Official Aras Mumhan Website

Loading Events
  • This event has passed.

Munster Senior Football Q-Final – Tipperary 0-20 Waterford 0-9

May 19, 2018 @ 7:00 pm - 9:00 pm

Tipperary defeated Waterford by 0-20 to 0-9 in the Munster GAA Football Senior Championship Quarter-Final on Saturday May 19th at Semple Stadium Thurles.

Munster SFC: Tipperary march on

Munster Senior Football Championship Quarter-Final


Report By John Fallon at Semple Stadium

Tipperary advanced to a Munster SFC semi-final date with Cork next Saturday after scoring a deserved victory over Waterford at Semple Stadium in Thurles.

Liam Kearns’ men were always on top during the contest and pulled away after the interval with a string of points. Waterford, in fairness, never gave up and rallied in the final quarter, but it was a matter of closing the gap rather than staging a comeback which would trouble the home side.

Tipperary led by 0-6 to 0-0 before Gavin Crotty finally opened the Waterford’s account in th 28th minute. That score lifted Waterford and they got some hope when Tommy Prendergast landed two excellent points from play before the break. It left Waterford trailing by 0-7 to 0-3 at half-time but Tipperary took charge after the restart.

They upped a gear and with Liam McGrath leading the way, they struck for six points in a blistering 11 minute spell. Michael Quinlivan fisted two efforts, McGrath struck a free and one from play and Kevin O’Halloran got his second point of the game with another fine effort.

Points from Liam Boland and Josh Keane pushed the lead out to 0-15 to 0-3 after 50 minutes and a landslide victory looked on the cards. Jason Lonergan and Philip Austin extended Tipperary’s lead, but Waterford battled to the end.

Jason Curry landed a sideline from the left for an excellent point and he also got a free, with Conor Murray and Hutchinson also finding the range for a battling Waterford side.

Tipperary continued to pick off good scores right to the end and while they never looked like finding the net, the Premier County landed enough points to ease to victory.

Scorers for Tipperary: Liam McGrath 0-9 (7fs), Michael Quinlivan 0-3, Kevin O’Halloran 0-2, Philip Austin, Jason Longeran, Jimmy Feehan, Jack Kennedy, Josh Keane, Liam Boland 0-1 each.

Scorers for Waterford: Jason Curry 0-3 (1f, 1 sideline), Stephen Prendergast and Gavin Crotty 0-2 each, Conor Murray and JJ Hutchinson 0-1 each.

TIPPPERARY: Evan Comerford; Shane O’Connell, John Meagher, Alan Campbell; Bill Maher, Robbie Kiely, Jimmy Feehan; Liam Casey, Jack Kennedy; Josh Keane, Kevin O’Halloran, Brian Fox; Liam Boland, Michael Quinlivan, Liam McGrath.
Subs: Steven O’Brien for Kennedy (44), Philip Austin for O’Halloran (46), Kevin Fahey for Maher (50), Jason Lonergan for Quinlivan (54), Paddy Codd for Meagher (57), George Hannigan for Casey (65).

WATERFORD: Stephen Enright; James McGrath, Brian Looby, Aidan Trihy; Dylan Guiry, Stephen Prendergast, Billy O’Keefe; Tommy Prendergast, Michael Curry; Conor Murray, Shane Ryan, Kieran Power; Gavin Crotty, Joey Veale, JJ Hutchinson.
Subs: Jason Curry for O’Keefe (29), Craig Guiry for Veale (44), Joe Allen for McGrath (57, BC), Michael Kiely for Power (67), Mark Cummins for Trihy (71), Eoin O’Brien for Hutchinson (71).

REFEREE: Fergal Kelly (Longford)

Ticket Information

Adult Pre Purchase: €15.00
Adult Match Day: €20.00
Juveniles/U16’s: Free
Students/Seniors will receive a €5.00 concession on Full Price Tickets with valid id prior to entry at the designated stile.

Match Preview

Team News

Video Preview – Waterford Manager Tom McGlinchey


May 19, 2018
7:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Event Tags:
, , , , , , , ,

GAA Units