Official Aras Mumhan Website

Torch Run – 125th Anniversary Celebrations

Sunday 12 July 2009

The Munster Council organised a successful Torch Run on Saturday July 11th on the eve of the 2009 Munster Senior Hurling Final.

The Torch Run started at Michael Cusack’s cottage in Carron, Co. Clare at 12 noon and travelled on a special “Torchmobile” between towns and villages between Carron and Thurles for the following 9 hours. The torch was carried through the towns and villages by the local clubs.

At 11:00am, there was an unveiling of Plaque at Michael Cusack Centre by Jimmy O’Gorman, Chairman Munster GAA, Mick O’Neill, Chairman of Clare GAA and Martin O’Loughlin, Chairman Michael Cusack Centre. The torch was lit at 11:45am by Jimmy O’Gorman, Chairman of the Munster Council before Jimmy O’Gorman and Mick O’Neill took it on its first leg from The Michael Cusack Centre to the Road.

The following Clubs took the Torch on its journey

Clare – Michael Cusack Club: Kildenora: Corofin: Ruane: Innagh/Kilnamona, Kilmaley: The Banner: Clarecastle: Newmarket: Wolfe Tones, Shannon: Six Mile Bridge: Cratloe: Meelick
Limerick – Na Piarsaigh, Claughaun Club, St. Patrick’s, Milford, Monaleen Club, Ahane
Tipperary – Newport, Sean Treacys, Upperchurch-Drombane, Holycross-Ballycahill, Durlas Og, Thurles KRF and Thurles Sarsfields

The Torch arrived in Liberty Square after 9:00pm led by the Sean Treacy Pipe Band Moycarkey and was received by Barry O’Brien Chairman of Tipperary County Board.

On Sunday, the Torch was carried by former hurlers from all the Munster Counties – Christy Walsh (Kerry), Eamonn Grimes (Limerick), David Duggan, (Waterford), Anthony Daly (Clare), Teddy McCarthy (Cork) – with Jimmy Doyle of Thurles Sarsfields and Tipperary fame carrying it into the Stadium between the minor and senior game for presentation to the Chairman of the Munster Council, Jimmy O’Gorman. Jimmy then lit 6 mini torches which were held by the Chairmen of the 6 Munster County Boards.

GAA Units