Official Aras Mumhan Website

Loading Events
  • This event has passed.

2019 Bord Gáis Energy Munster Under 20 Hurling Championship Quarter Final – Cork 1-20 Limerick 0-16

July 3, 2019 @ 7:30 pm - 9:30 pm

Cork defeated Limerick by 1-20 to 0-16 in the 2019 Bord Gáis Energy Munster Under 20 Hurling Championship Quarter Final on Wednesday July 3rd at Pairc Ui Rinn.

BGE Munster U20: Cork defeat Limerick


Report By Denis Hurley at Páirc Ui Rinn for

Cork will meet Clare in next week’s Bord Gáis Energy Munster Under 20 Hurling Championship semi-final after the Rebels pulled away from Limerick in the final quarter at Páirc Uí Rinn on Wednesday evening.

With 16 minutes remaining, the sides were level at 0-13 each after Limerick points from Paul O’Riordan, captain Ronan Connolly and a Paul O’Brien free, but Cork – who never trailed – pushed on again.

Brian Turnbull’s third point was followed by Shane O’Regan’s fifth and then O’Regan struck for the game’s only goal, rifling the rebound to the net after Evan Sheehan’s shot had stung the post.

While Limerick had two O’Brien frees – one a huge effort – to come to within three points again, it was the closest they would get and Cork hit five of the last six points, with sub Liam O’Shea notching two while Daire Connery sent over a lovely sideline cut.

Cork, who were the last Munster U18 minor champions two years ago, only had five scorers, but apart from three Craig Hanifin frees, the rest of their scoring haul came from open play. They started well in terms of possession, with Tommy O’Connell and Brian Roche setting the tone at midfield, though there was a sloppiness to their shooting. Nevertheless, Connery’s first point on 13 minutes had them 0-4 to 0-1 ahead.

Limerick didn’t wilt though and might have had a goal but a fine Ger Collins save from Dylan O’Shea. O’Brien sent over the 65 that resulted and another one immediately after that, with Jack Ryan tying the game after he intercepted a puckout.

The lead remained elusive though and Cork always looked dangerous with O’Regan in such fine aerial form at full-forward. A pair of Brian Turnbull points had them ahead again and when Turnbull was fouled on 28, Hanifin’s free made it 0-10 to 0-6.

Limerick gave themselves hope as Connolly and Rory Duff pointed before half-time and they kept Cork in their sights early in the second half. The three-point salvo drew them level, but Cork had enough to pull away again.

Scorers for Cork: Shane O’Regan 1-6, Craig Hanifin 0-5 (3fs), Brian Turnbull 0-4, Daire Connery 0-3 (1 sideline), Liam O’Shea 0-2.

Scorers for Limerick: Paul O’Brien 0-8 (6fs, 2 65s), Ronan Connolly 0-3, Mark McCarthy 0-2, Rory Duff, Paul O’Riordan, Jack Ryan 0-1 each.

CORK: Ger Collins; Conor O’Callaghan, James Keating, Eoin Roche; Ryan Walsh, Seán O’Leary Hayes, Robert Downey; Tommy O’Connell, Brian Roche; Simon Kennefick, Craig Hanifin, Daire Connery; Brian Turnbull, Shane O’Regan, Evan Sheehan.
Subs: Ger Millerick for Walsh (33), Seán Twomey for Kennefick (39), Declan Hanlon for Hanifin (49), Liam O’Shea for Sheehan (52), Barry Murphy for Brian Roche (60).

LIMERICK: Jason Gillane; Conor Flahive, Ciarán Barry, Josh Considine; Michael O’Grady, Mikey O’Brien, Rory Duff; Ronan Connolly, David Woulfe; Paul O’Riordan, Eoin Sheehan, Jack Ryan; Mark McCarthy, Dylan O’Shea, Paul O’Brien.
Subs: Emmet McEvoy for Woulfe (36), Seán O’Connor for Sheehan (42), David Moloney for Flahive (51), Calvin Carroll for O’Riordan (60), Conor Nicholas for Ryan (60).

REFEREE: Thomas Walsh (Waterford).

Team News

CORK (v Limerick): G Collins (Ballinhassig); C O’Callaghan (Dromtariffe), J Keating (Kildorrery), E Roche (Bride Rovers); R Walsh (Kanturk), S O’Leary-Hayes (Midleton), R Downey (Glen Rovers); T O’Connell (Midleton), B Roche (Bride Rovers); S Kennefick (Glen), C Hanifin (Na Piarsaigh), D Connery (do); B Turnbull (Douglas), S O’Regan (Watergrasshill), E Sheehan (Na Piarsaigh).

LIMERICK: Jason Gillane (Patrickswell); Conor Flahive (Mungret), Ciaran Barry (Ahane), Josh Considine (Patrickswell); Rory Duff (Mungret), Mikey O’Brien (Doon), Michael O’Grady (Knockainey); Ronan Connolly (Adare), David Woulfe (Kilmallock); Paul O’Riordan (Bruff), Eoin Sheehan (Garryspillane), Jack Ryan (Doon); Mark McCarthy (Templeglantine), Dylan O’Shea (Garryspillane), Paul O’Brien (Mungret)
Subs: Daithi Heffernan (Mallow), Ken Byrnes (Old Christians), Calvin Carroll (Patrickswell), Padraic Heaney (Na Piarsaigh), Conor Helewell (Mungret), Emmet McEvoy (Na Piarsaigh), David Moloney (Monaleen), Conor Nicholas (Monaleen), Sean O’Connor (Granagh-Ballingarry).

Match Programme

Don’t forget to pick up a copy of the 32 page souvenir match programme.


July 3, 2019
7:30 pm - 9:30 pm
Event Tags:
, , , , , ,


Páirc Uí Rinn
Cork, Ireland

GAA Units