Electric Ireland All-Ireland Minor Hurling Championship Semi-Final – Kilkenny 1-23 Waterford 1-14

Kilkenny defeated Waterford by 1-23 to 1-14 after extra time in the Electric Ireland All-Ireland Minor Hurling Championship Semi-Final on Sunday August 10th at Croke Park.

MHC Semi-Final: Kilkenny through to final

Electric Ireland All-Ireland Minor Hurling Championship Semi-Final: Kilkenny 1-23 Waterford 1-14 (AET)

Report from GAA.ie

Kilkenny are through to the All-Ireland Minor final for the first time since 2010 after an extra-time defeat of Waterford at Croke Park on Sunday.
After the sides finished level at the end of normal time, Kilkenny having forced extra-time thanks to a late Alan Murphy 65, substitute John Walsh scored the decisive goal for the Cats in the second half of extra-time.

Murphy chipped in with a superb haul from placed balls for Pat Hoban’s charges, who lost to Waterford by two points at the same stage last year.
Kilkenny were 0-9 to 0-4 ahead after 24 minutes despite hitting several poor wides in the opening stages.

Waterford struggled against the strong breeze, but their midfielder Andy Molumby registered two excellent scores from play, before Shane Ryan and Colm Roche had the gap down to three with two quick-fire scores.

Murphy rounded off the first half scoring with a free, his fourth of the game, and Kilkenny had a four-point lead, 0-10 to 0-6, at the break, but Hoban’s charges probably would have hoped for more having dominated the game with the elements behind them.

Waterford started the second half with a bang when Shane Bennett cut through the Kilkenny defence and slammed a shot to the back of the net. Kilkenny had a goal chance of their own three minutes later, but Murphy sent a glorious chance wide.

When Cormac Curran put Waterford ahead in the 58th minute, it looked like an even more costly miss. However, when Walsh’s late shot was well saved by Waterford goalkeeper Billy Nolan, Murphy pointed the resultant 65 to send the game to extra-time.

Blanchfield opened the scoring in the first period of extra-time with a glorious point, before Murphy added two more scores from placed balls as the Cats led by 0-19 to 1-14 at the break.

Four minutes into the second period of extra-time, Mullinivat man Walsh caught a high ball into the full-forward line, ran straight at the Waterford goal and kicked the sliotar home.

Kilkenny totally dominated the closing stages, with Murphy and Blanchfield, in particular, adding to their personal hauls, and the Cats ran out nine-point winners.
Scorers for Kilkenny: A Murphy 0-11 (0-3 65, 0-7 f), J Walsh 1-1, L Blanchfield 0-5, S Morrissey 0-2, R Corcoran 0-2, C Browne 0-1, B Ryan 0-1.

Scorers for Waterford: P Curran 0-6 (0-5f), S Bennett 1-0, A Molumby 0-3, C Curran 0-2, S Ryan 0-1, C Roche 0-1, E Meaney 0-1.

KILKENNY: Darren Brennan; Tommy Walsh, Conor Delaney, Cathal McGrath; Pat Lyng, Jason Cleere, Darragh Joyce; Conor Browne, Luke Scanlon; Seán Morrissey, Ross Butler, Billy Ryan; Alan Murphy, Liam Blanchfield, Ronan Corcoran
Subs: John Walsh for B Ryan (37), Eoin Kenny for R Butler (40), Andrew Gaffney for C Browne (56), Billy Ryan for A Gaffney (68), Conor Browne for R Corcoran (76).

WATERFORD: Billy Nolan, David Prendergast, Eddie Hayden, Michael Cronin; Conor Prunty, Conor Gleeson, Jack Mullaney; Darragh Lyins, Andy Molumpy; Shane Bennett, Colm Roche, Cormac Curran; Peter Hogan, Patrick Curran, Shane Ryan
Subs: Eddie Meaney for S Ryan (38), Shane Murray for J Mullaney (49), Shane Ryan for C Roche (73), Aaron O’Sullivan for P Hogan (74)

Referee: John Keenan (Wicklow)
Report: Brian Murphy

Team News

Waterford Minor Hurling Team to play Kilkenny in the All Ireland Minor Hurling Semi Final on Sunday has been named following training tonight.

1. Billy Nolan Roanmore
2. David Prendergast Lismore
3. Eddie Hayden Ballygunner
4. Michael Cronin Ardmore
5. Conor Prunty Abbeyside
6. Conor Gleeson Fourmilewater
7. Jack Mullaney Stradbally
8. Darragh Lyons Dungarvan
9. Andy Molumby Cappoquin
10. Shane Bennett Ballysaggart
11. Colm Roche Shamrocks
12. Cormac Curran Brickey Rangers
13. Peter Hogan Ballygunner
14. Patrick Curran Dungarvan
15. Shane Ryan (Capt.) De Le Salle