Masita GAA All-Ireland Post Primary Schools Dr. Eamonn O’Sullivan Cup Senior C Football Final – Coláiste Ghobnatan, Baile Bhúirne (Cork) 1-12 Ardee CS (Louth) 2-6

Coláiste Ghobnatan, Baile Bhúirne (Cork) defeated Ardee CS (Louth) by 1-12 to 2-6 in the Masita GAA All-Ireland Post Primary Schools Dr. Eamonn O’Sullivan Cup Senior C Football Final on Saturday April 5th at O’Moore Park Portlaoise.

Source: Post Primary GAA

Rebel youngsters hold off Ardee

Coláiste Ghobnatan, Baile Mhic Íre (Cork) 1-12 Ardee Community School (Louth) 2-6
(Dr Eamonn O’Sullivan Cup Schools SFC ‘C’ Final)

Report from the Irish Independent newspaper

Coláiste Ghobnatan survived Ardee’s 1-4 in the final minutes to be crowned All-Ireland winners in O’Moore Park, Portlaoise. Trailing by eight points in the final throes of the game, Ardee threw everything at the opposition.

A rousing 1-3 from Ryan Burns brought them to within two points with six minutes left to play, but two insurance points from Dan O Duinnín and Micheal O Deasuna – who finished with 0-4 – steadied the ship as Coláiste Ghobnatan claimed the title.

Scorers – Coláiste Ghobnatan: D Ó hUrdail 1-2, M Ó Deasúna 0-4 (2fs), D Ó Duinnín 0-3 (1f), C Ó Murchú 0-2, D Ó Ceallaigh 0-1. Ardee CS: R Burns 1-4 (2fs), R Rooney 1-0, M Duffy, K Traynor 0-1 each.

COLÁISTE GHOBNATAN – G Ó Luasa; T Ó hÁileasa, G Ó Goillí, A Ó Murchú; E Ó Loingsigh, D Ó Donnchú, A Ó Cuana; M Ó Duinnín, M Ó Deasúna; D Ó hUrdail, D Ó Ceallaigh, T Ó Corcora; C Ó Murchú, D Ó Duinnín, P Ó Liathain
Subs: P Ó Criodáin for Ó Cuana (BC, 47), G Ó Faoláin for Ó Liathain (54).

ARDEE CS – N Carrie; D Carroll, C Clarke, J Matthews; B Matthews, C Keenan, M Keenan; R Rooney, R Ward; E Keenan, M Duffy, D McConnon; R Burns, A Caraher, J Caraher
Subs: K Traynor for M Keenan (17), M McNulty for Duffy (43), D Conlon for Matthews (51).

REF – M Deegan (Laois)

Source: Post Primary GAA

Match Preview

Saturday is a massive day for Post Primary Schools Gaelic football with the Dr Eamonn O’Sullivan Cup Final (Senior Football ‘C’) between Cork’s Coláiste Ghobnatan, Baile Mhic Íre and Louth’s Ardee CS taking place in Ó Moore Park Portlaoise at 2pm.

It’s a first final at this level for the Cork side whose defenders have so far been the corner stone of their team. “Our goalkeeper Gearóid Ó Luasa has yet to concede a goal in the 5 games so far in the competition, but the defence will have to be at their very best to keep out a razor sharp Ardee forward line, containing Louth U-21 player Ryan Burns,” says mentor Shane Ó Duinneacha. “They have been putting up huge scores in their journey to the final.”

The majority of the panel are supplied by the local parishes of Cill Na Martra and Naomh Abán, but a big squad has been needed for a journey which has taken them past Lisdoonvarna (Clare), St. John The Baptist (Limerick), Rice College, (Ennis) and Thurles CBS.

They had much to play for in the Munster final as the cup presented for this newly formed competition was designated the Shane Murphy Memorial Cup. Shane is a dearly departed team-mate of many of the current side who passed away tragically while playing for the school in December 2012. This buoyed them for an All-Ireland semi-final win against Ballinamore CS who had nine Leitrim – and two Cavan – county minors.

Mickey Ned O’Sullivan is over the side, for whom midfielders Maidhc Ó Duinnín and Micheál Ó Deasúna are playing outstanding football.