Allianz Hurling League Division 1A – Dublin 2-17 Clare 0-17

Dublin defeated Clare by 2-17 to 0-17 in round 2 of the Allianz Hurling League Division 1A on Sunday February 23rd at Parnell Park, Dublin.

Dublin bounce back with win over Clare

Report from the web site

Allianz Hurling League Division IA: Dublin 2-17 Clare 0-17

Dublin bounced back from their opening weekend humiliation to record a two-goal win over All-Ireland champions Clare at Parnell Park. Beaten by 0-28 to 1-12 by Galway last Sunday, Anthony Daly’s side were transformed seven days later, with a goal in each half from Conal Keaney and Colm Cronin earning them a deserved win.

Keaney was the star of the show for Dublin, returning 1-3 from play from his station in the full-forward line. Alan McCrabbe chipped in with 0-9, negating the loss of regularly free-taker Paul Ryan with all of his tally coming from placed balls. Keaney’s goal after 14 minutes helped his side to a 1-12 to 0-10 half-time lead, with McCrabbe landing eight of his haul in the opening period. Colin Ryan sent over five frees in response for the Banner County and John Conlon landed two from play.

Despite playing with the wind in the second half, Clare lost further ground in the third period, and the game was over as a contest when Colm Cronin netted the Dubs’ second goal on the 45 minute mark, following good approach work by Keaney and McCrabbe, making it 2-14 to 0-12 in the hosts’ favour. Clare’s expected final quarter push never materialised and two points from Shane Durkin guided the Dubs over the line in the closing stages.

Scorers for Dublin: A McCrabbe 0-9 (8f, 1 sl), C Keaney 1-3, C Cronin 1-1, S Durkin 0-2, J McCaffrey 0-1, D O’Callaghan 0-1.

Scorers for Clare: Colin Ryan 0-7 (7f), J Conlon 0-3, T Kelly 0-2 (1f), B Duggan 0-2 (2f), P O’Connor 0-1, C McGrath 0-1, C O’Connell 0-1,

Dublin: G Maguire, N Corcoran, P Kelly, S Timlin, S Durkin, L Rushe, M Carton, C Cronin, J McCaffrey, R O’Dwyer, A McCrabbe, D Sutcliffe, D O’Callaghan, M Schutte, C Keaney. Subs: J Dougan for Timlin, E Dillon for McCrabbe, D Treacy for O’Callaghan, N McMorrow for O’Dwyer.

Clare: D Tuohy, D McInerney, C Dillon, S Morey, P O’Connor, Conor Ryan, B Bugler, P Donnellan, S Golden, J Conlon, T Kelly, Colin Ryan, C McGrath, S O’Donnell, C Galvin. Subs: N O’Connell for Golden, C O’Connell for Conor Ryan, B Duggan for Colin Ryan, D Reidy for Morey.

Referee: A Kelly (Galway)