Official Aras Mumhan Website

Loading Events
  • This event has passed.

2019 Electric Ireland Munster Minor Football Championship Phase 1 Final – Clare 3-12 Tipperary 0-6

May 8, 2019 @ 7:00 pm - 9:00 pm

Clare defeated Tipperary by 3-12 to 0-6 in the 2019 Electric Ireland Munster Minor Football Championship Phase 1 Final on Wednesday May 8th at the LIT Gaelic Grounds Limerick.

Fahy and Nagle on target as ruthless Clare power past Tipp

Report by John Keogh for the Irish Examiner newspaper

Clare 3-12 – 0-6 Tipperary

Clare put in a superb performance to beat Tipperary on a 3-12 to 0-6 scoreline in the Munster Minor Football Championship Phase One final at the LIT Gaelic Grounds.

The damage was done in the first half as goals from Diarmuid Fahy and Dara Nagle saw Clare into a comprehensive advantage at the break.

Captain Shane Meehan was a menace at full forward and hit 0-3 in that opening half.

Meehan opened the scoring after just four minutes with his first free of the evening but Tipperary were soon back on level terms thanks to Kyle Shelly.

Clare took firm control moments later when Fahy broke through the Tipperary defence and shot low under James Griffin for their first goal.

Ben Comerford replied with a point for Tipperary but two Meehan efforts then put Clare 1-3 to 0-2 ahead with 21 minutes played.

The game was effectively put out of Tipperary’s reach six minutes before the break when Nagle fired in Clare’s second goal. Eoin Rouine and Fionn Kelliher combined to set up Nagle for a shooting chance and the half forward’s effort at goal dropped into the top corner beyond Griffin’s reach.

Tipperary’s cause wasn’t helped by some wayward shooting in the opening half hour with several scoreable frees failing to find the target.

Jamie Stack then got in on the act for Clare with two points on the bounce before McGroary sent over a sumptuous point to give his side a 2-6 to 0-2 half-time lead.

Tipperary got the opening score of the second half with Comerford landing a second long-range point.

Paddy Creedon then powered in on Oisin O’Loughlin for Tipperary’s first goal chance of the game but he was brilliantly denied by an excellent stop by the Clare keeper.

Tipperary sub Liam McCormack finally ended their placed ball woes but two Meehan points and 1-1 from Brendan Rouine killed Tipperary off with Clare’s third goal late on.

Scorers for Clare: S Meehan 0-5 (2f), B Rouine 1-1, D Fahy and D Nagle 1-0 each, J Stack (1f) and C McGroary 0-2 each, C Hassett and T Meenaghan 0-1 each.

Scorers for Tipperary: B Comerford and L McCormack (2f) 0-2 each, K Shelly and C Shanahan 0-1 each.

Clare: O O’Loughlin; T Lillis, M Garry, C McMahon; C McGroary, A Kileen, F Kelliher; E Rouine, B Rouine; C Hassett, D Fahy, D Nagle; E Talty, S Meehan, J Stack.
Subs: L Murphy for Talty (54), S Browne for Meehan (54), T Meenaghan for Fahy (57), K Crowley for Kelliher (60), E Walsh for Hassett (63).

Tipperary: J Griffin; C McDonagh, T Condon, E Butler; J Armstrong, D Hickey, C Shanahan; P Creedon, T Tobin; B Comerford, J Holloway, K Shelly; L Seacy, R Collins, E McCarthy.
Subs: L King for McCarthy (26), L McCormack for Holloway (26), J Lillis for Armstrong (h-t), J Corcoran for Tobin (h-t), D McCahey for Butler (37), C Cadell for Collins (46).

Referee: S Joy (Kerry)

Fixture Details

Wednesday May 8th
Electric Ireland Munster Minor Football Championship Phase 1 Final
Tipperary v Clare
Venue: LIT Gaelic Grounds @ 7pm
Referee: Sean Joy (Kerry)
Extra Time if Necessary (Result on the Day)

Admission Details

Adults – €10
Students / OAP’s – €5
Under 16s – Free

Team News

Clare Minor Football panel to play Tipperary

1.Oisin O’Loughlin O. Ó Lochlain (St. Breckans)
2.Tadgh Lillis, T. Ó Laighléis (Doonbeg)
3. Micheal Garry M. Mag Fhearaigh (Cooraclare)
4.Ciaran McMahon C. Mac Mathúna (Ennistymon)
5. Cillain McGroary C. Mag Ruairí (Corofin)
6. Alan Killeen A. Ó Cillin (St. Josephs Doora Barefield)
7. Fionn Kelliher, F. Ceillachair (St. Joseph’s Doora-Barefield)
8. Eoin Rouine E. Ó Ruaín (Ennistymon)
9. Brendan Rouine B. Ó Ruaín (Ennistymon)
10. Conor Hassett C O hAisi (Kildysart))
11. Diarmuid Fahy D. Ó Fathaigh (Ennistymon)
12. Dara Nagle D. de Nógla (St.Josephs Doora Barefield)
13. Eoin Talty E. O Taltaigh (St Josephs, Doora Barefield)
14.Shane Meehan S. Ó Miacháin (The Banner – Captain)
15. Jamie Stack S. Stac (St. Breckans)


16.Thomas Collins T. Ó Coileáin (Lissycasey)
17.Shane Browne S. DeBrun (O Curry’s)
18. Liam Murphy L O Murchu (Wolfe Tone na Sionna)
19. Tomas Meenaghan T. Mianain (The Banner)
20. Sean McNamara S MacConmara (Michael Cusacks)
21. Keith Crowley C. Crualaoich (Kilrush Shamrocks)
22. Eoin Walshe E Breathnach (The Banner)
23. Cathal Killeen C. O Cilin (Doonbeg)
24. Stephen Casey S. O Cathasaigh (Clondegad)

Extended Panel: Michael Comber (Kilmurry Ibrickane), Fergal Guinnane (Kildysart), Darragh Whelan (Newmarket On Fergus), Matthew Reidy (Shannon Gaels), Paddy Doherty (St Breckans)

Manager: Dermot Coughlan (Kilmurry Ibrickane)

Tipperary Minor Football panel to play Clare

1. James Griffin – Upperchurch-Drombane
2. Christy McDonagh – Cahir
3. Tadhg Condon – Clonmel Commercials
4. Emmet Butler – Kilsheelan-Kilcash
5. James Armstrong – Thurles Sarsfields
6. Donagh Hickey – Arravale Rovers
7. Conor Shanahan – Inane Rovers
8. Paddy Creedon (Vice-Capt.) – Thurles Sarsfields
9. Tom Tobin – Rosegreen
10. Luke Seacy – Inane Rovers
11. Rory Collins – Moyle Rovers
12. Ben Comerford – Grangemockler-Ballyneale
13. Eoin McCarthy – Clonmel Commercials
14. Kyle Shelly (Capt.) – Moycarkey-Borris
15. Jamie Holloway – Carrick Swan

16. Cian O’Mahony – Ardfinnan
17. Liam King – Ballinahinch
18. Darragh McCahey – Loughmore-Castleiney
19. Liam McCormack – Durlas Óg
20. Conor Cadell – JK Brackens
21. Jack Lillis – Drom & Inch
22. Jimmy Mullen – Drom & Inch
23. James Corcoran – JK Brackens
24. Mark O’Connor – Clonmel Commercials

Match Programme

Don’t forget to pick up a copy of the souvenir match programme for 2 euro.


May 8, 2019
7:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Event Tags:
, , , , , , , ,


LIT Gaelic Grounds

GAA Units