Official Aras Mumhan Website

Loading Events
  • This event has passed.

Electric Ireland Munster Minor Football Championship Semi-Final – Kerry 2-17 Cork 1-10

May 10, 2017 @ 7:00 pm - 9:00 pm

Kerry defeated Cork by 2-17 to 1-10 in the Electric Ireland Munster Minor Football Championship Semi-Final on Wednesday May 10th at Pairc Ui Rinn.

Kerry run rule over Cork to claim impressive win in Páirc Uí Rinn

Report By Eoghan Cormican for the Irish Examiner newspaper

Kerry 2-17 Cork 1-10

For the second time in as many months, a Kerry team travelled to Páirc Uí Rinn and all but obliterated the home outfit. There was 16-points between the two counties at the end of the Munster U21 final in late April and while this Munster minor semi-final win wasn’t as comprehensive, it was every bit as impressive.

David Clifford proved the headline act, the Firies full-forward terrorising the Cork defence during an hour’s fare where he helped himself to 2-8, just 0-3 of that total arriving via the dead ball. The travelling defence also played a significant role in advancing the reigning All-Ireland champions into the Munster decider, routinely hunting down Cork forwards in packs of three and four.

That said, Cork engineered the dream start for themselves when Evan Murphy put the ball in the back of the Kerry net 10 seconds after the throw-in. It was to prove a false dawn, however, as the home side failed to add to their tally during the subsequent quarter of an hour.

The visitors, during this period, kicked 1-6 on the bounce as David Clifford and Donal O’Sullivan led the Cork defence on a merry dance. This pair landed the three points which cancelled out Murphy’s early rocket and it was Clifford who propelled Kerry in front on seven minutes, holding off full-back William Ronan and slipping the ball past ‘keeper Kevin McMahon.

The full-forward would also provide their second goal on 26 minutes, finishing a sweeping move involving Brian Friel and Fiachra Clifford. The gap was seven come the break and it might have been a tad more manageable from a Cork perspective had two scoreable chances on the stroke of half-time not been kicked wide.

Two from David Clifford and Donnchadh O’Sullivan’s first increased the difference between the sides upon the restart. Cork’s day was done when Kerry ‘keeper Deividas Uosis kept out a Damien Gore penalty on 42 minutes. He made a second superb save later on, this time denying Mark Keane. Two more from Clifford and a Jack Griffin point completed the 10-point rout for the Kingdom.

Scorers for Kerry: D Clifford (2-8, 0-3 frees); Donal O’Sullivan (0-1 free), Donnchadh O’Sullivan (0-2 each); A Donoghue, F Clifford, C Gammell, J Griffin (0-1 each).

Scorers for Cork: E Murphy (1-2, 0-1 ’45); D Gore (0-4, 0-2 frees); C Myers Murray (0-3); M Keane (0-1).

Kerry: D Uisis (Dingle); R O’Neill (Na Gaeil), C O’Donoghue (Glenflesk), M Potts (Dr Crokes); C Gammell (Legion), E Horan (Scartaglen), N Donohue (Firies); B Mahony (St Senan’s), D O’Connor (Na Gaeil); A Donoghue (Castleisland Desmonds), B Friel (Rathmore), F Clifford (Laune Rangers); Donnchadh O’Sullivan (Firies), D Clifford (Fossa), Donal O’Sullivan (Kilgarvan)
Subs: J Griffin (Dr Crokes) for Friel (38); M Slattery (Austin Stacks) for Donnchadh O’Sullivan (47); C O’Reilly (Austin Stacks) for F Clifford (48); P Warren (Gneeveguilla) for Donal O’Sullivan (55); S O’Leary (Kilcummin) for O’Neill (59); M O’Leary (Renard) for Gammell (60).

Cork: K McMahon (Kilshannig); L Finn (Mitchelstown), W Ronan (Kilmurry), D Ward (Douglas); J Harrington (Adrigole), P O’Driscoll (Ilen Rovers), J McCarthy (Carrigaline); M Keane (Mitchelstown), R Walsh (Kanturk); E Murphy (Dromtariffe), C O’Callaghan (Éire Óg), J Murphy (Éire Óg); M Cronin (Nemo Rangers), D Gore (Kilmacabea), C O’Mahony (Mitchelstown)
Subs: C Myers Murray (St Finbarr’s) for O’Mahony (22 mins, inj); C Barrett (St Finbarr’s) for Murphy (HT); D O’Mahony (Knocknagree) for Ronan (39); S Hickey (Millstreet) for Walsh, S Meehan (Kiskeam) for McCarthy (both 42); R O’Driscoll (Garnish) for Harrington (45, bc);

Referee: A Kissane (Waterford).

