Official Aras Mumhan Website

Loading Events
  • This event has passed.

2020 EirGrid GAA Football Under 20 Munster Final – Kerry 0-17 Cork 1-9

March 4, 2020 @ 7:30 pm - 9:30 pm

Kerry defeated Cork by 0-17 to 1-9 in the EirGrid GAA Football Under 20 Munster Championship Final on Wednesday March 4th at Austin Stack Park Tralee.

Match Highlights

Ruaidhri Ó Beaglaoich shines brightest as Kerry claim Munster U20 crown under lights

Report By Eoghan Cormican for the Irish Examiner newspaper

Kerry 0-17 – 1-9 Cork

A second-half masterclass from Ruaidhri Ó Beaglaoich delivered Kerry Munster U20 football glory in Tralee this evening.

The Gaeltacht forward was near unmarkable in the second period, winning three frees, one of which he converted, claiming and converting a mark, while also adding two from open play. His final tally of 0-5 was exactly the difference between the teams at the finish, the hosts completing an nine-point swing having been four behind at the break.

Cork had narrowed the gap to two in the closing minutes, but Kerry finished like a train, three unanswered minors, two supplied by man of the match Ó Beaglaoich, helping them to a 27th title at this grade (formerly U21).

Cork managed just three second-half points, in total, a return that was never going to be good enough to see the county retain their provincial crown.

The third quarter was owned by Kerry, John Sugrue’s charges outscoring their opponents by 0-6 to 0-1. Ó Beaglaoich was outstanding, winning two frees, both of which were converted by Paul Walsh, while also throwing over the lead score when claiming a mark on the 20-metre line.

Mark Cronin was Cork’s sole contributor on the scoresheet for the first 25 minutes of the second period and it was the second of his long-range second-half points which levelled matters at 1-8 to 0-11 13 minutes from the end.

But Kerry powered home, two three-in-a-row bursts more than sufficient to dethrone Cork.

Cork led 1-6 to 0-5 at the break and although the hosts had a certain goal taken off the line by a last-ditch intervention from Cok defender David Buckley, the visitors to Tralee should have commanded a slightly more substantial interval lead.

Keith Ricken’s young charges stuttered with their kicking early on, squandering five point-scoring opportunities inside the opening 10 minutes. Mark Cronin’s 30-metre free came back down off the post, with subsequent efforts from Blake Murphy, Jack Murphy and Cronin all dropping short.

Kerry were that bit more economical, the Kingdom moving into a 0-3 to 0-1 lead 12 minutes in thanks to white flags from Ruaidhri Ó Beaglaoich, Patrick Darcy, and Killian Falvey.

They should have delivered the game’s opening goal after a quarter of an hour, Ó Beaglaoich taking advantage of a slip by Colm O’Shea to move inside the cover. The corner-forward fisted possession across the the squad to the waiting Darcy, but he was far too casual in getting his kick away, the ball stopped on goal line by David Buckley.

Cork were enjoying the greater share of possession and they edged back in front thanks to Jack Murphy and a lovely kick off the left by Cronin. The somewhat subdued Paul Walsh did bring Kerry back level at 0-4 apiece, but then arrived Black Murphy onto stage.

Last year’s centre-forward, having been most quiet for the opening 25 minutes, delivered 1-1 in less than 60 seconds to turn the tie in Cork’s favour. The goal, it must be noted, stemmed from Aodhán Ó Luasa’s turning over of Dylan Casey, with Murphy meandering his way around ‘keeper Marc Kelliher before rolling the ball home. The Cork joint-captain would also kick the last point of the half, his five-minute 1-2 contribution sending Cork back down the tunnel four to the good.

Blake Murphy Cork Goal

It was to prove insufficient in the face of Kerry’s relentless second-half charge.

Scorers for Kerry: R Ó Beaglaoich (0-5, 0-2 frees, 0-1 mark); P Walsh (0-3, 0-3 frees); S Quilter (0-1 free), P Darcy (0-2 each); D Lyne, K Falvey, P O’Shea, S Keane, S Horan (0-1 each).

Scorers for Cork: B Murphy (1-3); M Cronin (0-4, 0-1 free); F Herlihy, J Murphy (0-1 each).

