Official Aras Mumhan Website

Loading Events
  • This event has passed.

Munster Senior Football Semi-Final – Cork 1-17 Tipperary 0-9

May 26, 2018 @ 7:00 pm - 9:00 pm

Cork defeated Tipperary by 1-17 to 0-9 in the Munster GAA Football Senior Championship Semi-Final on Saturday May 26th at Semple Stadium Thurles.

Match Highlights

Munster SFC: Cork sweep aside Tipperary


Report By Daragh Small for

Tipperary never recovered from the concession of a Colm O’Neill goal five minutes before half-time as Cork easily qualified for a provincial final against either Kerry or Clare on Saturday 23 June.

Playing just seven days on from their quarter-final win over Waterford, Tipperary never held the lead in this Semple Stadium clash and now have to be satisfied with a qualifier run for the remainder of the summer.

For Cork, Luke Connolly was in inspired form from the off and his six first-half points played a huge role in his side’s superiority, while the Nemo Rangers man added another four in the second-half, which helped Cork into a seventh Munster football final in the last eight years.

Cork’s last win in a provincial final came in 2012 when they defeated Clare. They have not beaten arch rivals Kerry in the decider for ten years, but on this showing they could well threaten either side in the final.

Points from Connolly and Sean White got them off to a great start in Thurles, and despite Michael Quinlivan kicking Tipp’s first after 11 minutes, the powerful full-forward was crucially denied by a great save from Mark White a minute later.

Jack Kennedy’s free did allow Tipperary to level matters, but Connolly landed his side’s next three points, before he sent O’Neill in for the crucial goal and Cork led 1-8 to 0-4 at the interval.

The home crowd might have hoped that half-time would bring about a turn in fortunes, but instead Cork continued to dominate. Connolly added two frees while Collins landed his second of the game, but finally Liam McGrath brought the deficit back to nine points when he scored 19 minutes from time.

Subs Philip Austin and Liam Boland also got on the scoresheet for Tipperary to cut the gap to five points with ten to go, but Connolly and Paul Kerrigan stepped up with settling scores to put a halt to the Tipperary recovery.

And there was still time for the brilliant Connolly to bring his tally to ten points – he landed five from play and then five in a row from placed balls – while Collins and Kerrigan bulked up their tallies in the closing stages to send Cork into the final, where they’ll look to claim a 38th provincial crown.

Scorers for Cork: Luke Connolly 0-10 (0-5f); Colm O’Neill 1-0; Mark Collins 0-3; Paul Kerrigan 0-2; Sean White & Brian Hurley 0-1 each.

Scorers for Tipperary: Liam McGrath 0-5 (0-4f); Michael Quinlivan, Jack Kennedy (0-1f), Liam Boland & Philip Austin 0-1 each.

CORK: Mark White; Kevin Crowley, Jamie O’Sullivan, Kevin Flahive; Sean White, Stephen Cronin, Tomas Clancy; Aidan Walsh, Ian Maguire; Kevin O’Driscoll, Mark Collins, Ruairi Deane; John O’Rourke, Colm O’Neill, Luke Connolly
Subs: Brian Hurley for O’Neill (47), Ronan O’Toole for O’Driscoll (56), Peter Kelleher for Walsh (58), Paul Kerrigan for O’Rourke (58), James Loughrey for Sean White (63), Matthew Taylor for Clancy (68).

TIPPERARY: Evan Comerford; Stephen O’Connell, John Meagher, Alan Campbell; Bill Maher, Robbie Kiely, Jimmy Feehan; Liam Casey, Jack Kennedy; Josh Keane, Steven O’Brien, Brian Fox; Conor Sweeney Michael Quinlivan, Liam McGrath
Subs: Philip Austin for Feehan (35), Kevin Fahey for Kiely (46), Liam Boland for Casey (49), Jason Lonergan for Keane (67), Kevin O’Halloran for Sweeney (67).

Referee: Anthony Nolan (Wicklow).

Match Preview

Cork Manager Ronan McCarthy Interview

Ticket Information

Adult Pre Purchase: €15.00
Adult Match Day: €20.00
Juveniles/U16’s: Free
Students/Seniors will receive a €5.00 concession on Full Price Tickets with valid id prior to entry at the designated stile.

This is an unreserved seating fixture.

Fixture Details

26.05.2018 (Sat)
Munster GAA Football Senior Championship Semi-Final
Semple Stadium, Thurles 19:00
Tiobraid Árann v Corcaigh
Referee: Anthony Nolan (Cill Mhantáin)
(E.T. if Necessary)

Team News

CORK (Munster SFC semi-final v Tipperary): M White (Clonakilty); K Crowley (Millstreet), J O’Sullivan (Bishopstown), K Flahive (Douglas); S White (Clonakilty), S Cronin (Nemo Rangers), T Clancy (Fermoy); A Walsh (Kanturk), I Maguire (St Finbarr’s); K O’Driscoll (Tadhg MacCarthaigh), M Collins (Castlehaven), R Deane (Bantry Blues); J O’Rourke (Carbery Rangers), C O’Neill (Ballyclough), L Connolly (Nemo Rangers).
Subs: A Casey (Kiskeam), S Ryan (St Finbarr’s), J Loughrey (Mallow), M Taylor (Mallow), C Kiely (Ballincollig), R O’Toole (Éire Óg), P Kelleher (Kilmichael), C Vaughan (Iveleary), M Hurley (Castlehaven), S Sherlock (St Finbarr’s), B Hurley (Castlehaven), P Kerrigan (Nemo Rangers).

TIPPERARY: Evan Comerford; Shane O’Connell, John Meagher, Alan Campbell; Bill Maher, Robbie Kiely, Jimmy Feehan; Liam Casey, Jack Kennedy; Josh Keane, Kevin O’Halloran, Brian Fox; Liam Boland, Michael Quinlivan, Liam McGrath.


2017: Cork 1-10 Tipperary 1-9 (Munster semi-final)
2016: Tipperary 3-15 Cork 2-16 (Munster semi-final)
2014: Cork 0-16 Tipperary 1-11 (Munster semi-final)
2007: Cork 2-18 Tipperary 0-10 (Munster semi-final)
2002: Cork 1-23 Tipperary 0-7 (Munster final) – Replay

They meet for a third successive year, with Tipperary winning in 2016 and Cork edging to victory by a point last year. Tipperary beat Waterford by 0-20 to 0-9 in the quarter-final last Saturday. Cork, who are having their first outing, finished fifth in Division 2 this year, winning three and losing four of seven games. Liam Kearns is in his third season as Tipperary manager while Ronan McCarthy is leading Cork in the championship for the first time. The winners will play Kerry or Clare in the Munster final on June 23.


May 26, 2018
7:00 pm - 9:00 pm

GAA Units