Official Aras Mumhan Website

Loading Events
  • This event has passed.

2024 Allianz Hurling League Division 1 Final – Clare 3-16 Kilkenny 1-20

April 6 @ 7:15 pm - 9:00 pm

Clare defeated Kilkenny by 3-16 to 1-20 in the Allianz Hurling League Division 1 Final on Saturday April 6th at FBD Semple Stadium Thurles.

Match Highlights

Allianz HL Final: Clare triumph in Thurles

Clare 3-16 Kilkenny 1-20

Report By Cian O’Connell at FBD Semple Stadium

Under the Saturday night Thurles lights, Clare capped a fine Allianz League campaign by hoisting silverware.

Inevitably, Clare had to survive a gritty Kilkenny revival in the closing stages, but Brian Lohan’s outfit possessed sufficient class and character. Two All-Ireland Semi-Final losses to Kilkenny hurt Clare deeply in 2022 and 2023 with valuable lessons learned.

A fortnight ahead of an eagerly anticipated Munster SHC opener against Limerick at Cusack Park, Clare delivered in style.

Aidan McCarthy, who concluded the match with a 2-10 haul, thumped a 54th minute goal to guide the Banner 3-12 to 0-14 clear.

Kilkenny, even without talisman TJ Reid, came thundering back in the closing stages with Eoin Cody netting a 65th minute goal to inject hope into the comeback mission.

Cody subsequently had a penalty saved by Clare custodian Eibhear Quilligan as the Banner held out to register a victory.

Throughout an interesting opening period, Kilkenny, despite plenty of encouraging moments, simply weren’t clinical enough taking chances.

That was illustrated by a return of 0-9 from 22 attempts with Clare more efficient nailing 1-8 from 16 shots.

Two minutes before the break McCarthy planted a goal following a splendid assist from Mark Rodgers, who made ground before slipping a pass into the Inagh-Kilnamona clubman.

McCarthy’s finish was powerful and precise ensuring Clare hit the front, 1-7 to 0-9. A McCarthy pointed free steered Clare into a 1-8 to 0-9 interval lead with the issue delicately poised.

Aidan McCarthy First Half Goal for Clare

Trailing 0-6 to 0-5, Kilkenny had embarked on a burst in the opening period, clipping four points in a row. Adrian Mullen supplied two neat scores, while Richie Reid and Jordan Molloy also rifled over points.

Kilkenny drilled long deliveries inside, but Clare, with Conor Cleary and Adam Hogan effective, were coping adequately.

Brian Lohan’s charges were behind by three five minutes prior to half-time, but McCarthy struck 1-2 on the spin to edge them ahead at the break.

Kilkenny substitute Martin Keoghan mined a point for Kilkenny immediately after the restart, but Clare remained unperturbed.

Shane O’Donnell announced his arrival into the game by occupying a role, alongside David Reidy in the creation of David Fitzgerald’s 37th minute major.

The striped team continued to battle with trademark defiance and were only four behind in the 54th minute.

Then Fitzgerald released McCarthy, who made the Kilkenny net dance and Clare assumed a commanding position.

Keoghan and John Donnelly were prominent as Kilkenny narrowed the deficit. Donnelly’s pass put Cody away to clip a 65th minute goal. Suddenly the gap was trimmed to three.

Aidan McCarthy nailed a free following a foul on O’Donnell. In a frenetic closing chapter Clare’s Mark Rodgers was black carded for a foul on the increasingly influential Donnelly.

Cody’s penalty was saved by Quilligan. Kilkenny still struck three of the last four points, but it wasn’t enough. Clare prevailed. Next on the agenda is Limerick in Ennis. A game not to be missed.

Clare’s Shane O’Donnell Interview with Off the Ball

Scorers for Clare: Aidan McCarthy 2-10 (9fs), David Fitzgerlad 1-0, Mark Rodgers 0-2, Diarmuid Ryan, Darragh Lohan, Ian Galvin, and Cathal Malone 0-1 each.

Scorers for Kilkenny: Eoin Cody 1-4 (3fs), Martin Keoghan 0-4, Adrian Mullen 0-3, Cian Kenny 0-2, Shane Murphy, David Blanchfield, Richie Reid, Jordan Molloy, John Donnelly, Billy Ryan, and Billy Drennan (f) 0-1 each.

Clare: Eibhear Quilligan; Adam Hogan, Conor Cleary, Conor Leen; Diarmuid Ryan, John Conlon, Cian Galvin; Cathal Malone, Darragh Lohan; David Fitzgerald, David Reidy, Peter Duggan; Aidan McCarthy, Ian Galvin, Mark Rodgers
Subs: Shane O’Donnell for I Galvin (HT), Aron Shanagher for Reidy (53), David McInerney for C Galvin (58), Rory Hayes for Leen (59), Seadna Morey for Lohan (67).

Kilkenny: Eoin Murphy; Tommy Walsh, Huw Lawlor, Shane Murphy; David Blanchfield, Paddy Deegan, Richie Reid; Cian Kenny, Jordan Molloy; Adrian Mullen, John Donnelly, Billy Ryan; Luke Hogan, Billy Drennan, Eoin Cody.
Subs: Martin Keoghan for Hogan (30), Timmy Clifford for Drennan (45), Kevin Blanchfield for Molloy (51), Liam Blanchfield for Ryan (60).

Referee: Johnny Murphy (Limerick).

Match Preview

Coverage of the Live Build-Up for TG4

Online coverage begins at 6:35pm ahead of TG4 coming on-air at 7pm.

Ticket Information

Team News

Clare- Eibhear Quilligan; Adam Hogan, Conor Cleary, Conor Leen; Diarmuid Ryan, John Conlon, Cian Galvin; David Fitzgerald, Darragh Lohan; Cathal Malone, Mark Rodgers, Peter Duggan; Aidan McCarthy, Ian Galvin, David Reidy.
Subs- Cian Broderick, Paul Flanagan, Rory Hayes, Seadna Morey, Paddy Donnellan, David McInerney, Aron Shanagher, Shane O’Donnell, Shane Meehan, Patrick Crotty, Gearoid Sheedy.

Kilkenny- Eoin Murphy (Glenmore); Shane Murphy (Glenmore), Huw Lawlor (O’Loughlin Gaels), Tommy Walsh (Tullaroan); David Blanchfield (Bennettsbridge), Paddy Deegan (O’Loughlin Gaels), Richie Reid (Shamrocks); Cian Kenny (James Stephens), Jordan Molloy (O’Loughlin Gaels); Adrian Mullen (Shamrocks), John Donnelly (Thomastown), Billy Ryan (Graigue Ballycallan); Luke Hogan (O’Loughlin Gaels), TJ Reid (Shamrocks), Eoin Cody (Shamrocks).
Subs- Aidan Tallis (Lisdowney), Conor Delaney (Erins Own), Padraic Moylan (Dicksboro), Darragh Corcoran (Shamrocks), Conor Fogarty (Erins Own), Kevin Blanchfield (Bennettsbridge), Timmy Clifford (Dicksboro), Billy Drennan (Galmoy), Owen Wall (O’Loughlin Gaels), Martin Keoghan (Tullaroan), Liam Blanchfield (Bennettsbridge).


April 6
7:15 pm - 9:00 pm


FBD Semple Stadium Thurles

GAA Units