Official Aras Mumhan Website

Dr. Harty Cup – Our Lady’s Templemore 0-20 Charleville CBS 1-15

Thursday 15 October 2015

Narrow defeat for Charleville in Harty Cup

Our Lady’s Templemore 0-20 Charleville CBS 1-15

Report by Paddy Ryan

Our Lady’s Templemore had a close win over Charleville CBS in the opening round Munster Senior A HC (Harty Cup) at Claughaun on Wednesday. It was very keenly contested with the sides deadlocked on 3 occasions in each half. Jamie Bergin was very accurate from frees for the winners. Charleville got off to a good start with early points from long range by P J Herr and Paddy O’Loughlan (free). Templemore opened with a pointed free by Jamie Bergin. Brian McGrath landed a long range pointed free before Jamie Bergin levelled 0-3 each after 12 minutes.

Click to view photos from the game

Both sides exchanged points as the sides were level 0-4 and 0-5 each. Templemore shaded matters at midfield and their attack were in regular supply. They moved two points clear entering the last few minutes of this half. In the 27th minute good play by Paddy O’Loughlan placed Jack Barry who soloed through for a great goal that gave the North Cork side an interval lead 1- 10 to 0-11.

Templemore levelled on the resumption through Jamie Bergin and Stephen Nolan. Exchanges continued to be very close as the sides were deadlocked 1-11 to 0-14 and 1-12 to 0- 15 entering the final quarter. In the 50th and 52nd minutes Jamie Bergin pointed two frees. Sean Griffin with a pointed free left just a point between the sides 0-17 to 1-13 with 5 minutes to go. Charleville lacked scoring power up front and were unable to get on level terms. In the end it was Templemore who were winners by a two point margin.

Scorers for Our Lady’s Templemore: J Bergin 0-10f. S Nolan 0-3 P Bergin 0-2, A O’Meara 0-2, B McGrath 0-1f, J Kelly 0-1, R Natkaniec 0-1.
Charleville CBS: P O’Loughlan 0-7 (0-5f. 0-1 ’65) J Barry 1-3 (0-1f) P J Herr 0 -2, A Fitzgerald 0-1, J Geary 0-1, S Griffin 0-1f.

OUR LADY’S TEMPLEMORE : J Kennedy (J K Bracken’s) E Ryan (Loughmore-Castleiney) D Ryan (Clonakenny) C O’Meara (Drom-Inch) N Quinlan (J K Bracken’s) B McGrath (Loughmore-Castleiney) T Murphy (J K Bracken’s) K Hassett (Drom-Inch) D O’Shea (J K Bracken’s) J Bergin (Drom-Inch) A Ryan (Loughmore-Castleiney) P Bergin (Drom-Inch) A O’Meara (do) J Kelly (Borrisoleigh) S Nolan (Drom-Inch)
Subs : R Natkaniec (J K Bracken’s) for A Ryan, R McCormack (Borrisoleigh) for J Kelly.

CHARLEVILLE CBS : C Collins (Charleville) E Sheehy (Granagh-Ballingarry) J Doyle (Charleville) J O’Callaghan (do) P J Herr (Effin) P O’Loughlan (Kilmallock) J Meade (Charleville) D Guiney (Newtownshandrum) F Cagney (Charleville) A Fitzgerald (Bruree) J Barry (Charleville) J Geary (Newtownshandrum) S Buckley (Charleville) S Griffin (Newtownshandrum) J Copps (Ballyhea).
Subs : J Fitzgerald (Croom) for S Buckley, K Laffan (Croom) for A Fitzgerald.

Referee Richard Moloney (Bruree)

GAA Units