Official Aras Mumhan Website

12th December 2014


Senior Players and Manager of the Year Announced for 2014 Munster GAA Awards

Cork hurler, Patrick Horgan, Kerry’s James O‘Donoghue and Kerry Senior Football Manager, Eamonn Fitzmaurice have secured the hurler, footballer and manager of the year accolades respectively in the 2014 Munster GAA Awards. The awards will be presented on Saturday night at a gala dinner in Dromoland Castle, Co. Clare where over 30 players, officials and legends will be honoured.

Patrick Horgan was instrumental in securing Cork’s first Munster senior hurling title since 2006. He scored 8 points in the final and contributed 2-43 to Cork’s championship tally in 2014. His ability to get fantastic scores from play and frees made has made him the key player in the Cork attack. His leadership on and off the pitch are also hugely important to Cork and he widely recognised as a great ambassador for Cork hurling and the game in general.

Kerry’s James O’Donoghue wins the Footballer of the year award for the second successive season. His performance in the Munster senior football final was outstanding and ranks among the great performances in the many clashes between Kerry and Cork. He also played a key role in Kerry’s All Ireland success and has already won an All-Star and the much coveted GAA / GPA Footballer of the Year title for 2014 for his many exciting and match winning performances.

Eamonn Fitzmaurice has been named Manager of the Year for leading Kerry to the All Ireland senior football championship title in 2014. Overcoming the setbacks of retirements and injuries to some key players, his managerial, motivational and tactical skills were in evidence throughout the season as a young and relatively inexperienced Kerry team showed skill, determination, courage and flexibility in their game plan on their way to securing the county’s 76th Munster and 37th All Ireland titles. One of a younger generation of inter-county managers, Eamonn is a deserving winner of this year’s award.

Speaking on the announcement of these awards Robert Frost, Chairman of Munster GAA said “Patrick Horgan and James O’Donoghue contributed hugely to their teams march through Munster to secure titles for Cork and Kerry respectively. The success of Kerry in winning All-Ireland Senior honours following an intriguing football championship is a great tribute to the leadership and managerial skills of Eamonn Fitzmaurice and he is a deserving winner of Manager of the Year”

The full list of Munster GAA Award winners for 2014 are as follows:
Minor Hurling – Tom Morrisey (Limerick)
Minor Football – Matthew Flaherty (Kerry)
Under 21 Hurling – Seadhna Morey (Clare)
Under 21 Football – Alan Cadogan (Cork)
Intermediate Hurling – John Cronin (Cork)
Junior Football – Gavan O’Grady (Kerry)
Camogie Award – Jennifer O’Leary (Cork)
Ladies Football – Angela Walsh (Cork)
Handballer of Year – The Mullins brothers – Pakie, Billy, Jimmy and Kevin (Tipperary)
Service to Refereeing – Shane Hourigan RIP (Limerick)
Service to Education – John Lenihan (University of Limerick GAA)
Media Award – Mac Dara Mac Donncha (Waterford)
Special Merit Award Culture – Derry Gowen (Cork)
Hall of Fame Football – Jim Wall (Waterford)
Hall of Fame Hurling – Liam Devaney (Tipperary)
Club of Year – Cratloe (Clare)
Senior Hurler of Year – Patrick Horgan (Cork)
Senior Footballer of Year – James O’Donoghue (Kerry)
Manager of Year – Eamonn Fitzmaurice (Kerry)

For further information, please contact:
Ger Ryan
Munster GAA PRO

Posted in: News

Date: 12th December 2014

GAA Units