Official Aras Mumhan Website

Loading Events
  • This event has passed.

Munster Colleges Corn Na Carraige U16½ C Football Final – Ennistymon CBS (Clare) 1-9 Pobalscoil Inbhear Sceine (Kerry) 1-6

April 26, 2012 @ 1:30 pm - 3:30 pm

Ennistymon edge final after holders lose Rice

Ennistymon CBS (Clare) 1-9 Pobalscoil Inbhear Sceine (Kerry) 1-6

By Murt Murphy for the Irish Examiner newspaper

A more determined Ennistymon CBS side deservedly denied holders Pobalscoil Inbhear Sceine, Kenmare a hat-trick of Munster Colleges Corn Na Carraige (U16½ FC) titles in miserable conditions at Rathkeale yesterday. The Clare side trailed their Kerry opponents 1-2 to 0-4 after 25 minutes despite benefiting from a strong wind. Inbhear Sceine midfielder John Rice dominated the opening spell, while Killian Spillane — son of Kerry legend Tom — scored a brilliant goal in the 20th minute.

However, Ennistymon, thanks to three Barry Keating frees and points from Aaron Murrihy, Shane Doyle and Joseph Gallagher, hit back before Michael Duffy’s goal edged them into a 1-6 to 1-2 interval lead. The Kenmare side were hit by the loss of Rice to a knee injury in the 38th minute and their attack struggled. Ennistymon added three points from Joseph Gallagher (two) as well as a free from Keating, as the Clare side held out for victory in trying conditions. Meanwhile, Pobalscoil Chorca Dhuibhne completed a Kerry Colleges football treble when they defeated Tarbert CS 2-10 to 1-6 in the replay of the Russell Cup final.

Scorers for Ennistymon CBS: B Keating 0-4 (4f); J Gallagher 0-3; M Duffy 1-0; A Murrihy and S Doyle 0-1 each.

Scorers for Pobalscoil Inbhear Sceine: K Spillane 1-5 (0-3f), P Clifford 0-1.

ENNISTYMON CBS: S Noonan, S Haran, K Sexton, D Crowe, K Hehir, C Vaughan, D Nagle, D McCarthy, Kealan Sexton, B Keating, A Murrihy, S Doyle, J Gallagher, M Duffy, S Ralph.

Subs: A Ralph for C Vaughan (21), J McCarthy for Keith Sexton (48).

POBALSCOIL INBHEAR SCEINE: S O’Donoghue, R Lucey, R Fitzpatrick, D Crowley, P O’Shea, G Harrington, J Murphy, J Rice, D Hawnor, D Cassidy, K Spillane, P Clifford, S O’Sullivan, D Hallissey, F O’Sullivan.

Subs: D O’Shea for J Rice (inj 38), J Rice for D O’Shea (50).

Referee: Shane Hourigan (Rathkeale)


April 26, 2012
1:30 pm - 3:30 pm

GAA Units