Buy or Renew your GAA Season Ticket for 2019 now

GAA Football All-Ireland Junior Championship Final – Sligo 2-10 Kerry 1-7

Sligo defeated Kerry by 2-10 to 1-7 in the GAA Football All-Ireland Junior Championship Final on Saturday in Pearse Stadium Galway.

Sligo claim historic Junior title

Report from the web site

Saturday, August 21, 2010

Sligo’s Junior team made amends somewhat for the disappointing end to their Senior side’s season by claiming the GAA Football All-Ireland Junior Championship title after a 2-10 to 1-7 defeat of Kerry at Pearse Stadium on Saturday. Yeats’ manager and Galway native Kevin Walsh led his adopted county to its first success in the grade since 1935.

David Maye, who finished with 0-8 for Sligo, was the standout performer on the day, while early Kieran Finan and Ciaran McNamara goals helped the winners to a 2-4 to 1-3 half-time lead. Brendan Poff raised a green flag for the Kingdom in response. Kerry’s hopes of staging a comeback after the break were all but ended when they had three men sent off – Brendan Guiney, Michael Murphy and Colin O’Mahony.

Team News

The Kerry Junior team to play Sligo in The All Ireland Junior Final in Pearse stadium in Galway on Saturday next is as follows: 1. Séan Óg O’Ciarubháin, Cordal 2. Gavin O’Connor, Castlegregory 3. Fergal Griffin, Glenbeigh/Glencar 4. Aidan Cahill, Spa 5. Eamon Hickson, Annascaul 6. Adrian Greaney, St. Pats 7. Brendan Guiney, Listowel Emmets 8. Mike Coakley, Scartaglin 9. Don Murphy, Gneeveguilla 10. Michael Murphy, Gneeveguilla 11. Michael O’Donoghue, Spa (Capt) 12. Alan O’Sullivan, Tousist 13. Gary Sayers, Keel 14. Aodán MacGearailt, An Ghaeltacht 15. John Buckley, Currow

Substitutes are as follows:

16. Paul O’Sullivan, Churchill 17. Brendan Poff, St. Pats 18. Brian McGuire, Listowel Emmets 19. Tom McGoldrick, Brosna 20. Alan Fitzgerald, Castlegregory 21. Brian Gleeson, Spa 22. Francis Courtney, Beaufort 23. Colin O’Mahony, Ballydonoghue 24. Daniel Doyle, Churchill 25.Flor McAuliffe, Brosna

Trainer: Kerry O’Sullivan, Currow

Selectors: Tim Dennehy, Castlegregory and Pat Brosnan, Brosna