Official Aras Mumhan Website

10th December 2015


Senior Hurler, Camogie, Club, Handball Winners Announced for 2015 Munster GAA Awards

Tipperary hurler, John O’Dwyer and Tipperary Camogie Player Cáit Devane have been announced as the winners of the Hurler of the Year and Camogie Player of the Year respectively in the 2015 Munster GAA Awards. The awards will be presented on Saturday night at a gala dinner in Dromoland Castle, Co. Clare where over 30 players, officials and legends will be honoured.

John O’Dwyer from the Killenaule club has been involved with Tipperary inter-county teams since 2008. His performances in Munster this year caught the imagination of all as he carried his rich vein of form of 2014 on into 2015. He won the RTE Man of the Match award following his seven point haul against Limerick in the Munster Senior Hurling Semi-Final win and he later went on to score five more in Tipperary’s Munster Final success against Waterford.

Though only 22, Cáit is one of Tipperary’s more experienced Camogie players and this year assumed the role of team captain. Though on the losing side in the Munster Final, she scored 8 points and duly won the player of the match. She received the WGPA player of the month award for July recognising her truly outstanding performances against Dublin scoring 10 points and 1-9 against Derry. Cáit was selected as player of the tournament in the Kilmacud Camogie 7’s.

The Club of the Year Award also goes to Tipperary with Clonmel Commercials being honoured having become the first Tipperary club to win the Munster Club Senior Football title this year. They are the dominant force in club football in Tipperary. They are county senior and under 21 champions and have won 5 county titles in a row in both minor and under 16 football.

The Handball Award goes to the Dominick Lynch of Kerry who captured an Over 35s double in the World Handball Championships played in Calgary, winning both the Singles and Doubles titles to seal what was a remarkable year of success.
Munster GAA Chairman Robert Frost said “I would like to congratulate John, Cáit, Dominick and Clonmel Commercials on their well-deserved awards following their outstanding displays during 2015. They have set very high standards of achievement in their varied contributions to the family of Gaelic Games”

Other 2015 award winners announced today are Cian Lynch of Limerick for Under 21 hurling; Steven O’Brien of Tipperary for under 21 football; Jimmy Browne of LIT and Clare for Services to Education; Lyndon Fairbrother of Tipperary for minor hurling and Mark O’Connor of Kerry for minor football.

For further information, please contact:
Ger Ryan, Munster GAA PRO
Tel: 086 8149146, Email –


GAA Units