Official Aras Mumhan Website

Loading Events
  • This event has passed.

Corn Phádraig Senior B Hurling – Abbey CBS 1-12 Carrigaline 2-9

November 18, 2011 @ 1:30 pm - 3:30 pm

Abbey C.B.S                                                       –           1.12

Carrigaline                                                        –           2.9

By Eric Grogan

On Friday November 18th Charleville was the venue for this senior ‘B’ hurling championship between the Abbey C.B.S and Carrigaline of Cork. This was a must win game for the Abbey C.B.S to stay in the senior ‘B’ championship. It was a very unsettled day with scattered showers and a strong wind. This made playing conditions tough but this was a very exciting and entertaining contest.

Kelvin Healy of Carrigaline got on the score board with two early points, one from play and one from a free 30 yards from the posts. At the other end full forward Donal O’ Dwyer was a big treat from play and was rewarded with a couple of impressive scores. He also showed great composure over the placed ball where he scored five points from frees throughout the game. Clearances from Ed O’Meara, Cormac O’ Donoghue and Sean Cunningham prevented threats from Carrigaline forwards Dan McCarthy, Tom Good and Kelvin Healy. Despite good defending from the Abbey C.B.S Kelvin Healy got on the end of a loose ball and struck it to the top corner of the net despite the efforts of Eoin White in the Abbey goal.  It was a game with good touches and good fielding from Cormac O’ Donoghue and Carrigaline’s Robert Foster. This made life a lot easier in the sluggish conditions. The score line at half time: Abbey C.B.S 0.7 Carrigaline 1.6

From the restart Johnny Lowry scored a good point which was followed with another well worked point by Peter Mulhair. This brought the sides level. Less than five minutes into the second half a long ball from Kelvin Healy was plucked from the clouds by Dan McCarthy, the full forward for Carrigaline. He was fouled on the 21 yard line. Kelvin Healy stepped up to take the free and had the confidence to go for it and was rewarded with a goal. This brought the score to 2-6 to 9 points in favour of Carrigaline. Great combination from Donal O’ Dwyer, Peter Mulhair and Johnny Lowry created scoring opportunities but they did not capitalise, missing three wides in a row. Kelvin Healy was always a threat and continued to score from the placed ball.  The Abbey needed no less than a win to stay in the senior hurling ‘B’ championship. Damien Bourke also added a good point after a good pass from Cormac O’ Donoghue who was under huge pressure. This once again brought the Abbey side within a goal of Carrigaline who had two goals and nine points.

With two minutes to go the Abbey pushed harder and harder and the Carrigaline defence was under immense pressure. With thirty seconds left on the clock, Peter Mulhair won the ball and had no option but to head for the goal. He struck the ball into the corner of the net. The score now stood at 2-9 to Carrigaline to 1-12 to the Abbey C.B.S. The Abbey still needed a point if they were to remain in the competition. A draw for Carrigaline would be enough to see them to stay in the competition. With two minutes injury time, Carrigaline held on to salvage a draw from a tight and well fought match. This would see them through to the next stage of the competition and on the other hand it would leave heart break for the Abbey side who just fell short of staying in the competition. The final score read the Abbey C.B.S 1-12, Carrigaline 2-9.

Abbey C.B.S

Eoin White (Galtee Rvs/St. Pecaun’s), Sean Cunningham (Lattin/Cullen), Ed O’ Meara (Aherlow), David Finnane (Galtee Rvs/St. Pecaun’s), Thomas O’Donoghue (Lattin/Cullen), Ciarán Ryan (Pallasgreen), Damien Bourke (0-1) (Galtee Rvs/St. Pecaun’s), Cormac O’Donoghue(Lattin/Cullen), Paudie O’Dwyer (Pallasgreen), Ciarán Lowry (Arravale Rovers), Peter Mulhair (1-1) (Arravale Rovers), Johnny Lowry (0-1) (Arravale Rovers), Colin Ryan (Pallasgreen), Donal O’Dwyer (0-9,0-5 frees) (Éire Óg/Annacarty), Eoin O’Connell (Lattin/Cullen).

Subs: John Moloney (Aherlow), Dylan O’Gorman (Galtee Rvs/St. Pecaun’s), John Vallance (Aherlow), Dara Fanning (Pallasgreen) for Eoin O’Connell, Brian Fanning (Pallasgreen), Mark Russell (Lattin/Cullen), David Cussen (Galbally), Peter Moloney (Aherlow).


Killian O’Mahony, Darragh O’Sullivan, Anthony O’Reilly, Bryan Lynch, Shane Griffin, Robert Foster, Kevin O’Connell, Kelvin Healy (2-5,0-4 frees), Rob O’Shea, Jamie DePuis (0-2), Tom Good, Jason O’Callaghan, Aaron Ryan, Dan McCarthy (0-2), Killian McIntyre. Subs: David O’Hara, Brian Coakley, Daniel O’Reilly, Luke O’Sullivan, Conor O’Brien, Eoin O’Donovan.


November 18, 2011
1:30 pm - 3:30 pm

GAA Units