Official Aras Mumhan Website

Loading Events
  • This event has passed.

2020 Allianz Hurling League Division 1 Group A – Cork 2-24 Tipperary 1-25

February 1, 2020 @ 7:00 pm - 9:00 pm

Cork defeated Tipperary by 2-24 to 1-25 in Round 2 of the Allianz Hurling League Division 1 Group A on Saturday February 1st at Páirc Uí Chaoimh.

Match Highlights

Allianz HL D1: Cork edge out Tipp in cracker


Report By John Fallon for

All-Ireland champions Tipperary fell to a second defeat in a row in the Allianz League as Cork held off a late rally in a thrilling contest at Páirc Uí Chaoimh.

Cork recovered from the opening round loss to Waterford with a battling display which just about got them across the line.

The sides were level eight times in a highly entertaining opening half but a strong finish to the half saw Cork lead by 2-13 to 0-15 at the break.

Both teams thrived in the perfect weather and the superb surface at Páirc Uí Chaoimh and scores were struck from all angles and distances by both sides.

Cork held the edge in the opening quarter and led by 0-4 to 0-2 after seven minutes before the All-Ireland champions responded with three points in rapid succession from John McGrath and a couple from Paddy Cadell.

Robbie O’Flynn got the opening goal after eleven minutes after being put through by Alan Cadogan and points from Patrick Horgan and Cadogan saw the Rebels lead by double scores at 1-7 to 0-5 after 15 minutes.

Robbie O’Flynn Cork Goal

The response from Liam Sheedy’s men in front of a crowd of 9,821 was impressive as they hit five in a row with Jason Forde getting a brace and Mark Kehoe, McGrath and Ronan Maher hit the target to draw level eleven minutes from the interval. The sides then exchanged points four times before Paudie Maher’s second long-range effort pushed Tipperary 0-15 to 1-11 in front in injury-time at the end of the opening half.

But Cork finished strongly with Seamus Harnedy and Darragh Fitzgibbon pointing before Horgan dispatched a penalty to the bottom right corner of the net after O’Flynn was fouled by Sean O’Brien after a short puckout was overturned and that left Cork leading by 2-13 to 0-15 at the interval.

Patrick Horgan Penalty Goal for Cork

The sides continued to exchange points in the third quarter but Tipperary, having introduced Hurler of the Year Seamus Callanan, got the gap down to two going into the final quarter.

But another magnificent free from 80 metres on the right wing by Horgan left Cork leading by 2-19 to 0-22 with 14 minutes left in the game.

Another free from Horgan left Tipperary four adrift and while Forde and Morris responded, Horgan’s first point from play left Cork leading by a goal with seven minutes remaining.

McGrath flashed a goal chance over the bar and Cork went four in front when Fitzgibbon and Mark Coleman scored, but then Tipp got a lifeline when Kehoe was fouled by Bill Cooper and goalkeeper Brian Hogan came forward to blast the resultant penalty to the net and leave just a point between them after 68 minutes.

Brian Hogan Penalty Goal for Tipperary

Play was held up in the final minutes for an injury to John O’Dwyer. Seamus Harnedy doubled Cork’s lead to two deep into injury-time when play resumed while Tipp failed to convert goal chances from McGrath and Callanan in a hectic finish as Cork held on.

Scorers for Cork: Patrick Horgan 1-9 (0-8f, 1-0 pen), Robbie O’Flynn 1-3, Alan Cadogan 0-4, Darragh Fitzgibbon 0-2, Seamus Harnedy 0-2, Damien Cahalane 0-1, Aidan Walsh 0-1, Luke Meade 0-1, Mark Coleman 0-1.

Scorers for Tipperary: Mark Kehoe 0-4, John McGrath 0-4, Jason Forde 0-4 (3f), Brian Hogan 1-0 (1-0 pen), Paudie Maher 0-3, Paddy Cadell 0-2, Jake Morris 0-2, Cian Darcy 0-2, Ronan Maher 0-1 (1f), Jerome Cahill 0-1, Niall O’Meara 0-1, Alan Flynn 0-1.

CORK: Patrick Collins; Colm Spillane, Sean O’Donoghue, Robert Downey; Chris O’Leary, Tim O’Mahony, Bill Cooper; Damien Cahalane, Luke Meade; Seamus Harnedy, Robbie O’Flynn, Aidan Walsh; Alan Cadogan, Declan Dalton, Patrick Horgan
Subs: Darragh Fitzgibbon for Walsh (21), Mark Coleman for O’Mahony (27), Conor Lehane for Dalton (47), Shane Kingston for Meade (61).

TIPPERARY: Brian Hogan; Joe O’Dwyer, Ronan Maher, Sean O’Brien; Seamus Kennedy, Paudie Maher, Alan Flynn; Paddy Cadell, Willie Connors; Mark Kehoe, John McGrath, Michael Breen; Jason Forde, Jake Morris, Cian Darcy
Subs: Jerome Cahill for Cadell (27), Niall O’Meara for Breen (34), Seamus Callanan for Darcy (48), Brian O’Mara for Kennedy (53), John O’Dwyer for Forde (65), Paul Flynn for John O’Dwyer (76).

Referee: James Owens (Wexford).

Team News


February 1, 2020
7:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Event Tags:
, , , , ,


Páirc Uí Chaoimh

GAA Units