Official Aras Mumhan Website

All-Ireland Senior Football Championship Finals

Monday 8 September 2008

Kerry will play Tyrone in the All-Ireland Senior Football Championship Final on Sunday, September 21st at Croke Park.

They have won the last five All-Ireland football titles between them and now Kerry and Tyrone are preparing to go head-to-head to decide the destination of the 2008 championship in Croke Park on Sunday week. Throw-in will be at 3.30pm with Maurice Deegan (Laois) as referee. It’s the first time since the championship system was changed in 2001 that two qualifiers have made it through to the final. That’s just one of a number of exciting dimensions to what promises to be an intriguing final.

Kerry are bidding to win the three-in-a-row for the first time since 1986. If they succeed it will be the first time in championship history that the All-Ireland hurling and football treble will have been secured in the same year. Kilkenny have already won the hurling treble and now it’s Kerry’s turn to attempt to emulate them. This will be the third time in five years that Kerry and Tyrone have met in the championship with victory having twice gone to Tyrone in the 2003 All-Ireland semi-final and the 2005 final.

Team News

KERRY (SF vs. Tyrone) – Diarmuid Murphy; Marc Ó Sé, Tom O’Sullivan, Padraig Reidy; Tomas Ó Sé (Captain), Aidan O’Mahony, Killian Young; Darragh Ó Sé, Seamus Scanlon; Bryan Sheehan, Declan O’Sullivan, Eoin Brosnan; Colm Cooper, Kieran Donaghy, Tommy Walsh
Subs: Kieran Cremin, Tommy Griffin, Sean O’Sullivan, Darren O’Sullivan, Michéal Quirke, Donnacha Walsh, Daniel Bohan, Mike Frank Russell, Ronán Ó Flatharta, Paul O’Connor, Kieran O’Leary, David Moran, Paul Galvin, Anthony Maher, Pat Corridan, Mike Moloney, Kieran Quirke, Aidan O’Shea

Paths to the Final

Kerry 1-14 Clare 0-5 (Munster semi-final)
Cork 1-16 Kerry 1-11 (Munster final)
Kerry 1-13 Monaghan 0-13 (R3 Qualifier)
Kerry 1-21 Galway 1-16 (All-Ireland quarter-final)
Kerry 1-13 Cork 3-7 (All-Ireland semi-final)
Kerry 3-14 Cork 2-13 (replay)

Down 2-8 Tyrone 2-8 (Ulster quarter-final)
Down 1-19 Tyrone 0-21 (replay – extra-time)
Tyrone 1-18 Louth 1-10 (R1 qualifier)
Tyrone 0-14 Westmeath 1-7 (R2 qualifier)
Tyrone 0-13 Mayo 1-9 (R3 qualifier)
Tyrone 3-14 Dublin 1-8 (All-Ireland quarter-final)
Tyrone 0-23 Wexford 1-14 (All-Ireland semi-final)
Played 7, Won 5, Drew 1, Lost 1
Average For: 1-15; Average Against: 1-11.

Share post:

GAA Units