Kerry: M Kelliher (Glenflesk); J McCarthy (Kenmare Shamrocks), O Fitzgerald (Gneeveguilla), D McCarthy (Kenmare Shamrocks); L Brosnan (Castleisland Desmonds), D Casey (Austin Stacks), S O’Brien (Beaufort); D Lyne (Legion), M O’Gara (Austin Stacks); P Walsh (Brosna), P Darcy (Glenflesk), K Falvey (Annascaul); S Horan (Scartaglen), P O’Shea (Kilcummin), R Ó Beaglaoich (An Ghaeltacht)
Subs: E Horan (Scartaglen) for Fitzgerald (HT); S Keane (Listowel Emmets) for Walsh (44); S Quilter (Austin Stacks) for Falvey (46); S O’Connell (Cordal) for S Horan (48); D Geaney (Dingle) for Darcy (54).

Cork: C O’Leary (Douglas); C O’Shea (Kilshannig), D O’Mahony (Knocknagree), D Phelan (Aghada); D O’Connell (Kanturk), D Buckley (Newcestown), B Foley (Bantry Blues); J Lawton (Argideen Rangers), B Hayes (St Finbarr’s); J Murphy (Éire Óg), A Ó Luasa (Naomh Abán), E O’Hanlon (Kilshannig); M Cronin (Nemo Rangers), B Murphy (St Vincent’s), F Herlihy (Dohenys)
Subs: B Lynch (Douglas) for Phelan (28); C Corbett (Clyda Rovers) for Ó Luasa (HT, inj); B Curtin (Kilshannig) for Lawton (39); D Hayes (Carbery Rangers) for B Hayes (52); C Russell (Douglas) for Herlihy (59)

Referee: S Lonergan (Tipperary)

Ticket Information

Adult General Admission: €15
U-16’s: Free
Student/OAP’s will receive €5 concession on full priced tickets at the designated stile prior to entry with valid ID.

Tickets can be purchased from participating Centra and Supervalu outlets.

Ticketing Store Locator in Munster

Team News

Cork (Munster U20 final v Kerry): Josh O‘Keeffe (Newmarket); Colm O’Shea (Kilshannig), Daniel O’Mahony (Knocknagree), Diarmaid Phelan (Aghada); David Buckley (Newcestown), Bill Foley (Bantry Blues), Brian Lynch (Douglas); Jack Lawton (Argideen Rangers), Daniel O’Connell (Kanturk); Jack Murphy (Éire Óg), Aodhán Ó Luasa (Naomh Abán), Brian Hayes (St Finbarr’s); Mark Cronin (Nemo Rangers), Fionn Herlihy (Dohenys), Blake Murphy (St. Vincent’s)
Subs: Cian O’Leary (Douglas), Bill Curtin (Kilshannig), Sean Desmond (Clondrohid), Darragh Cashman (Millstreet), Eanna O’Hanlon (Kilshannig), Conor Corbett (Clyda Rovers), Darragh Hayes (Carbery Rangers), Gerry O’Sullivan (Boherbue), Conor Russell (Douglas)

Kerry (Munster U20 final): M Kelliher (Glenflesk); O Fitzgerald (Gneeveguilla), J McCarthy (Kenmare Shamrocks), D McCarthy (Kenmare Shamrocks); L Brosnan (Castleisland Desmonds), D Casey (Austin Stacks), S O’Brien (Beaufort); D Lyne (Killarney Legion), M O’Gara (Austin Stacks); P Walsh (Brosna), P Darcy (Glenflesk), K Falvey (Annascaul); P O’Shea (Kilcummin), S Horan (Scartaglen), R Ó Beaglaoich (An Ghaeltacht).
Subs: D Uosis (Dingle), A Dineen (Rathmore), S O’Connell (Cordal), C Moriarty (Annascaul), E Horan (Scartaglen), T Ó Siochrú (Tuosist), S Keane (Listowel Emmets), D Geaney (Dingle), S Quilter (Austin Stacks).

TV Match Coverage

The game will be shown live on TG4.

Match Programme

Don’t forget to pick up a copy of the 32 page souvenir match programme.


March 4, 2020
7:30 pm - 9:30 pm
Event Tags:
, , , , ,


Austin Stack Park Tralee
Tralee, Ireland

GAA Units