AIB Munster GAA Hurling Intermediate Club Championship Quarter Final – Effin (Limerick) 0-13 Dunhill (Waterford) 1-4

Laboured Dunhill fall at first provincial hurdle

By Thomas Keane for the Munster Express newspaper

Effin (Limerick) 0-13; Dunhill 1-4

Waterford clubs’ poor run of results in the Munster Club Intermediate Hurling Championship continued at Walsh Park on Sunday last when Dunhill were well-beaten by Effin. Effin’s full-forward proved to be the main difference between the sides in this game. Thomas Quaid throughout the day was impeccable with his striking of frees. Over the course of the hour he hit nine in total, a tally which in no small part in securing victory for his side.

Next Round – the winners play Aherlow (Tipperary) in the Munster Club Semi-Final on Sunday November 6th at 2:00pm in Kilmallock.

For the Record

Effin (Limerick) Dunhill (Waterford)
Number of Munster Club Intermediate Hurling titles
(by County)
1 0
Last Munster Intermediate Hurling Title (by County) 2009 N/A
Munster Club Intermediate Hurling Championship Record since 2000 for each county’s representative Played – 11
Won – 4
Lost –  7
Drawn – 0
Played – 8
Won – 2
Lost –  6
Drawn – 0
Last meeting in the Munster Club Intermediate Hurling Championship involving participating county representatives November 20th 2005 at Lismore (Munster Club Semi-Final) – Ballyduff Upper (Waterford) 1-20
Granagh Ballingarry (Limerick) 2-9
Winning Streaks Limerick clubs have won 3 of their last 4 matches in this grade after losing 5 games in a row from 2004 to 2008. Waterford’s only victories in this competition since it began came courtesy of Ballyduff Upper in 2005, winning 2 matches on their way to the final where they lost to Ballinhassig of Cork.

Munster GAA HURLING Club Intermediate Championship 2011

Quarter-Finals (Extra time)

Sunday October 30th (Replay date – Saturday November 5th)

@ Cloughduv                                   Courcey Rovers (Cork) v Ballyduff (Kerry) 2:00pm

@ Walsh Park Waterford Effin (Limerick) v Dunhill (Waterford) 2:00pm

Semi-Finals (Extra time)
Sunday November 6th (Replay date – Saturday November 12th)

@ Tipperary or Limerick venue     Aherlow (Tipperary) v Effin (Limerick) or Dunhill (Waterford)

@ Clare or Kerry venue Eire Og Ennis (Clare) v
Courcey Rovers (Cork) or Ballyduff (Kerry)

Final (Extra time)

Sunday November 20th (Replay date – Saturday November 26th)

2:00pm throw-in

Odds and Ends

Since the competition began in 2003, Cork clubs have won 4 of the 8 Munster titles on offer. Clare are the only other county with a winning record in this competition, winning 2 Munster titles.

Following Kildangan’s Munster and All-Ireland victory in 2004, Tipperary clubs would have to wait another 6 years before winning another game in this competition courtesy of Borrisokane’s march to the 2010 Final.

Cork have only lost their opening match in this competition on 2 occasions, in 2004 and 2007.

In the 3 seasons, 2006 to 2008 in this competition, the only 2 Counties who recorded victories were Cork and Clare. Limerick, Waterford, Kerry and Tipperary proceeded to lose 8 matches between them in this period.

Munster GAA Club HURLING Intermediate Championship Roll Of Honour

Cork (4) – 2003, 2005, 2008, 2010

Clare (2) – 2006, 2007

Tipperary (1) – 2004

Limerick (1) – 2009

Munster GAA Club HURLING Intermediate Championship

List of Winning Teams

Visit the Munster GAA web site History section to view the complete list of each winning team since the competition began 1888 –

All Ireland GAA Club HURLING Intermediate Championship

In the Club Intermediate Hurling All Ireland Roll of Honour, Cork have secured 2 titles courtesy of Blarney