Official Aras Mumhan Website

Loading Events
  • This event has passed.

2022 AIB Munster Club Intermediate Hurling Quarter-Final – Roscrea (Tipperary) 4-21 Ballysaggart (Waterford) 0-15

November 6, 2022 @ 1:30 pm - 3:30 pm

Roscrea (Tipperary) defeated Ballysaggart (Waterford) by 4-21 to 0-15 in the AIB Munster Club Intermediate Hurling Championship Quarter-Final on Sunday November 6th at FBD Semple Stadium Thurles.

Match Highlights

Roscrea power past Ballysaggart, Inniscarra await in Munster semi

Report by Michael Dundon for the Irish Examiner newspaper

Munster Club IHC quarter-final

Roscrea 4-21 Ballysaggart 0-15

A blistering start to the second half by Roscrea swept the Tipp champions to an impressive win over Ballysaggart of Waterford in the Munster Club intermediate hurling quarter final at Semple Stadium, Thurles on Sunday.

A lively first half saw Roscrea ahead at half-time 1-11 to 0-12, their goal by Shane Fletcher coming after just two minutes but Ballysaggart lost inter-county midfielder Shane Bennett to injury just before the break, a huge loss to the Waterford side.

Their challenge collapsed at the start of the second half as Roscrea hit them for 2-5 in a blistering nine-minute spell. Sam Conlon got the first goal after two minutes and Luke Cashin added another three minutes later as Roscrea surged 3-16 to 0-13 clear after 39 minutes.

There was no way back for Ballysaggart.

Conor Sheedy hit Roscrea’s fourth goal after 44 minutes to send them forward to the semi-final against Inniscarra of Cork on Nov 19th.

Roscrea’s Jason Gilmartin and Ballysaggart’s Liam O Gorman both got red cards after an injury time incident at the finish It was an impressive showing by Roscrea whose inside forward line bagged 3-9 between them, Conor Sheedy, Sam Conlon and Shane Fletcher all having starring roles.

Luke Cashin, Darragh Tynan, Daniel Ryan, Shane Davis and goalie Daryl Ryan also played big parts in the win.

The loss of Shane Bennett was a devastating blow to Ballysaggart for whom Stephen Bennett, Stephen Mangan, John Roche, and Darren Meagher were best.

Scorers for Roscrea: C Sheedy(1-6), L Cashin(1-6,2fs), S Conlon(1-2), S Fletcher(1-1), E Fitzpatrick(0-2), A Tynan, D Tynan, D Ryan, J Gilmartin(0-1 each);

Scorers for Ballysaggart: Stephen Bennett(0-9,6fs), Shane Bennett, S Mangan(0-2 each), D Meagher, J Roche(0-1 each);

Roscrea: Daryl Ryan; S Davis, K McMahon, J Synott; M Campion, D O Connor, D Tynan; Daniel Ryan, J Fitzpatrick; A Tynan, L Cashin, E Fitzpatrick; C Sheedy, S Fletcher, S Conlon.
Subs: J Carroll for Conlon(44mins), J Gilmartin for Fletcher(45mins), C Phelan for Synott(48mins), K Lee for J Fitzpatrick(48mins), C Shanahan for Cashin(56mins);

Balllysaggart: M Ryan; L O Gorman, D Meagher, J O Brien; J Roche, S Ryan, S Mangan; Shane Bennett, K Bennett; R Walsh, R Bennett, K Cashel; Stephen Bennett, K Fennessy, J Ryan.
Subs: T Nugent for Shane Bennett(32mins), J Cunningham for Cashel(57mins), E O Brien for Fennessy(57mins), S Nugent for J Ryan(59mins), C O Gorman for Walsh( 59mins);

Ref: S Stokes, Cork

Interview with Roscrea manager Liam England

Interview with Roscrea player Conor Sheedy

Ticket Information

General Admission – €10
Under 16s – Free admission when accompanied by an adult
There will be no cash sales at the venue.

Click here to pre-purchase tickets

Live Streaming Information

This game will be streamed live by Munster GAA TV at a cost of 10 euro.

Click here to purchase Live Streaming for this game


November 6, 2022
1:30 pm - 3:30 pm


FBD Semple Stadium Thurles

GAA Units