Official Aras Mumhan Website

Loading Events
  • This event has passed.

Dr. Harty Cup Hurling S-Final – Thurles CBS v Nenagh CBS

February 7, 2010 @ 2:30 pm - 4:30 pm

Defending champions Thurles CBS defeated Nenagh CBS by 1-15 to 1-10 in the Dr. Harty Cup Hurling Semi-Final on Sunday at Templemore. A second half goal by Thurles substitute John Bergin proved to be the crucial score.

O’Brien inspires holders

From the Irish Times newspaper

HARTY CUP SEMI-FINAL: TIPPERARY MINOR Michael O’Brien was the star of the show as 14-man Thurles CBS, the holders, saw off Nenagh CBS in yesterday’s semi-final at Templemore.

O’ Brien bagged nine points for Thurles and was an inspirational figure as the holders overcame the loss of centre-half forward Aidan McCormack who was sent off after only 15 minutes. But the champions rose to the challenge in style and despite a Jason Forde penalty goal for Nenagh in the 24th minute, Thurles led 0-7 to 1-2 at the interval. Substitute John Bergin’s late goal sealed the win.

THURLES CBS : A Stakelum; S Maher, C Carroll, J Bourke; C Barrett, D Maher (0-1) , J Meagher; P Dunne, P Ralph (0-2) ; P Looby, A McCormack (0-1) , N O’Brien; C Treacy (0-1) , D Devane, M O’Brien (0-9); Subs: J Bergin (1-0) for Devane; K Slattery for N O’Brien; T Doyle (0-1) for Treacy; M Sadlier for Looby;

NENAGH CBS : D Reddan; P Peters, D Maher, J O Dwyer; M O’Flaherty, D Quinn, P Gill; B Stapleton (0-2) , C Canning; J Forde (1-5) , K Seymour, J O’Brien; T Gallagher, E Hogan, M Tuite (0-1). Subs : P Butler for Canning, N Gleeson for O’Brien, P Shanahan for Gallagher, J Minogue for O’Flaherty, D Walsh (0-1) for D Maher.

Referee: N Cosgrove (Clonmel).


February 7, 2010
2:30 pm - 4:30 pm

GAA Units