Official Aras Mumhan Website

11th March 2020

Maher and Steede claim overall prizes at AIB GAA Club Players’ Awards

Corofin’s Ronan Steede and Borris-Ileigh’s Brendan Maher have been announced as the AIB GAA Club Players of the Year in football and hurling.

The overall prizes were announced on Friday night at a special function to honour all of the players named earlier this week on the AIB GAA Club Players’ Awards team of the year in both codes.

There was no fairytale AIB GAA All-Ireland club hurling final ending for Brendan Maher, but that still does not take from the phenomenal season enjoyed by the Borris-Ileigh man.

Right throughout their Munster and All-Ireland campaigns it was the timely and often eye-catching interventions of the versatile Maher that so often provided the inspiration that Borris-Ileigh needed.

The Tipperary star saw off stiff competition from Ballyhale Shamrocks duo TJ Reid and Evan Shefflin to claim the overall award.

Ronan Steede saw off competition from clubmate and previous winner Liam Silke and Kilcoo’s Darryl Branagan to claim the overall football prize.

Having formed a formidable partnership with Daithí Burke, Steede was a thorn in the side of opposition teams right throughout their campaign, with his ability to storm forward from midfield and support the attack proving a real asset for the All-Ireland three in a row winning Galway side.

The awards were judged by a team of national GAA media from across, print, digital, TV and radio and were presented at Croke Park last night at a function hosted by Uachtarán CLG John Horan and AIB’s Head of Consumer Management Denis O’Callaghan.

GAA Units