Official Aras Mumhan Website

Loading Events
  • This event has passed.

2022 Cork Senior Hurling Championship Final – St. Finbarrs 2-14 Blackrock 1-7

October 16, 2022 @ 4:00 pm - 6:00 pm

St. Finbarrs defeated Blackrock by 2-14 to 1-7 in the Cork Senior Hurling Championship Final on Sunday October 16th at Páirc Uí Chaoimh.

Cork SHC Final: Victory for The Barrs

St Finbarr’s 2-14 Blackrock 1-7

Second-half goals from Brian Hayes and Conor Cahalane were key as St Finbarr’s ended a 29-year wait for the Seán Óg Murphy Cup by beating Blackrock in Sunday’s Co-op SuperStores Cork Premier SHC final at Páirc Uí Chaoimh.

Having led by 0-9 to 1-5 at half-time against the 2020 champions, St Finbarr’s had to withstand early second-half pressure from Blackrock but Hayes’s goal, set up by Cahalane’s pass across the square, was massive in the context of the game.

Played in driving rain before a crowd of 15,165, the game had never had more than a three-point lead up to then. When Cahalane struck for the second Barrs goal on the three-quarter mark, the assist provided by the outstanding Ethan Twomey, the Togher side were 2-10 to 1-6 to the good against their southside rivals. With Blackrock only able to muster two points in the second half, the drought dating back to 1993 – when Barrs manager Ger Cunningham won the last of his six county medals – was over.

This was the first time since 1982 that the clubs had met in the decider – on that occasion St Finbarr’s won as part of a senior double and they will face Nemo Rangers in the Premier SFC final at the end of October. Ben Cunningham, son of Ger, shone as they amassed an early 0-4 t 0-1 lead but that was wiped out as Blackrock’s Tadhg Deasy laid on a goal for Mark O’Keeffe and the men in green and gold had the lead as Michael O’Halloran sent over a point immediately after that.

It was the only time they led, however, as the Barrs responded with three from Cunningham while Cork star Damien Cahalane produced a wonderful diving block on a Robbie Cotter shot. When Brian Hayes sent over a fine point on 25, it was 0-8 to 1-3 for the Barrs and, though Alan Connolly and Shane O’Keeffe brought Blackrock level, Twomey provided the pass for Cunningham’s sixth of the day to ensure the Barrs led at half-time.

Few could have expected them to sear ahead so strongly in the third quarter, but a point from sub William Buckley in the wake of Conor Cahalane’s goal had them 2-11 to 1-6 ahead. Though Shane O’Keeffe replied for Blackrock, they couldn’t find the goal needed to get them back into the game – Alan Connolly looked to have scored one but it was ruled out.

The Barrs pushed one with late scores from Cunningham (two) and Buckley to give them a 10-point lead by the end.

Scorers for St Finbarr’s: Ben Cunningham 0-9 (0-3 frees, 0-2 65), Brian Hayes 1-1, Conor Cahalane 1-0, William Buckley, Pádraig Buggy 0-2 each.

Scorers for Blackrock: Alan Connolly 0-3 (0-1 65), Mark O’Keeffe 1-0, Shane O’Keeffe 0-2, Michael O’Halloran, Daniel Meaney 0-1 each.

ST FINBARR’S: Shane Hurley; Jamie Burns, Cian Walsh, Eoin Keane; Glenn O’Connor, Damien Cahalane, Billy Hennessy; Ben O’Connor, Ethan Twomey; Pádraig Buggy, Conor Cahalane, Ben Cunningham; Eoghan Finn, Brian Hayes, Jack Cahalane.
Subs: William Buckley for Finn (48), Ciarán Doolan for Keane (55-56, temporary), S Cunningham for Buggy (60), Colm Keane for Jack Cahalane (60).

BLACKROCK: Gavin Connolly; Conor O’Brien, John Cashman, Stephen Murphy; Cathal Cormack, Alan O’Callaghan, Niall Cashman; Daniel Meaney, Mark O’Keeffe; Michael O’Halloran, Shane O’Keeffe, Tadhg Deasy; Kevin O’Keeffe, Robbie Cotter, Alan Connolly.
Subs: John O’Sullivan for Cotter (46), Ciarán Cormack for O’Halloran (53), David O’Farrell for M O’Keeffe (54).

Referee: Simon Stokes (Tullylease).


October 16, 2022
4:00 pm - 6:00 pm


Páirc Uí Chaoimh

GAA Units