a gap going back to 1985 as they swept aside a fancied Kiladangan side at Semple Stadium this afternoon.

A victory which did not seem likely at the half way mark was fashioned from a sterling showing in the second half as Tipperary panellist Cian Darcy bagged two goals to sink his neighbouring parish.

However, it was the performance of Tipp star Niall O’Meara who was the real catalyst for this victory with an outstanding game at centre back – he drove his side on all the way through, but especially when their backs were to the wall.

Conditions were very heavy for this game with a deluge of rain having fallen on Semple Stadium in the days leading up to the match and indeed overnight as well. However, despite this, the day itself was bright and sunny – a very similar setting to the drawn game a week previously.

There was a huge sense of anticipation in Tipperary leading up to the replay after the grand finale to the drawn match which saw the sides tied at the very death. They had bagged 1-8 apiece in the final quarter to keep spectators on the edge of their seats and more of the same was expected from the replay.

It was Kiladangan who had the better of the exchanges early as they raced into a 0-4 to 0-1 lead – the points coming from Bryan McLoughney (2), Tom O’Meara and Dan O’Meara, against a solitary score from Mark O’Neill for Kilruane MacDonagh.

The scores were coming thick and fast and Kiladangan could have extended their lead further still had it not been for Kilruane MacDonagh keeper Paidi Williams who saved a blistering penalty from his opposite number Barry Hoganin the 6th minute.

But, Williams was unable to prevent a Tom O’Meara goal in the 17th minute for Kiladangan as the margin extended to 1-5 to 0-3 – Willie Cleary and Aaron Morgan pointing for Kilruane MacDonagh in the meantime.

By the interval, Kildangan, who played with the assistance of the breeze, led by 1-9 to 0-7 with Paul Flynn and Bryan McLoughney (2) adding to their tally, while Willie Cleary frees were keeping an under-par Kilruane MacDonagh in the game.

It all changed in the second half though and Kilruane MacDonagh were back on terms by the 12th minute with scores from Willie Cleary (2), Sean McAdams (2), James Cleary and Cian Darcy (2) bringing them level.

The momentum was now with them and when Darcy sent them in front and then bagged an 18th minute goal, Kiladangan were left stunned. Suddenly, they were four points down and though they fought back through points from sub Billy Seymour (3), Kilruane MacDonagh ploughed on with further Willie Cleary (2), Conor Austin and Kian O’Kelly points, before Cian Darcy added the coup-de-grace with a superb insurance goal deep into injury time.

A magnificent victory for KIlruane MacDonaghs, their second half showing which yielded 1-13 was the winning of the game.

Kilruane MacDonaghs: Paidi Williams, James Cleary 0-1, Jack Peters, Kieran Cahill, Conor Austin 0-1, Niall O’Meara, Eoin Hogan, Sean McAdams 0-2, Mark O’Neill 0-1, Willie Cleary 0-10, Jerome Cahill, Aaron Morgan 0-1, Thomas Cleary, Kian O’Kelly 0-1, Cian Darcy 2-2
Subs: Seamus Hennessy for Jack Peters; Brian O’Meara for Conor Austin.

Kiladanan: Barry Hogan, Darragh Butler, James Quigley, Darren Moran, David Sweeney, Alan Flynn, Declan McGrath, Tadhg Gallagher 0-1, Tom O’Meara 1-1, Sean Hayes, Joe Gallagher, Dan O’Meara 0-1, Bryan McLoughney 0-8, Paul Flynn 0-3, Willie Connors
Subs: Darragh Flannery for Darren Moran; Billy Seymour 0-3 for Willie Connors; Jack Loughnane for Dan O’Meara; Ruairi Gleeson for Sean Hayes; Matthew Cleary for Tom O’Meara.

Referee: Conor Doyle (Silvermines)


October 30, 2022
3:00 pm - 5:00 pm


FBD Semple Stadium Thurles

GAA Units