Official Aras Mumhan Website

Loading Events
  • This event has passed.

Co-Op Munster Hurling League – Clare 2-24 Kerry 1-15

January 15, 2017 @ 2:00 pm - 4:00 pm

Clare defeated Kerry by 2-24 to 1-15 in the Co-Op Munster Hurling League on Sunday January 15th at Austin Stack Park Tralee.

Co-Op Munster Hurling League

Kerry 1-15 Clare 2-24

Kerry went down to their second defeat in the Munster Senior Hurling League when Clare, in their first competitive outing of the year, were twelve point winners over the Kingdom at Tralee’s Austin Stack Park this afternoon.

Clare lined out as per programme with Kerry having one change – Padraig Boyle deputising for Michael O’Leary and Clare it was who reeled off the first two points of the game but Shane Nolan, with three points from placed balls, had Kerry in front by the ninth minute. The visitors had the next five scores, with David Reidy getting two from frees, before Padraig Boyle pointed from long range for Kerry’s first score from play. Clare increased their lead to 5 points with minors from McInerney and Malone but Jordan Conway and John Egan kept Kerry in touch though Martin Stackpoole was forced into a fine save from David Reidy to keep the Kerry goal intact. Podge Collins had his second for Clare but then Kerry responded well scoring four without reply the pick of which was from a Clareman – Pa Kelly, Kerry’s centre back – to level the scores in the 29th minute. Clare finished the half stronger however and Kevin Hehir soloed through from midfield to slam the ball tennis style to the net on the half hour mark and at the break it was 1-12 to 0-11 for the Bannermen.

The sides exchanged points twice on the resumption but Clare were 1-16 to 0-13 by the 15th minute of the half. The introduction of Peter Duggan added more fire up front for Clare and Podge Collins slammed a loose ball to the net in the 24th minute but Kerry’s reply was admirable with Mikey Boyle soloing in from the wing to plant the ball in the far corner to give Kerry hope. Just five points in it now but from here to the end, Clare dominated the game and scored 8 points without reply, five of those from the unerring stick of David Reidy from frees and Peter Duggan slammed his penalty attempt over the bar a minute from the end of normal time. Shane Nolan had the final say with a pointed free for the homeside.

Clare’s next outing is on Wednesday evening next in Sixmilebridge against neighbours Limerick while Kerry travel to the Gaelic Grounds on Sunday next to take on Limerick.

Kerry: Shane Nolan 0-7 (Frees), Mikey Boyle 1-0, John Egan and Jordan Conway 0-2 each, Pa Kelly, Paudie O’Connor, Thomas Casey, Padraig Boyle, 0-1 each.
Clare: David Reidy 0-10 (9 frees), Podge Collins 1-3, Kevin Hehir 1-1, Peter Duggan (0-1 free) and Cathal McInerney 0-2 each, Seadma Morey, Jason McCarthy, Colm Galvin, Cathal Malone, Aaron Cunningham and Aaron Shanagher 0-1 each.

Match Preview

Team News

The Kerry Senior Hurling Team to play Clare in the Munster Senior Hurling League in Tralee’s Austin Stack Park on Sunday next (2pm) shows 6 changes from the side that played Cork in Round 1 last Sunday as the Kerry management give starting places to more players on the panel. Into the side come Martin Stackpoole, Bryan Murphy, John Buckley, Pa Kelly, Thomas Casey and Jordan Conway.

The team captained by Daniel Collins of Kilmoyley is as follows:

1 Martin Stackpoole Lixnaw
2 Sean Weir Crotta O’Neills
3 Rory Horgan St Brendans
4 Bryan Murphy Causeway
5 John Buckley Lixnaw
6 Pa Kelly Clarecastle
7 Darren Dineen St Brendans
8 Paudie O’Connor Kilmoyley
9 Thomas Casey Causeway
10 Micheal O’Leary Abbeydorney
11 Daniel Collins (C) Kilmoyley
12 Mikey Boyle Ballyduff
13 John Egan St Brendans
14 Shane Nolan Crotta O’Neills
15 Jordan Conway Crotta O’Neills

Fir Ionaid:

16 Aiden McCabe Kilmoyley
17 Billy Lyons Causeway
18 James O’Connor Abbeydorney
19 Tomás O’Connor Crotta O’Neills
20 Padraig Boyle Ballyduff
21 James Godley Kilmoyley
22 Fionán Horgan St Brendans
23 Philp Lucid Ballyheigue
24 John Griffin Lixnaw
25 Sean Nolan Kilmoyley
26 Jordan Brick Kilmoyley


Bainisteoir: Fintan O’Connor
Coach: Brendan Cummins
Treanálaí: Damien Ryall (Abbeydorney)
Róghnoir: Ian Brick (Kilmoyley)

The following players are members of the extended panel for Sunday’s game:

Brendan O’Leary Abbeydorney
Jack Goulding Ballyduff
Stephen Murphy Causeway
Liam Mullins Lixnaw
Keith Carmody Causeway
Colum Harty Causeway
Paud Costello Ballyduff
Darragh Shanahan Lixnaw


Jason Diggins Causeway (Injured)
Mike Milner Dr Crokes

Kerry Senior Hurlers take on Clare in Munster Senior Hurling League

Following a creditable performance against Cork before going down by 1 – 28 to 0 – 18 in Round 1 of the Co-Op Superstores Munster senior hurling league Kerry’s next and first home game of the season will be against Clare on this Sunday, 15th January at Austin Stack Park, 2.00p.m.

Further games: Round 3 – Sunday, 22 Jan. v Limerick at the Gaelic Grounds, 2.00p.m.; Round 4 – Wednesday, 25 Jan. v Waterford at Austin Stack Park, 7.30p.m. Details of the new Munster league sponsors, Co-Op Superstores, the retail arm of Dairygold, are viewable online at

Kilmoyley goalkeeper, Aidan McCabe has been nominated by his club as the Kerry senior hurling captain for 2017, Aidan captained his club to the county championship title last year. His clubmate, Ian Brick, is coming in as a selector and a second selector will be named in due course.


January 15, 2017
2:00 pm - 4:00 pm

GAA Units