Official Aras Mumhan Website

Loading Events
  • This event has passed.

2023 Waterford Senior Football Final – Rathgormack 1-9 The Nire 0-6

October 29, 2023 @ 3:30 pm - 5:30 pm

Rathgormack defeated The Nire by 1-9 to 0-6 in the Waterford Senior Football Final on Sunday October 29th at Fraher Field Dungarvan.

Jason Curry stars as 13-man Rathgormack claim Waterford title

Waterford SFC Final: Rathgormack 1-9 The Nire 0-6

Report by Tomas McCarthy for the Irish Examiner newspaper

Thirteen-man Rathgormack regained the Conway Cup in the Dungarvan sunshine on Sunday afternoon as they led great rivals The Nire from pillar to post.

Man of the match Jason Curry netted a second-half goal for the green and red as they banished the disappointment of losing the three previous county finals.

Despite losing county midfielder Michael Curry to a straight red card on 35 minutes, his brother stepped up to the plate with 1-4, Jason Gleeson shot three points from play and Tom Walsh gave a towering display at centre back. Kenny Hassett’s side finished the hour with 13 men as Conor Walsh got a black card in injury time.

The Nire took the field without former Waterford full back Thomas O’Gorman but three-time hurling All Star Jamie Barron returned from injury. James Power blasted left and wide in the fourth minute after bursting through the Nire defence. Jason Curry converted a Rathgormack free two minutes later. The Curry brothers combined as Michael set up Jason for a point from play. On 11 minutes, Conor Murray beat four Nire defenders before Billy Power split the posts from 40 metres (0-3 to 0-0).

A glorious kick pass from Conor Gleeson created The Nire’s first point for Shane O’Meara after 16 minutes. Rathgormack missed two frees before Jason Gleeson raised another flag. On 22 minutes, Nire goal getter Aaron Ryan fired a low shot off the post. Dermot Ryan nailed a free off the ground to reduce the deficit to two. The Nire dominated possession in the first half but Rathgormack soaked it up and counter attacked effectively. Off one of those turnovers, Murray assisted a point for Jason Curry. The Rathgormack number eleven slotted another free, his fourth single of the half, to leave the challengers 6-2 ahead at the break.

Five minutes into the second half, Rathgormack midfielder Michael Curry saw red after an off-the-ball clash with Tholom Guiry. Ryan pointed another free for The Nire but James Power replied straight away at the other end. The Nire lost Ciaran Looney and James McGrath to injury in the third quarter.

On 43 minutes, Conor Murray sprayed a wonderful crossfield pass to Cathal Crowch which opened up the opposition defence. Crowch and James Power combined before Jason Curry finished low to the net (1-7 to 0-3). Despite the best efforts of Dermot Ryan, the champions couldn’t mount a comeback.

Stephen Curry hit the post with four minutes left. Two late Jason Gleeson points wrapped up victory for the fourteen men.

Scorers for Rathgormack: J Curry 1-4 (2fs), J Gleeson 0-3, B Power, J Power 0-1 each.

Scorers for The Nire: D Ryan 0-3 (2fs, 1 45), S O’Meara 0-2 (1f), C Walsh 0-1.

Rathgormack: P Hunt; W Hahessy, M Power, C Walsh; C Crowch, T Walsh, S Hahessy; B Power, M Curry; J Power, J Curry, C Murray; J Gleeson, S Curry, A Murray.
Subs: D Hassett for A Murray (54).

The Nire: S Ryan; J Mulcahy, T Barron, S Boyce; D Ryan, J McGrath, F Hallinan; S Walsh, T Guiry; C Gleeson, C Looney, J Barron; A Ryan, D Guiry, S O’Meara.
Subs: C Guiry for Looney (32), C Walsh for McGrath (42), C Peters for Hallinan (57), E Spellman for Boyce (62).

Referee: A Fitzgerald


October 29, 2023
3:30 pm - 5:30 pm


Fraher Field Dungarvan

GAA Units