• GAA Museum - Club offer September & October 2019

Official Aras Mumhan Website

Munster Club Senior Football Championship Final

Monday 1 December 2008

Dromcollogher-Broadford (Limerick) v Kilmurry Ibrickane (Clare), Gaelic Grounds, 2.00pm

Cork and Kerry clubs have dominated the Munster scene over the years but this year it’s the turn of Limerick and Clare to take centre stage as Dromcollogher-Broadford and Kilmurry-Ibrickane head for next Sunday’s provincial decider at the Gaelic Grounds. It will be Dromcollogher-Broadford’s first outing in the Munster final but the manner of their victory over Munster and All-Ireland specialists Nemo Rangers in the semi-final suggests that they are well ready for the challenge. They will be looking to the likes Jason Stokes, Michael Reidy, Sean Buckley and Garret Noonan for inspiration against Kilmurry-Ibrickane who are seeking to win the title for the second time in five seasons, having previously triumphed in 2004 when they beat Stradbally in a replayed final. Other than Doonbeg, who won in 1998, they are the only Clare club to have won the title. Thomond College (1977) were the only team to bring the Munster crown back to Limerick.

Paths to the final:

Kilmurry-Ibrickane (Clare) 2-6
Galtee Rovers (Tipperary) 0-4.
Having received a walkover in the quarter-final when Waterford failed to produce champions in time for the provincial campaign, Kilmurry-Ibrickane were easy winners over Tipperary champions Galtee Rovers in the semi-final. They led by 1-5 to 0-1 at half-time in a game where Noel Downes and Paul O’Connor scored their goals. That, coupled with a secure defence, enabled the Clare champions to see out the game comfortably.

Dromcollogher-Broadford (Limerick) 0-7
Nemo Rangers (Cork) 0-6.
It may have come as no surprise to the Limerick champions but this result shook the rest of the football worlds as 7/1 outsiders, Dromcollogher-Broadford held their nerve to see off the challenge of Nemo Rangers, the most successful club in the history of the club championships. Sean Buckley (0-3) and Michael Reidy (0-2) top-scored for the Limerick champions who turned in an excellent all-round performance.

Share post:

GAA Units