Official Aras Mumhan Website

Camogie All-Star Nominations announced

Wednesday 14 October 2009


The nominations for the 2009 Camogie All Stars in association with O’Neill’s were announced today with All-Ireland champions Cork being rewarded with 12 nominations and defeated finalists Kilkenny receiving 11 nominations. Galway are next with nine while National League champions Wexford have five. Tipperary get three nominations and Clare two. Derry, Limerick and Dublin make up the rest of the 45 nominations.

The winners will be announced at a gala banquet in the Citywest Hotel on Saturday, 7th November.

Cork’s Gemma O’Connor is in line for an incredible sixth consecutive All Star, while Rebel full forward Emer O’Farrell is looking to secure her first. Their team mates Aoife Murray, Cathriona Foley, Briege Corkery and leading championship scorer Rachel Moloney are amongst those seeking back-to-back awards.

Kilkenny, who contested their first final since 2001, have players nominated in all but four positions including Aoife Neary who was the Cats’ sole recipient in 2008. Other nominees include captain Ann Dalton, her midfield partner Collette Dormer, Elaine Aylward and Katie Power.

Beaten semi-finalists Galway look to Aislinn Connolly, Therese Maher and the Kilkenny sisters, Orla and Niamh.

18-year-old Katrina Parrock is rewarded for the first time following an exceptional season with Wexford. The National League champions also have Rose Marie Breen among their nominations. Tipperary’s early season form when qualifying for the league final sees Cait Devane, Claire Grogan and Joanne Ryan in contention.

Clare have two nominations in Chloe Morey and Deirdre Murphy, while Grainne McGoldrick is seeking to join Derry’s only other recipient Aisling Diamond who was an All Star in 2007. Dublin and Limerick also have one each. In all, nine counties are represented.

Commenting on today’s announcement, Joan O’Flynn, President of Cumann Camógaíochta na nGael said, “This year’s Gala All Ireland senior and intermediate championships have been of very high quality. The championship season produced exciting games, close finishes and great skill with Cork and Galway respectively claiming the senior and intermediate titles.

“I am delighted that 45 players from nine counties receive national recognition as All Star nominees. During the season these players’ excellence stood out. We are looking forward to the announcement of the winners on November 7.”



Susan Earner (Galway)

Aoife Murray (Cork)

Catriona Ryan (Kilkenny)


Rena Buckley (Cork)

Deirdre Codd (Wexford)

Catherine Doherty (Kilkenny)

Leann Fennelly (Kilkenny)

Cathriona Foley (Cork)

Jacqui Frisby (Kilkenny)

Regina Glynn (Galway)

Catherine O’Loughlin (Wexford)

Joanne O’Callaghan (Cork)


Elaine Aylward (Kilkenny)

Sinead Cahalan (Galway)

Ann Marie Hayes (Galway)

Sara Hayes (Cork)

Niamh Kilkenny (Galway)

Lizzie Lyng (Kilkenny)

Chloe Morey (Clare)

Mary O’Connor (Cork)

Louise O’Hara (Dublin)


Briege Corkery (Cork)

Orla Cotter (Cork)

Anne Dalton (Kilkenny)

Collette Dormer (Kilkenny)

Kate Kelly (Wexford)

Deirdre Murphy (Clare)


Cait Devane (Tipperary)

Brenda Hanney (Galway)

Edwina Keane (Kilkenny)

Therese Maher (Galway)

Niamh Mulcahy (Limerick)

Gemma O’Connor (Cork)

Katrina Parrock (Wexford)

Katie Power (Kilkenny)

Joanne Ryan (Tipperary)


Rose Marie Breen (Wexford)

Sile Burns (Cork)

Aislinn Connolly (Galway)

Claire Grogan (Tipperary)

Orla Kilkenny (Galway)

Grainne McGoldrick (Derry)

Rachel Moloney (Cork)

Aoife Neary (Kilkenny)

Emer O’Farrell (Cork)

GAA Units