Official Aras Mumhan Website

Loading Events
  • This event has passed.

Munster Senior Football Quarter-Final – Clare 1-13 Limerick 1-12

May 28, 2017 @ 3:30 pm - 5:30 pm

Clare defeated Limerick by 1-13 to 1-12 in the Munster Senior Football Championship Quarter-Final on Sunday May 28th at Cusack Park Ennis.

Munster SFC: Clare edge out Limerick


Report By Peter O’Connell for

Clare scraped into a second successive Munster semi-final meeting with Kerry when they held on for a one point win over Limerick in Cusack Park.

Clare were four points ahead in the second minute of injury time when Limerick’s Seán O’Dea intercepted a Joe Hayes kick out. O’Dea placed substitute Josh Ryan and his goal reduced the deficit to a single point. Limerick had a chance to fashion an equaliser but Seán McSweeney’s shot went high and wide, when a bit more patience might have been the better option.

Twelve minutes from time Clare led by six points, 1-11 to 0-8 and a Limerick comeback looked very unlikely. However that Ryan goal left Clare clinging on in in injury time.

In a game which was played in front of an attendance of 2,968, the home team led 1-8 to 0-6 at half-time. Eoin Cleary put away their goal in the ninth minute. He held off Limerick corner-back Daniel Daly, collected a Jamie Malone long delivery and applied a right footed finish.

Keelan Sexton pointed two quality points for Clare in that half, while Pearse Lillis also pointed, raiding from wing back. A feature of the first half was the fact that while Limerick gave the ball away sixteen times, Clare were much more efficient in this respect, turning over just five first half possessions.

However Limerick could have goaled twice in that half, with David Ward shooting low and wide in the 22nd minute, while in first half injury time Seamus O’Carroll had a shot saved by Joe Hayes, who diverted it around for a 45. Eoin Cleary kicked Clare six points ahead immediately after half-time but the home county then dropped the tempo and the following 15 minutes were scoreless, until Danny Neville kicked a Limerick point.

Clare had two goalscoring chances with Jamie Malone and Keelan Sexton not taking full advantage of good opportunities. Sexton produced a good save from Limerick goalkeeper Donal O’Sullivan, nine minutes from time. A goal at that juncture would have finished Limerick but instead they stayed in the game and Ryan’s late goal almost helped them to rescue at least a replay.

Both teams went short with most of their kick outs and the game featured just one mark. In fact both struggled to retain their own kick outs, on the rare occasions that they went long.

Clare will have to improve radically if they are to compete with Kerry on Sunday week, while Limerick will have to wait until the weekend of June 24 before they return to championship action in the All-Ireland qualifiers.

Scorers for Clare: Eoin Cleary 1-4 (2f), David Tubridy 0-4 (2f), Keelan Sexton 0-3 (1 ’45), Sean Collins 0-1, Pearse Lillis 0-1.

Scorers for Limerick: Josh Ryan 1-1, Seamus O’Carroll 0-3 (1 sideline), Danny Neville 0-2, Ger Collins 0-2 (1f), Darragh Treacy 0-1, James Naughton 0-1, Sean O’Dea 0-1, Iain Corbett 0-1.

CLARE: Joe Hayes; Dean Ryan, Kevin Harnett, Martin McMahon; Pearse Lillis, Gordon Kelly, John Hayes; Gary Brennan (C), Cathal O’Connor; Shane Brennan, Seán Collins, Jamie Malone; Eoin Cleary, David Tubridy, Keelan Sexton
Subs: Liam Markham for O’Connor (60), Gearóid O’Brien for Collins (65), Seanie Malone for Tubridy (69).

LIMERICK: Donal O’ Sullivan, Daniel Daly, Johnny McCarthy, Seán O’Dea, Paul White, Iain Corbett (C), Brian Fanning; Darragh Treacy, David Ward; Peter Nash, James Naughton, Garrett Noonan; Seamus O’Carroll, Danny Neville, Ger Collins
Subs: Josh Ryan for Ward (42), Seán McSweeney for Nash (46), Jamie Lee for Naughton (57), Tony McCarthy for Daniel Daly (60), Padraig Scanlon for Collins (62), Padraig Quinn for O’Carroll (67).

Referee: Cormac Reilly (Meath)

Ticket Information

Adult Pre Purchase (available until midnight Saturday May 27): €15.00
Adult Match Day: €20.00
Juveniles Under 16: Free
Students/Senior Citizens: Receive a €5.00 rebate on full price tickets at the gate with valid I.D

This is an unreserved fixture.

Click here to buy tickets online

Fixture Details

28.05.2017 (Sun)
Munster GAA Football Senior Championship Quarter-Final
Cusack Park, Ennis 15:30
An Clár v Luimneach
Referee: Cormac Reilly (An Mhí)

Team News

Limerick senior football manager Billy Lee and his selectors has released their starting fifteen and match panel for this Sundays clash with Clare for the Munster senior football championship quarter final. Billy Lee and his selectors Paudie Kissane, Brian Begley and Ricky Ronayne has released the following team and match panel game for the Cusack Park Ennis clash at 3.30pm.

1. Donal O Sullivan (Monaleen), 2. Daniel Daly (Fr Caseys), 3. Johnny McCarthy (St Kierans), 4. Sean O Dea (Kilteely/Dromkeen), 5. Paul White (Rathkeale), 6. Iain Corbett (Newcastle West) (Captain), 7. Brian Fanning (Pallasgreen), 8. Darragh Treacy (St Kierans), 9. David Ward (Fr Caseys), 10. Peter Nash (Kildimo/Pallaskernry), 11. James Naughton (St. Senans), 12. Garrett Noonan (Dromcollogher/Broadford), 13. Seamus O Carroll (Castleknock), 14. Danny Neville (Ballysteen), 15. Ger Collins (Monaleen).
Subs: 16. Brian Scanlon (Gerald Griffin’s), 17. Tony McCarthy (Kildimo/Pallaskenry), 18. Padraig Quinn (Monaleen), 19. Jamie Lee (Newcastle West), 20. Padraig Scanlon (Glin), 21. Josh Ryan (Oola), 22. Sean McSweeney (St Kierans), 23. Padraig De Brún (Firies), 24. Sean Sheehan (Rathkeale), 25. Bill Creamer (Cappamore), 26. Jamie McGarry (Claughaun).


They meet for a second successive year in the Munster championship, with Clare having won by three points in the Gaelic Grounds last May. It was their third successive championship win by the Bannermen, leaving Limerick seeking their first win over their neighbours since 2009.

2016: Clare 0-16 Limerick 0-13 (Munster quarter-final)
2015: Clare 0-15 Limerick 0-13 (Munster quarter-final)
2012: Clare 1-13 Limerick 0-15 (Munster semi-final)
2009: Limerick 1-13 Clare 1-9 (Munster semi-final)
2006: Limerick 2-5 Clare 0-8 (Munster quarter-final)

Clare finished fifth (2 wins, 1 draw, 4 defeats) in Division 2 of this year’s Allianz League. Limerick finished fourth in Division 4 (4 wins, 3 defeats).

  • The winners play Kerry in the Munster semi-final on June 10/11.
  • Colm Collins is in his fourth season as Clare manager; Billy Lee lads Limerick into the championship for the first time.

    It’s 21-10 in Clare’s favour with five draws from the previous 36 championship games between the counties

    Match Programme

    Don’t forget to pick up a copy of the 32 page souvenir match programme.


    May 28, 2017
    3:30 pm - 5:30 pm
    Event Tags:
    , , , , , , , , ,

    GAA Units