Official Aras Mumhan Website

Loading Events
  • This event has passed.

Corn Uí Mhuirí Senior A Football Quarter-Final – Col. Chríost Rí Cork 0-7 West Limerick Colleges 0-3

January 23, 2013 @ 1:30 pm - 3:30 pm

Horgan picks the lock for Chriost Ri

Report from the Irish Independent newspaper

Colaiste Chriost Ri 0-7 West Limerick 0-3

Colaiste Chriost RI booked their place in the semi-finals with a hard-earned win over West Limerick in Mallow. Chriost Ri took control of the game from the first whistle but found scores hard to come by in very difficult conditions. For their part, West Limerick defended well but failed to get the ball past the halfway line until the 10th minute.

Conor Horgan and Ryan Kennedy finally found a way through the resilient West Limerick for the Cork lads, while centre-back Alan Nolan made an impact with some surging runs at the heart of the over-worked Shannonsiders’ defence. Chriost Ri goalkeeper Craig O’Donovan showed his value with a spectacular save on 50 minutes, and that proved crucial as his side dug out the win.

Scorers – Colaiste Chriost Ri – C Horgan 0-3 (3f), R Kennedy 0-2 (2f), C Walsh, S Cronin 0-1 each. West Limerick: J Breen 0-2 (1f), J O’Connor 0-1 (’45’)

Colaiste ChrIost RI – C O’Donovan; D O’Neill, A O’Callaghan, J Daly; C Walsh, A Nolan, D Kerins; S Cronin, D McGrath; B Madden, R Kennedy, J Good; E Hill, C Horgan, R Haines. Subs: E Compagno for R Haines (57).

West Limerick – M O’Keeffe; A O’Connor, J Murphy, S Murphy; D Daly, S Fitzmaurice, D Jones; D Condron, G Reidy; J O’Connor, C Sheehan, C Lucey; J Breen, E Prenderville, E O’Donnell. Subs: C Broderick for C Lucey (48), S Ivess for E Prenderville (52), S Lynch for D Daly (57).

Ref – E Walsh (Kerry)

Match Preview

Chríost Rí will be favourites in many people’s eyes to progress in this tie but they will be under no illusions of the task that awaits them as the amalgamated West Limerick outfit has been very impressive to date. Indeed a great win over Clonmel CBS underlined the credentials of the combined outfit to be a serious force in this competition. Chríost Rí have showed mixed form to date and were understandably disappointed at not winning both group games and will need to find a consistency in their play to progress.

West Limerick Schools results to date:

PS. Chorca Dhuibhne 1-13 West Limerick Schools 1-9

West Limerick Schools 1-9 Clonmel CBS 0-9

West Limerick Schools 4-13 North Clare Schools 0-4

Col. Chríost Rí results to date:

Col. Chríost Rí Cork 2-12 St. Flannan’s Ennis 2-6

Coláiste na Sceilge 1-8 Col. Chríost Rí Cork 1-8

Coláiste Iar Luimnigh Panel

The Coláiste Iar Luimnigh Panel for this game is as follows –

1. Maurice O’Keeffe (Brosna)

2. Aaron O’Connor (Duagh)

3. John Murphy (Fr.Caseys)

4. Sean Murphy ( Newcastle West)

5. Daniel Daly (Fr.Caseys)

6. Shane Fitzmaurice (Brosna – Captain)

7. Darren Jones (St.Marys/Sean Finns)

8. David Condron (Granagh/Ballingarry)

9. Gavin Reidy (Newcastle West)

10. Cian Sheehan (Newcastle West)

11. Jamie O’Connor (Fr.Caseys)

12. Cathal Broderick (Fr.Caseys)

13. Jonathan Lyons (Fr.Caseys)

14. Jack Breen (Fr.Caseys)

15. Eoin O’Donnell (St.Marys/Sean Finns)

16. Raymond Noonan (St.Kierans)

17. Shane Lynch (St.Kierans)

18. Joey Healy (Newcastle West)

19. Eamon Prendiville (Brosna)

20. Kieran Lucey (Duagh)

21. Mikey Morrissey (St.Marys/Sean Finns)

22. Daniel Fitzgerald (Brosna)

23. Shane Stack (Newcastle West)

24. T.J Lane (Fr.Caseys)

25. Kieran O’Donnell (Brosna)

26. James Guina (Feoghanagh/Castlemahon)

27. Sean Ivess (Newcastle West)

28. Liam O’Connor (Fr.Caseys)

29. Frank Geary (St.Marys/Sean Finns)

30 Stephen O’Kelly (Croom)

31. Timmy Finnegan (Brosna)

32. Cormac Roche (Fr.Caseys)

Coláiste Chríost Rí Cork Panel

The Coláiste Chríost Rí Senior Football Panel is as follows –

Craig O’Donovan Nemo Rangers

Donnacha O’Neill Nemo Rangers

Alan O’Callaghan St. Michaels

Joe Daly Nemo Rangers

Cian Walsh St. Finbarrs

Alan Nolan St. Michaels

Darragh Kerins Nemo Rangers

Stephen Cronin Nemo Rangers

Darren McGrath Brian Dillons

John Good Tracton

Ryan Kennedy Nemo Rangers

Barry Madden Nemo Rangers

Eoin Hill St. Finbarrs

Conor Horgan Nemo Rangers (Captain)

Ryan Haines St. Finbarrs

Eric Compagno Nemo Rangers

Rory O’Connor St. Finbarrs

Ian O’Keeffe St. Michaels

Keith Hegarty St. Michaels

Mark Russell St. Finbarrs

Brian Kerins St. Finbarrs

Eric Seymour Nemo Rangers

Ian O’Callaghan St. Finbarrs


January 23, 2013
1:30 pm - 3:30 pm

GAA Units