Official Aras Mumhan Website

Loading Events
  • This event has passed.

2023 Munster Senior Hurling Championship – Limerick 3-25 Cork 1-30

May 28, 2023 @ 4:00 pm - 6:00 pm

Limerick defeated Cork by 3-25 to 1-30 in Round 5 of the Munster Senior Hurling Championship on Sunday May 28th at the TUS Gaelic Grounds Limerick.

Munster SHC: Limerick reach decider

Limerick 3-25 Cork 1-30

Report By Tom Clancy at TUS Gaelic Grounds for

Limerick’s quest for five Munster titles stayed on course, thanks to a frenetic victory over Cork at the TUS Gaelic Grounds. With it, the keep the quest for four All-Irelands in succession on track. The visitors exit the championship, after losing twice by just a single point in the space of a week.
As a result of their heavy loss to Waterford, Tipperary will now face Joe McDonagh Cup runners-up, Offaly, in the preliminary quarter final. Limerick maintain their hunt for five provincial titles on the bounce, setting up a repeat of last season’s final clash with Clare.

It was a contest that had all the hallmarks of the Munster Championship to date, with top class scoring taking, goalmouth drama and no shortage of heart stopping moments for both sets of supports.

With more than 40,000 packed into the Ennis Road venue, both players played a lofty pace to match the scorching May sun.

Cork opened an early 0-3 to 0-1 lead, with Patrick Horgan and Declan Dalton both notching frees, while Tim O’Mahony was also on target.

Despite Seamus Flanagan putting Limerick 0-7 to 0-5 ahead by the 14th minute, Cork would score the next six points. With Patrick Horgan, Declan Dalton, Luke Meade and a lovely Darragh Fitzgibbon point all helping Pat Ryans side four clear.

The first goal, on 22 minutes arrived from a Kyle Hayes delivery to Aaron Gillane. The Patrickswell clubman passed to Flanagan, who buried to the net from close range.

A second Limerick goal, on 31 minutes came moments after Aaron Gillane kicked a loose ball off the post. Despite having possession, Cork failed to clear and a combination of Flanagan and Will O’Donoghue turned over the ball – the latter handpassing to the rampaging Cathal O’Neill, who finished beyond Patrick Collins.

Two more Gillane points, both frees, followed but these sides were level at half-time, 2-12 to 0-18. Seamus Harnedy and Horgan (two frees) notching the final three points of the half.

The second half turned on a Limerick penalty, awarded for a foul on Gillane under a dropping ball. His clubmate, Diarmaid Byrnes rifled the ball to the net and it appeared the home side wouldn’t look back. But a succession of wides, as well as points from Shane Kingston, Harnedy and Horgan brough the Rebels to within one.

The next sea-change saw Limerick hit six unanswered, with Geraoid Hegarty, Kyle Hayes and Darragh O’Donovan all scoring from distance, Byrnes also landed a trademark long range effort.

But a 62nd minute Horgan goal gave Pat Ryan’s men life and they were chasing right until the last. Crucially, a Byrnes ‘65’ put Limerick two clear in stoppage time. Horgan had the final score but Limerick had the final roar – the full-time whistle, to put themselves back in the Munster decider next month.

Scorers for Limerick: D. Byrnes (1-4, 1-0 pen, 0-1 65); S. Flanagan (1-3); A. Gillane (0-5, 2 frees); C. O’Neill (1-0); D. O’Donovan, G. Hegarty (0-3 each); T. Morrissey (0-2); W. O’Donoghue, B. Nash, P. Casey, D. Hannon, K. Hayes (0-1 each).

Scorers for Cork: P. Horgan (1-14, 0-11 frees); D. Fitzgibbon, S. Harnedy (0-4 each); D. Dalton (0-3, 2 frees); S. Kingston (0-2); T. O’Mahony, L. Meade, R. Downey (0-1 each).

Limerick: Nickie Quaid; Mike Casey, Dan Morrissey, Barry Nash; Diarmaid Byrnes, Declan Hannon, Kyle Hayes; Darragh O’Donovan, William O’Donoghue; Gearoid Hegarty, Cathal O’Neill, Tom Morrissey; Aaron Gillane, Seamus Flanagan, Peter Casey.
Subs: Richie English for Hannon (54), David Reidy for O’Neill (57), Colin Coughlan for M. Casey (64), Graeme Mulcahy for P. Casey (65), Cian Lynch for O’Donovan (67).

Cork: Patrick Collins; Niall O’Leary, Damien Cahalane, Sean O’Donoghue, Ger Millerick, Ciarán Joyce, Robert Downey; Brian Roche, Luke Meade; Tim O’Mahony, Darragh Fitzgibbon, Declan Dalton; Shane Kingston, Patrick Horgan, Seamus Harnedy.
Subs: Brian Hayes for Roche (39), Conor Lehane for O’Mahony (54), Padraig Power for Kingston (58), Ethan Twomey for Meade (60), Shane Barrett for Dalton (65)

Referee: James Owens (Wexford).

Pre-Match Entertainment

Munster GAA – Press Release
Fans warned not to bring flares or smoke bombs to Munster Championship Games

In advance of Munster Championship Games, and particularly Sunday’s Munster Senior Hurling fixture between Limerick and Cork at the TUS Gaelic Grounds, Munster GAA and An Garda Síochána wishes to remind supporters of the dangers of igniting flares and smoke bombs within grounds.

These items are illegal and present a serious safety risk to supporters. Any person caught in possession will be refused admission to the ground by stewards and security staff. It is a criminal offence to ignite a flare in a crowded area and anyone who does so will be subject to ejection from the venue and will face criminal prosecution by An Garda Síochána.

With an expected attendance of 40,000+ supporters in the Gaelic Grounds on Sunday Munster GAA want to ensure the safest possible atmosphere so that all can enjoy the games.

Munster GAA Operations Manager John Brennan advised: “These devices are extremely dangerous, particularly when used in a confined space, such as a terrace with thousands of fellow supporters present. Flares can burn at a very high temperature and present a serious safety risk to those holding them and to those in the general vicinity, especially young children. Smoke bombs also burn at high temperatures and can be dangerous for those with asthma or breathing difficulties. Munster GAA ask that the small number of supporters who do bring these items to our games refrain from doing so.”

Ticket Information

This game is sold out.

Cúinne na Gaeilge

Match Programme

Pick up a copy of the 48 page Souvenir Match Programme for 5 euro

Team News

Cork: Patrick Collins; Niall O’Leary, Sean O’Donoghue, Damien Cahalane; Ger Millerick, Ciaran Joyce, Robert Downey; Brian Roche, Luke Meade; Tim O’Mahony, Darragh Fitzgibbon, Declan Dalton; Shane Kingston, Patrick Horgan, Seamus Harnedy.

LIMERICK (SHC v Cork): N. Quaid, M. Casey, D. Morrissey, B. Nash; D. Byrnes, D. Hannon (c), K. Hayes; D. O’Donovan, W. O’Donoghue; G. Hegarty, C. Lynch, T. Morrissey; A. Gillane, S. Flanagan, P. Casey
Subs: J. Power, C. Barry, C. Boylan, C. Coughlan, A. Costello, A. English, R. English, G. Mulcahy, S. O’Brien, C. O’Neill, D. Reidy.


May 28, 2023
4:00 pm - 6:00 pm


TUS Gaelic Grounds

GAA Units