Official Aras Mumhan Website

Loading Events
  • This event has passed.

2024 Munster Senior Football Championship Quarter-Final – Cork 3-13 Limerick 0-11

April 7 @ 2:00 pm - 4:00 pm

Cork defeated Limerick by 3-13 to 0-11 in the Munster Senior Football Championship Quarter-Final on Sunday April 7th at Supervalu Páirc Uí Chaoimh.

After early stutter, Cork stride past Limerick and onto Killarney

Munster SFC quarter-final: Cork 3-13 Limerick 0-11

Report by Eoghan Cormican for the Irish Examiner newspaper

What should have been a soft launch was a stuttering one. A stress-free championship opener Cork somehow managed to make fleetingly difficult for themselves.

In the end, they continued their unbeaten run and continued their green flag bluntness.

Victory over a side winless the entire spring and relegated to the League’s basement tier was never in doubt, so no marks to Cork for doing what was expected of them. It’s how they did it is the concern, particularly when you consider what awaits them at Fitzgerald Stadium in a fortnight.

The hosts played into a stiff breeze in the opening half and came out the far side of it 0-7 to 0-6 in arrears. Once they opened the second period with an unanswered 1-5, that was that.

Cork also decided that was that in terms of a finished product. With the elements at their back and a deflated opposition in front of them, they went 14 minutes without adding to their tally.

Conor Corbett was presented with the opportunities to create a green flag and rais a green flag. He did neither. He wasn’t the sole man in red to be found guilty on either count over the 70-plus minutes.

We counted nine goal openings in total, and two more that fall into the half-chance category. Cork took three. That’s desperate going by any metric.

Chris Óg Jones, with their sixth opportunity of this Munster quarter-final, finally found the opposition net on 43 minutes.

During Cork’s inexplicable and inexcusable failure to swell their lead between the 48th and 62nd minute, an Emmet Rigter pair either side of a Shane Costelloe mark, cut the gap to 1-11 to 0-10.

Limerick’s faint and fleeting hopes of staging a comeback were extinguished on 62 minutes. Jones’ shot was touched onto the crossbar by ‘keeper Josh Ryan, sub Ruairi Deane punched the rebound home.

Ian Maguire, fed by midfield colleague Colm O’Callaghan, showed his forward teammates how it’s done on 66 minutes.

In sum, this was a display that does not deliver confidence for challenging Kerry in two weeks.

Limerick sensibly elected to play with the near gale in the opening half. If they and their five championship debutants were to have any chance at all of springing an upset, then they needed to at least put themselves on the front foot and take a lead with them into the second period.

They did just that, reaching half-time 0-7 to 0-6 ahead. They were oh so fortunate, though, to be in front.

Cork, in continuation of their opening six rounds of league fare, were anything but clinical directly in front of the opposition goal. There were three clearcut green flag openings and two half ones inside the opening 19 minutes alone. They spurned all five.

Brian Hurley was first up. His palmed effort was saved by midfielder/full-forward-turned goalkeeper Josh Ryan.

Paul Walsh was next. His palmed effort flashed wide. Ryan then did superbly to get down low and deny Brian O’Driscoll.

The pair of half chances saw Hurley take his point and Sean Meehan, inside the cover, fail to hold Walsh’s pass.

This Hurley point, along with a free from the same player, and a Tommy Walsh fisted point took the hosts from two behind to one in front, 0-5 to 0-4, on 22 minutes.

The visitors replied with three of their own from Bryan Nix, James Naughton (‘45), and Peter Nash to restore their two-point lead. They were dealt a setback, mind, three minutes before the break, centre-forward Cathal Downes harshly black-carded for a challenge on Seán Powter.

By the time Downes reentered the fray, Limerick had fallen five behind and out of contention.

Scorers for Cork: C Óg Jones (1-2); B Hurley (0-4, 0-3 frees); R Deane, I Maguire (1-0 each); L Fahy (0-2); T Walsh, M Taylor, B O’Driscoll, C Corbett, S Sherlock (0-1 free, 0-1 each).

Scorers for Limerick: J Naughton (0-4, 0-2 ‘45s, 0-1 free); E Rigter (0-3); P Nash (0-1 free), B Nix, S Costelloe (0-1 mark), R Childs (0-1 each).

CORK: C Kelly; K Flahive, D O’Mahony, T Walsh; L Fahy, S Meehan, M Taylor; I Maguire, C O’Callaghan; P Walsh, S Powter, B O’Driscoll; C Óg Jones, C Corbett, B Hurley.
Subs: R Deane for Walsh (46); M Shanley for Meehan (48); S Sherlock for Hurley (53); M Cronin for Powter (60); T Clancy for Fahy (64, temporary); J O’Rourke for O’Driscoll (66).

LIMERICK: J Ryan; D O’Doherty, S O’Dea, B O’Sullivan; C Fahy, C Woulfe, P Maher; T Childs, E Rigter; J Naughton, C Downes, B Nix; P Nash, R Childs, D Neville.
Subs: S Costelloe for Downes, B Coleman for Woulfe (both 55); J Baynham for Nash (60); R O’Connor for O’Sullivan, T Griffin for Nix (both (69).

Referee: F Kelly (Longford).

Video – Munster Football Player Perspectives – Matty Taylor vs Paul Maher

Video – Munster Senior Football Head to Head – Cork v Limerick

Ticket Information

General Admission (North Stand only) – €15
Under 16s – FREE

Click here to buy tickets online or tickets can be purchased from participating Centra or Supervalu outlets.

Team News

CORK: Christopher Kelly; Kevin Flahive, Daniel O’ Mahony, Tommy Walsh; Luke Fahy, Sean Meehan, Matty Taylor; Ian Maguire, Colm O’Callaghan; Paul Walsh, Seán Powter, Brian O’ Driscoll; Chris Óg Jones, Conor Corbett, Brian Hurley
Subs: Míchéal Aodh Martin, Maurice Shanley, Darragh Cashman, Thomas Clancy, Kevin O’Donovan, David Buckley, Eoghan McSweeney, John O’ Rourke, Ruairi Deane, Mark Cronin, Steven Sherlock.

LIMERICK: Josh Ryan; Darren O’Doherty, Sean O’Dea, Brian O’Sullivan; Cormac Woulfe, Cillian Fahy, Paul Maher; Tommy Childs, Emmet Rigter; Bryan Nix, Cathal Downes, James Naughton; Peter Nash, Rob Childs, Danny Neville
Subs: Aaron O’Sullivan, Jamie Baynham, Tommy Griffin, Diarmaid Kelly, Shane Costelloe, Ruadhan O’Connor, Shane Doherty, Tadgh Siochru, Eoin Hurley, John Hayes, Barry Coleman

Match Programme

Pick up a copy of the souvenir match programme for 5 euro


April 7
2:00 pm - 4:00 pm


Supervalu Páirc Uí Chaoimh

GAA Units