Official Aras Mumhan Website

2009 GAA Hurling All-Stars announced

Friday 16 October 2009

Six Cats in All Star team

From the web site

Oct 15, 2009

Six of the Kilkenny players who helped their county to a fourth successive All-Ireland hurling title in 2009 have been rewarded with All Stars. Runners-up Tipperary had more nominations than the Cats with 13 to 12 but they have come out short in the final cut with four Premier County men receiving All Stars, while Galway and Waterford have picked up two each and Dublin one. Henry Shefflin, who played a starring role in the All-Ireland final between Kilkenny and Tipperary, picks up his ninth All Star, joining fellow Cats legend DJ Carey and great Kerry footballer Pat Spillane at the top of the All Star tree with nine awards. Meanwhile, Tommy Walsh – who many expect to be named Hurler of the Year at Friday evening’s All Star banquet – now has seven.

Kilkenny men Jackie Tyrrell, Michael Rice and Eoin Larkin have all also earned All Stars, while another final day hero, goalkeeper PJ Ryan, becomes the first Cats’ player from between the posts to pick up one of these awards for 16 years. Another of the Hurler of the Year candidates, Tipperary’s Lar Corbett, leads the Munster champions’ representation. Half forward Corbett is joined in the team by defender Conor O’Mahony and Young Hurler of the Year nominees Padraic Maher and Noel McGrath. The third Hurler of the Year candidate, John Mullane, picks up his second All Star, along with towering Waterford team-mate Michael Walsh, while Galway are represented by the Canning brothers Ollie and Joe, the latter of which is the final Young Hurler of the Year nominee.

Dublin’s Alan McCrabbe, who was the pick of a fine effort by his side under Anthony Daly in 2009, completes the All Star 15. Six of the team are picking up their first awards with Ryan, Maher, Rice, McCrabbe, Corbett and McGrath having that honour.

The 2009 Vodafone Hurling All-Stars are:


PJ Ryan (Kilkenny)


Ollie Canning (Galway)

Padraic Maher (Tipperary)

Jackie Tyrrell (Kilkenny)


Tommy Walsh (Kilkenny)

Michael Walsh (Waterford)

Conor O’Mahony (Tipperary)


Michael Rice (Kilkenny)

Alan McCrabbe (Dublin)


Lar Corbett (Tipperary)

Henry Shefflin (Kilkenny)

Eoin Larkin (Kilkenny)


Noel McGrath (Tipperary)

Joe Canning (Galway)

John Mullane (Waterford)

GAA Units