Buy or Renew your GAA Season Ticket for 2019 now

All-Ireland Under 16 Hurling Championship

The following were the results of the Tipperary Supporters Club Under 16 hurling tournament finals played at Semple Stadium on Sunday:

Shield Final – Clare 1-11 Westmeath 1-9

Final – Tipperary 2-21 Galway 2-13

The following are the results of the Group rounds and semi finals of Tipperary Supporters Club Under 16 Hurling Tournament played on Saturday:

Group 1: Limerick 1-9 Wexford 1-6; Limerick 0-15 Offaly 1-5; Wexford 1-10 Offaly 1-9

Group 2: Waterford 3-8 Cork 1-12; Galway 3-14 Waterford 0-7; Galway 3-7 Cork 1-10

Group 3: Kilkenny 2-9 Westmeath 0-13; Dublin 2-7 Kilkenny 0-7; Westmeath 2-12 Dublin 2-9

Group 4: Tipperary 4-9 Clare 0-6; Tipperary 4-23 Antrim 0-4; Clare 5-16 Antrim 0-1

Shield Semi Finals:

Clare 1-14 Wexford 1-9; Westmeath 4-9 Waterford 2-8

Cup Semi Finals:

Tipperary 2-15 Limerick 1-12; Galway 0-14 Dublin 0-12


The launch of this year’s Tipperary Supporters Club All Ireland Under 16 hurling championship was presided over by Christy Cooney, Uachtarán, Cumann Lúthchleas Gael at the County Tipperary Golf and Country Club, Dundrum on Friday night May 15th. This annual inter-county festival of hurling is in its 22nd year and twelve counties will be taking part on the weekend of 29th and 30th August.

The competition is organised by Tipperary GAA Bord na nÓg and is kindly sponsored by the Tipperary Supporters Club.

Tipperary tops the roll of honour for this competition with nine titles. Galway are next with seven titles. Kilkenny with three titles and Clare and Wexford with one are the only other counties on the roll of honour. Wexford are the reigning champions having defeated Kilkenny in last year’s decider to claim their first title.

As well as Christy Cooney the attendance at the launch included Barry O’Brien, County Senior Board Chairman; Seán Creamer, County Bord na nÓg Chairman and John Tierney, Chairman of Tipperary Supporters Club.

Representatives from a number of the competing counties were also in attendance.

The complete draw is as follows:


Venue: Kilsheelan

A. Wexford

B. Limerick

C. Offaly


Venue: Clonmel Sports field

St. Marys’ Pitch

A. Cork

B. Waterford

C. Galway


Venue: Ardfinnan

A. Westmeath

B. Kilkenny

C. Dublin


Venue: Monroe

Moyle Rovers Pitch

A. Clare

B. Tipperary

C. Antrim


Group 3 -V- Group 2

Group 4 -V- Group 1

Cup semi-finals: Group 1 winner V Group 4 winner in Monroe

Group 2-winner V Group 3 winner in Clonmel Sportsfield

Shield semi-finals Group 1 runners up V Group 4 runner up in Kilsheelan

Group 2 runners up V Group 3 runner up in Ardfinnan

• Top team in each group qualifies for Cup semi finals.

• Second placed team in each group qualifies for Shield semi finals.

• If teams tie on equal points scoring difference will apply.

• Group matches – 20 minutes-a-side.

• Semi Finals – 25 minutes-a-side.

• Finals – 30 minutes-a-side.

• In the event of a draw in the semi finals and finals extra time to be played.

The group rounds and the semi finals will be played on Saturday 29th August. The top team in each group will qualify for the Tipperary Supporters Club semi finals and the second placed team in each group will qualify for the Shield semi finals. Both finals will be played on Sunday 30th August. The venues for the group stages will be in South Tipperary clubs and the finals are scheduled for Semple Stadium.