Official Aras Mumhan Website

Tipperary GAA Archives web site launched

Monday 21 September 2009

Tipperary County Board Press Release – September 21st 2009

Tipperary Archives Website –

Tipperary County Board is pleased to announce the launch of a new Tipperary GAA Archives web site,, which records details of Tipperary championship teams since 1886 and Tipperary County and Divisional Rolls of Honour since competitions began.

The new website was launched on Saturday September 19th at a function in the Anner Hotel Thurles by County Chairman, Barry O’Brien. The initiative was sponsored by the Tipperary GAA 125 Committee chaired by Seamus J. King. Among the guests at the launch was Jimmy Butler Coffey of Newport, who will be 100 years old later this year and is the last surviving member of the Tipperary team which won the All Ireland Senior Hurling Championship in 1937.

The archives site includes a list of every player who was part of a Tipperary Championship team from Minor up to Senior level in Hurling and Football since 1886. The list of over 17,000 players was compiled over the past couple of years by PJ Maxwell, an underage All Ireland hurling medallist with Tipperary and captain of the Tipperary team which won the 1980 Munster Under 21 Hurling Final. Thanks to the assistance of the clubs in Tipperary, over 90% of the players will include the correct Christian name also.

The new web site will also include the Divisional and County Championship Roll of Honour for all grades in Hurling and Football from Minor C grade all the way up to Senior since each competition began. This list was compiled by former County PRO and current Tipperary I.T. Committee Chairman, Ed Donnelly, from numerous sources and again, thanks to the assistance of the clubs, the name of the winning captain is included for over 75% of all County Champions.

All Ireland senior hurling medallist, former All-Star and current Tipperary Minor Hurling Manager, Mark O’Leary, set up the web site and supporting database. The use of modern technology will ensure that not only can the information be easily searched online but the web site can be updated in real-time

Tipperary County Board would like to thank the 125 Committee for sponsoring this initiative and to thank most sincerely PJ, Ed and Mark for their dedication to the project. It has required painstaking research and will be a very valuable reference point for anybody interested in Tipperary GAA.

Queries and feedback should be directed to Ed Donnelly, Chairman Tipperary IT Committee, at or 087-2055642 or to Ger Ryan, PRO, Tipperary County Board at or 086 8149146.

Ger Ryan

PRO, Tipperary County Board

Tel: 086 8149146


GAA Units