Admission Prices
Adult: €10.00
Student/Senior’s receive €5 concession on a full price ticket at the designated stile prior to entry with valid id.
U-16’s: Free

Tickets available to purchase in participating Centra and Supervalu outlets.

Team News

The Cork football team for tomorrow night’s Munster Minor Football Championship Semi-Final v Kerry in Pairc Ui Rinn @ 7pm has been announced as follows.

1) Kevin McMahon – Kilshannig

2) Lorcan Finn – Mitchelstown

3) William Ronan – Kilmurry

4) Dylan Ward – Douglas

5) Jason Harrington – Adrigole

6) Peter O Driscoll – Ilen Rovers

7) Jack McCarthy – Carrigaline

8) Mark Keane – Mitchelstown

9) Ryan Walsh – Kanturk

10) Evan Murphy – Dromtariffe

11) Colm O Callaghan – Eire Og (Captain)

12) Jack Murphy – Eire Og

13) Mark Cronin – Nemo Rangers

14) Damien Gore – Kilmacabea

15) Cathail O Mahony – Mitchelstown


16) Ian Giltinan – Carrigaline

17) Daniel O Mahony – Knocknagree

18) Rory O Driscoll – Garnish

19) Sean Meehan – Kiskeam

20) Shane Hickey – Millstreet

21) Colm Barrett – St Finbarrs

22) Cillian Myers Murray – St Finbarrs

23) Daragh Moynihan – Ballydesmond

24) Mark Hodnett – Carbery Rangers

Selectors : Brian Herlihy (Dohenys), Bernie Collins (Castlehaven), Donal McCarthy (Valley Rovers), Jim O Donoghue (St. Finbarrs), Noel O Leary, (Cill na Martra)

The Kerry Minor Football Team to play Cork in the Electric Ireland Munster Minor Football Championship Semi -Final at Páirc Uí Rinn on Wednesday evening shows 2 personnel and a number of positional changes from the side that defeated Clare in the Quarter Final.

Cian Gammell and Niall Donohue, both members of last year’s panel, come into the defence in place of Sean O’Leary and Patrick Warren both of whom picked up injuries in the quarter final tie and who are included among the substitutes.

The team contains just four of the side who played in the All Ireland Minor Final last year – Michael Potts, Diarmuid O’Connor, Brian Friel and David Clifford.

Potts, together with Chris O’Donoghue, Cian Gammell, Niall Donohue and Donnchadh O’Sullivan, were members of the St Brendans College Hogan Cup winning side this year.

The team, captained by David Clifford of Fossa is as follows:

Deividas Uosis Dingle

Ryan O’Neill Na Gaeil

Chris O’Donoghue Glenflesk

Cian Gammell Killarney Legion

Michael Potts Dr Crokes

Eddie Horan Scartaglen

Niall Donohue Firies

Barry Mahony St Senans

Diarmuid O’Connor Na Gaeil

Adam Donoghue Castleisland Desmonds

David Clifford (C) Fossa

Donal O’Sullivan Kilgarvan

Fiáchra Clifford Laune Rangers

Donchadh O’Sullivan Firies

Brian Friel Rathmore

Fir Ionaid:

Nelu O’Doherty Dr Crokes

Ciarán O’Reilly Austin Stacks

Sean O’Leary Kilcummin

Michael Slattery Austin Stacks

Patrick Warren Gneeveguilla

Jack Griffin Dr Crokes

Michael O’Leary Renard

Dylan Casey Austin Stacks

Cathal Ferriter Annascaul


Bainisteoir: Peter Keane (St Marys)

Treanalaí: Chris Flannery (Killarney Legion) and Padraig Murphy (Laune Rangers)

Roghnoirí: Tommy Griffin (Dingle), James Foley (Kilcummin)

Additional Players on the Kerry Minor Panel

Ciaran Kennedy (Beaufort), Sean O’Connell (Cordal), Eddie Browne (Listowel Emmets), Cian O’Callaghan (Firies), Mark Ashe (Dingle).


May 10, 2017
7:00 pm - 9:00 pm

GAA Units