Official Aras Mumhan Website

Loading Events
  • This event has passed.

Munster Camogie Final – Inniscarra 0-10 Granagh/Ballingarry 0-7

October 30, 2010 @ 3:00 pm - 5:00 pm

Iniscarra (Cork) defeated Granagh/Ballingarry (Limerick) by 0-1o to 0-7 in the Munster Camogie Senior Club Final on Saturday at Newtownshandrum.

Inniscarra (Cork) 0-10 v 0-07 Granagh-Ballingarry(Limerick)

This was a real battle down to the final whistle. A tough game in which neither side got much room to make use of the ball or time to settle on it. Such was the game that most of the scoring came from frees and in this Inniscarra’s Joanne Casey and Granagh’s Eileen O’Brien were virtually unerring. They battled up and down the field and defenses were dominant throughout, as Casey and O’Brien traded frees and ‘45s. Granagh did open up a two point lead mid-way through the first half when O’Brien converted a ‘45 to give her side a 4pt to 2 lead. Allanah Twohig looked to upset this but had a great shot on goal saved by Aileen O’Sullivan on the Granagh line. Then Casey and O’Brien traded freed to the half time whistle, with Casey converting a ‘45, O’Brien a free, two Casey frees and O’Brien closed the half for Granagh with a converted free giving them a slim 1 point lead at the break, 6pts to 5pts.

The second half was equally as tough and it looked that which ever side managed to break through for that goal would win out. Both sets of mid-fields and forwards worked tirelessly to try and break down the opposition. Inniscarra were first off the mark in the second half as Joanne Casey converted two frees to level and then take the lead for the Cork side. Almost ten minutes elapsed before the next score and this fell in the way of an Eileen O’Keeffe free to level the game yet again. The next score would be vital and as the Limerick side looked to be tiring Joanne Casey took hold in the center of the field she pointed from play and then converted a free which gave Inniscarra a two point lead heading into the last five minutes. Indeed Casey was extremely industrious over the last quarter, and this player of the game performance is what was the difference as she was helping out in defense as Granagh looked to get through on goal and also setting up attacks. Laura Burke helped out as the second half sub pointed from play to give some breathing space to Inniscarra. Granagh still tried to break down that defense to look for the equalising goal but Orla Healy, Liz Hayes and Joanne Casey held firm and Inniscarra went on to win their first ever Munster title.

Inniscarra:Sinead Ni Riain, Mary Buckley, Liz Hayes, Karen Jones, Orla Healy, Rosie O’Mahony, Aoife Kavanagh, Fiona O’Connell, Joanne Casey(9pts, 1’45, 6 frs), Niamh Dilworth, Margaret N O’Sullivan, Katie O’Mahony, Margaret Cosgrave, Niamh McCarthy, Allanah Twohig

Subs: Laura Burke(1pt) for N McCarthy, Rena Buckley for M Cosgrove

Granagh-Ballingarry: Aileen O’Sullivan, Sarah Carey, Laura Leslie, Aimee McCarthy, Fiona Hickey, Aoifa Sheehan, Emer Hickey, Tara Power, Vera Sheehan, Eileen O’Brien(7pts, 1’45, 4frs), Nollaig Houlihan, Fiona Morrisey, Niamh Chawke, Joanne Clifford, Siobhan Enright

Sub:Margaret Lynch for N Chawke

Ref: Eamonn Browne, Tipperary

Match Preview

Munster Senior Club Camogie Final ‘Corn Thomais Mhic Dhonnbha’

Inniscarra(Cork) v Granagh-Ballingarry(Limerick)

This Limerick side are no strangers to Munster Final Club day as they have from 1996 to 2004 claimed nine in a row of county titles. In this time they also captured Seven Munster titles and three club All Ireland titles. This is their first time back in the Munster final since 2004, with their last county championship win in 2006. They line out with the experienced Vera Sheehan, Eileen O’Brien, prolific scorer Fiona Morrissey and daughter of Ciaran – Sarah Carey in their side. Indeed young Carey is to be honoured as Munster young player of the year. This is an experienced side with many survivers from the last attempt at Munster and their All-Ireland Club in 2003 and All-Ireland sevens in 2002 still remaining, including captain Fiona Hickey who is now just 23 years of age.

First timers to Munster Championship after their first county win, after the 3rd attempt, Inniscarra will be hoping that county seniors Rena Buckley, Joanne Casey and Niamh Dilworth will have the experience to lead them a step further. Team captain Margaret Noelle O’Sullivan also represented the county at minor and intermediate level. They will be the underdogs for this final but will relish that title as they have done all year and is has served them well so far. They will have to be in peak form to overcome the challange of the Limerick side but look forward to upsetting the odds.

Granagh-Ballingarry (Limerick): A O’Sullivan, S Carey, L Leslie, A McCarthy, F Hickey(C), A Sheehan, E Hickey, T Power, V Sheehan, E O’Brien, N Houlihan, S Enright, M Fitzgerald, J Clifford, F Morrissey

Inniscarra (Cork): S Ní Riain, M Buckley, L Hayes, K Jones, R O’Mahony, R Buckley, A Kavanagh, M N O’Sullivan(C), O Healy, F O’Connell, N Dilworth, L Burke, J Casey, M Cosgrave, N McCarthy

Ref: Eamonn Browne (Tiobraid Arainn)


October 30, 2010
3:00 pm - 5:00 pm

GAA Units