Official Aras Mumhan Website

Loading Events
  • This event has passed.

2019 Electric Ireland Munster GAA Hurling Minor Championship – Limerick 3-24 Tipperary 1-15

June 16, 2019 @ 12:00 pm - 2:00 pm

Limerick defeated Tipperary by 3-24 to 1-15 in the 2019 Electric Ireland Munster GAA Hurling Minor Championship on Sunday June 16th at Semple Stadium, Thurles.

Match Highlights

O’Neill class puts Limerick into decider

Limerick 3-24 Tipperary 1-15

Report from the Irish Independent

Limerick strolled into a Munster MHC decider against Clare on June 30 thanks to a 15-point win at Semple Stadium.

Limerick laid the foundation for their win in the first half, at the end of which they led by 2-13 to 0-9. They struck for their first goal in the ninth minute when the excellent Cathal O’Neill shot low to the net.

Limerick were ahead by seven points when they piled more misery on Tipp in the 29th minute. This time Liam Lynch raced away from Tipp’s Ed Connolly and passed to the unmarked Aidan O’Connor, who had no difficulty shooting their second goal.

Six minutes into the second half, Limerick’s lead was unassailable, after Adam English cut in from the wing and planted a low shot in the net to open up a 13-point lead.

Tipp never threw in the towel and were rewarded with a consolation goal from sub Kyle Shelly, who had been introduced only moments earlier, seven minutes from the end of normal time.

Limerick outplayed their opponents from start to finish and they have a real star in top scorer Cathal O’Neill. He had willing accomplices in Patrick O’Donovan, Cian Casey, Patrick Kirby, Aidan O’Connor and Adam English.

With just one win from their four matches, this has been a chastening campaign for a young Tipperary team, many of whom are underage next year.

Scorers –
Limerick: C O’Neill 1-10 (7f); A O’Connor 1-2 (1f); A English 1-1; P O’Donovan 0-3; P Kirby, P Reale, C Casey 0-2 each; L Lynch, E Stokes 0-1 each.
Tipperary: J Leamy 0-7 (5f); K Shelly 1-0; C O’Dwyer 0-2; J Campion, C Ryan, C Fogarty, T Cahill, K Ryan, C McElvey 0-1 each.

Limerick – J Franklin; R Lyons, M Cremin, F O’Connor; J Quilty, E Hurley, A Murrihy; P Kirby, P Reale; L Lynch, C O’Neill, C Casey; A O’Connor, A English, P O’Donovan
Subs: D Hegarty for C Casey (44), E Stokes for P Kirby (49), C Hanley Clarke for A English (51), B O’Meara for F O’Connor (54) and D Casey for P Reale (57).

Tipperary – S Gleeson; S Loughran, E Connolly, J Duncan; E Marnane, C Lloyd, R Walsh; C O’Dwyer, J Campion (capt); C Ryan, S Ferncombe, P Creedon; C Fogarty, T Cahill, J Leamy
Subs: K Ryan for S Ferncombe (h-t), M Corcoran for E Connolly (h-t), C Deely for C Ryan (38), C McElvey for T Cahill and K Shelly for C Fogarty (52).

Ref – T Walsh (Waterford)

Team News

LIMERICK: Jack Franklin (Kilteely-Dromkeen); Ronan Lyons (Monaleen), Michael Keane (Adare), Fergal O’Connor (Effin); Jimmy Quilty (Blackrock), Ethan Hurley (Newcastle West), Adam Murrihy (Ahane); Patrick Kirby (Patrickswell), Patrick Reale (Knockainey); Liam Lynch (Mungret St Pauls), Cathal O’Neill (Crecora-Manister), Cían Casey (Ahane); Aidan O’Connor (Ballybrown), Adam English (Doon), Patrick O’Donovan (Effin)
Subs: TJ Kelly (Kileedy), Michael Cremin (Newcastle West), Sean Mortell (St Patricks), Darragh Casey (Granagh-Ballingarry), Odhran O’Dwyer (Mungret St Pauls), Brian O’Meara (Mungret St Pauls), Conor Hanley Clarke (Kilmallock), Eddie Stokes (Doon), Diarmuid Hegarty (St Patricks).


June 16, 2019
12:00 pm - 2:00 pm
Event Tags:
, , , , ,


Semple Stadium Thurles

GAA Units